Ford Mustang Mach-E production outpaces Mustang

Ford has just reached a new milestone. According to a Bloomberg report, production of the Mustang Mach-E has surpassed the iconic Mustang pony car for the first time at the Blue Oval’s Mexico plant.

So far this year, Ford has built 27,816 units of the Mustang Mach-E, compared to 26,089 units of the sixth-generation Mustang. It’s a popular model in Europe, and in May was the best-selling vehicle in Norway. In the US however, the regular Mustang outsells the Mach-E by a ratio of three-to-one.

CEO Jim Farley said the demand for “Mach-E has been much stronger than we expected, so we’ve totally run out of stock. Mach-E is going global as we speak, but in the US, the wait is months.”

One reason as to why the Mach-E is produced at a higher rate is because of how Ford is prioritising resource allocation for its model line-up. As you know, the global semi conductor shortage has forced several automakers to revisit their production strategy, with Ford funneling more chips to produce newer models such as the Mustang Mach-E and Bronco SUV.

“We have purposely protected our launches – Bronco, Bronco Sport, Mach-E, F-150,” Farley said. “If we can switch a module over to one of those launch vehicles, we have. We’re very protective of the launches because they are so important for our business.”

Ford’s Flat Rock plant in Michigan produced zero petrol Mustangs last month because of the shortage. Company sales analyst Erich Merkl said in a email: “We are really excited about the success that we are having with our launch of the all-new Mustang Mach-E, not just here in America, but globally too. To be fair, please keep in mind that Mustang and Flat Rock have been impacted by outside factors, which has been the semiconductor chip shortage.”

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Dinasaur Retirement on Jun 04, 2021 at 6:22 pm

Cheaper than Tesla3.
    Cheaper, can sell better.

Its a good strategy to call the 8seconds SUV as Mustang, although don’t looks like or fast like 1.
    Still, it has minimum 420Nm for lowest spec.

• panjang on Jun 04, 2021 at 6:43 pm

EVs selling like Pisang goreng panas here in the states. Since the smart US administration dishing out federal tax credits up to $7,500 for each EV vehicle and maybe $10,000 soon. Charging stations for electric vehicles also part of a $2 trillion infra bill pushed by Uncle Sam. I was laughing in disbelief to know so many local worshippers of that slow poyo overpriced Mustang pony car in Msia, LOL.

• So please continue to be always proud of your Myvi a.k.a. TheKing forever.

• azrai on Jun 05, 2021 at 7:12 am

In europe the new VW ID also has taken the market by storm. Look like Tesla’s blue ocean has become red now. Time to play with bitcoin then.

• Fordist on Jun 05, 2021 at 9:05 am

Mustang
    Sporty
    Ultimate
    Vehicle

Sedan Mustang car tak laku now.