PM: Govt looking into easing travel restrictions, allowing dine-in for those who are fully vaccinated

While Covid-19 cases have been on the rise lately, Malaysia’s vaccination rate has also been on turbo mode of late, among the fastest in the world, in fact. It wasn’t long ago that we breached the 200k shots a day mark, but with vaccine supplies coming in thick and fast, we’re now pushing the ceiling everyday – yesterday, over 460k doses were administered. Great job, JKJAV, and keep it up!

Yesterday, health director-general Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah cited Labuan as an example, and proceeded to say that daily case numbers might dip below the 1,000 mark in October if the vaccination rate is maintained at 150,000 second doses administered daily. Of yesterday’s 460k total, over 155k were second doses.

You want more good news? The government is now considering loosening restrictions for those who have had two jabs of the vaccine. Prime minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin hinted yesterday that fully vaccinated people may soon be allowed to travel and dine-in at restaurants. Take a moment to jog the memory and imagine that…

The PM said he had asked JKJAV (Special Committee for Ensuring Access to Covid-19 Vaccine Supply), headed by Khairy Jamaluddin, to look into relaxing movement control for the fully vaccinated.

“I think most of the people have received their (vaccine) shots. So, I have asked the JKJAV to look into giving some leeway for those who have completed taking two doses of the vaccine either for travelling or dining at restaurants. This will show that while we are handling the Covid-19, the people’s lives can gradually return to normal,” he said yesterday after inspecting the Bakul Prihatin Negara programme, Bernama reported.

In case you needed reminding, most of Selangor and some other areas are currently under the enhanced movement control order (EMCO), but full nationwide lockdown (FMCO) started on June 1, and we haven’t been able to cross state and district borders since May 10. Here’s hoping that the momentum of the vaccination drive wins the duel against the rising infection rates. In the meantime, stay home, stay safe.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 16, 2021 at 12:43 pm

gov doesnt care already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 25
    • Is it? Then why did they bother vaccinate 9million rakyat and counting? They could have been like EURO2020 nation countries and let the rakyat gather in huge groups without facemask or social distancing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Dr Strange on Jul 17, 2021 at 8:59 am

460,158 vaccines given on 15 Jul
      434,828 vaccines given on 14 Jul
      424,541 vaccines given on 13 Jul
      421,479 vaccines given on 12 Jul
      324,970 vaccines given on 11 Jul
      309,694 vaccines given on 10 Jul
      295,225 vaccines given on 9 Jul
      278,954 vaccines given on 8 Jul
      Gove doesnt care? Really???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Carolyn Khaw on Jul 16, 2021 at 12:44 pm

Please use his real name. Mahiaddin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Norlia on Jul 16, 2021 at 3:57 pm

Doesn’t matter if you call it a black cat or white cat as long it catches all the rats, it is a good cat.

• Avenger on Jul 16, 2021 at 12:46 pm

Great job, gomen! Yesterday 13,125 kes tertinggi… so we can open more. Syabass!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 27
  • Norlia on Jul 16, 2021 at 3:55 pm

I think this is a great idea! Its much inline with the global measures to handle living with covid and it helps to incentivise more people to get vaccinated. Far better than some countries daft effort to them into a raffle with a chance to win a chicken. WTH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Logically Pelik on Jul 17, 2021 at 9:17 am

Hello Mr PM. Solve the daily 5-figure covid19 cases first la. Dine-in isn’t the point here.

Never in this world a country declared “Emergency” to fight COVID, but end up having COVID infection cases doubles, triple, etc.

• Logical Deduction on Jul 18, 2021 at 9:59 am

Ehem. Britain is taking umbrage for not being considered “in this world”. After all, Britannia rules the covid wave.

• Actual logic on Jul 20, 2021 at 8:35 am

Brother, even after all Malaysian got their vaccine the infection figure wont be zero or 4 digit or 3 digit.
      If we properly track the infection figure after full vaccine, it will still be high. Then want to blame gomen again for giving ineffective vaccine?

• Chung on Jul 17, 2021 at 7:13 pm

Hopefully this plan can be carried out ASAP

I missed interstate travel so much !!!

• stupidcar on Jul 18, 2021 at 9:17 am

Actually it’s not adviced. As we all know, the virus doesn’t die off on non-living things and it can actually survive a few days which is highly unusual of virus, usually seen on bacteria, so it can be brought back with interstate travel. Surely not a good idea.