Revised NRP SOP allows cycling in neighbourhood

While some find the constant revision of standard operating procedures (SOP) under the various definitions of lockdown in Malaysia confusing, some good news at least for cyclists. Under Phase 1 and Phase 2 of the National Recovery Plan (NRP) announced July 19, cycling and other individual sports is now allowed with a minimum two- to three-meter separation distance but only in the neighbourhood.

This is an activity clamoured for by many in the cycling community, notably after police came out to say cycling as a sporting and recreational activity was forbidden under the Movement Control Order 3.0 (FMCO) SOP. However, cycling to work was allowed under the FMCO enforced from June 1 to June 14, with all outdoor recreational activities, including walking and jogging, then forbidden under further extension of the order.

The Malaysian transport sector also sees a relaxation in the SOP, with ports, airports and logistics sector permitted to operate around the clock. Meanwhile, business premises are permitted to operate from 6.00 a.m. to 10.00 p.m., including speciality stores such as petrol stations.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Lolwhut? on Jul 19, 2021 at 9:28 pm

Now is Safe to cycling. becuz Kovid virus went Balik kampung…

• Celup King on Jul 20, 2021 at 7:16 pm

Let’s just go by science ok? Is there any evidence that solo cycling can transmit the virus? The answer is an overwhelming no! Its a valid form of healthy exercise for a lot of us, especially if you are older and can no longer run.

• Dr Strange on Jul 21, 2021 at 2:20 am

Exactly. solo cycling can transmit the virus last week, deswai not allowed. Solo cycling kenot transmit virus this week, Deswai allow. Stupidity bodo really at its best LOL! when u got Low class mendset lokal Mentri, low class nasi lemak SOP.LOL

• many cyclist like me who spend their money on their high-end bikes do not cycle around the neighbourhood. Each cycling session we do about 100km and we don’t do that around the neighbourhood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
    • Then cycling should also adapt to the “new norm”. Time to learn how to cycle around your neighbourhood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • dupeness on Jul 21, 2021 at 1:30 pm

good for u bro, please continue to cycle your expensive bike at home.

• Robinhood on Jul 21, 2021 at 1:51 pm

Problem starts when people congregate. That’s why they are discouraging it. Honestly, am a cyclist too but no choice, guess have to do many rounds in the neighbourhood to make up the mileage. Sigh….

By the way, not many will do 100km ride alone!!! Lol

• Celup King on Jul 20, 2021 at 9:42 am

Like Proton said: “Worth waiting for”

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 20, 2021 at 11:03 am

but don go cycling in a group also la

• Revised Champion on Jul 20, 2021 at 12:50 pm

No 1 revised plan in the world.

• Troll Hunter Max on Jul 21, 2021 at 9:16 am

low number of cases, cannot go cycling.
    High number of cases, can go cycling.

Go figure.

• I ride too but – commonlah, how many cycle alone? How many jogs alone? Or can cycle alone without being around others? When we cycle or jogs inline behind an asymptomatic covid19 carrier, there’s a high chance we will get it when he coughs or sneezes because both of us didn’t wear masks and it’s scientifically proven that it happens. Look at Panda or Grab gangs by the road side. No masks no sop no one cares no polis saw.

• dupeness on Jul 21, 2021 at 1:31 pm

good for u bro, please continue to cycle your expensive bike at home.

• Derrick on Jul 28, 2021 at 5:44 pm

Does this apply to Damansara area? Sorry I’m so confused now.