FMCO: Malaysian police say cycling to work is allowed

After it was reported cycling was not allowed in the list of permitted activities under the Movement Control Order 3.0 (FMCO), Malaysian police have come out to say cycling to work is permitted. However, cycling as a recreational or sports activity is forbidden for the duration of the FMCO.

Speaking during an impromptu handover ceremony for aid to police front liners, Subang Jaya district police chief Assistant Commissioner of Police Abdul Khalid Othman said no compounds will be issued to individuals riding a bicycle to work. “I appeal to the public, follow the standard operating procedures (SOP), it is our responsibility to overcome the Covid-19 pandemic,” he said in a Sinar Harian report.

ACP Abdul Khalid reminded cyclists that recreational activities involving riding, whether individually or in groups, is not permitted under the SOP and offenders will be issued a compound notice. ACP Abdul Khalid also mentioned that the most compounds were issued for the offences of not wearing a face mask and not using the My Sejahtera application.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Selatandesh on Jun 07, 2021 at 11:59 am

Factory labourers do cycle to work on shift

• Deswai factory labourers zero covid infections and kebal. Syukurr brader2 factory labourers terbela,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
    • pengayuhbasikal on Jun 07, 2021 at 3:06 pm

inb4 Menteri oso do cycle to work on his Pinarello Dogma F10 RM45,000.

• Karam Singh on Jun 07, 2021 at 3:23 pm

Factory workers especially in selangor contribute to very high covid numbers in the state. The environment is hard to control or monitor.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 07, 2021 at 5:35 pm

Tmr won’t be allowed. We get it totally

• Ghani on Jun 07, 2021 at 5:48 pm

PN, Bersatu and PAS leaders can cycle to work for audiences with King lusa hari this Wednesday. Daulat Tuanku! Syabas kerajaan muafakat 16bulan Perihatin & berjaya… Kipidapp

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Jun 07, 2021 at 12:34 pm

Kudos to PDRM. So much time & efforts for such simple kegiatan, Cycling better to extend Darurat & PKP until 2030.

Cycling to work is allowed, becos as we fully know Kovid dont attack working people. But cycling is forbidden as a recreational or sports activity, becos then Covid wud savage attack all of us commoners so beware. Syabas kjaan PN bijak, telus & perihatin #kerajaanBerjaya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 41
    • If you cycle to work and you’re positive, KKM can trace the cluster back to the working place because you’re only cycling from A to B. If you’re going jalan-jalan then you’re spreading the virus everywhere because your trip might be A to B then C next visit D before going back to A. It’s just a lot harder to trace who have you infected. Forget about kerajaan. You don’t even seem like you can control your own urge to go out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Well right, majority locals supposed to be more civilized & got more common sense then our friendly Factory labourers from 3rd world countries..

• Make Malaysians intelligent again on Jun 08, 2021 at 11:39 am

There are factory foreign workers who have to ride bicycles to work simply because they can’t afford to spend on other types of transportation, not because they are less civilized or have less common sense.

• 7yrsOld on Jun 08, 2021 at 12:34 pm

Betui 100% setuju Pakcik. Issit too much to ask from our Menteri air suam, Menteri suara Doraemon & YB Kisskiss LRT.

Really hope it’s not from I seen past 7 years. But well we majoriti likely proven wrong again after a long 63year. We juz won’t admit it no matter what, becuz ini semua sarahan orang len

• Sell Fish on Jun 07, 2021 at 2:43 pm

Its total lock down.

Freedom is selectively provided.

You can do cycling in the house with Upgraded Kits anyway.

• alt crtl del on Jun 08, 2021 at 9:15 am

Did the health DG ever say such things like the virus doesn’t attack working people? Didn’t the DG himself say that new clusters of infection tend to appear at places of work?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 08, 2021 at 4:11 pm

Rakyat Sapot! Sapot!!!!
      #RakyatSapotPerihatinGomen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Roger Munns on Jun 07, 2021 at 1:52 pm

So can I cycle to the supermarket to buy my essential food?

• #cycleForLife on Jun 08, 2021 at 11:39 am

can, alone, social distance, wear not sporty clothing, https://youtu.be/lGKC8CM55wE

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 08, 2021 at 4:13 pm

Is that supermarket your workplace? If not, then no.
      #UseCommonSense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • Roger Munns on Jun 07, 2021 at 1:56 pm

So can I cycle to the supermarket to buy essential items?

• Sick&Tired on Jun 08, 2021 at 9:40 am

Nobody knows! The only way to find out is to just do it and see if you get fined or not.

• Can I know the SOP for number of person on each bicycle for biking to work? Lol.
    What a great new option for people who want to go work. Thank you for considering for those who commutes with bicycle.

• Ben Yap on Jun 07, 2021 at 3:02 pm

might as well just go for extreme lockdown like china where no one is allowed to leave the house. then government send food to our doorsteps.

• burit on Jun 08, 2021 at 12:36 pm

Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Karam Singh on Jun 07, 2021 at 3:23 pm

Factory workers especially in selangor contribute to very high covid numbers in the state. The environment is hard to control or monitor.

• Robinhood on Jun 07, 2021 at 3:29 pm

How about cycling for exercise??? Joggers also go in Group for recreation ok!!!!

• pojie on Jun 07, 2021 at 3:59 pm

Main beskal atas katil aje geng. Pangkat nama jek pemimpin tapi mendset low-class.. Peraturan kian merapu….suruh berkurung masa sama biar berkeliaran…… keliru…keliru….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 08, 2021 at 4:15 pm

Sendiri bodoh tak mau paham jangan le salahkan peraturan ye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 07, 2021 at 4:51 pm

Rakyat kayuh basikal takboleh. Kayangan lebai2 Masa pkp bolih pi test drive kereta xkene kobid. Kih3 makin mengarut…

Dah keadaan nak mati org nak beli kereta baru tahu. Pkp sehingga angka jangkitan kosong tercapai itu ujian juga mengawal hawa nafsu. Syukur bantu ekonomi hancur koyak, tengkiu kjaan hibrid kuat & penyayang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
  • AJibkor on Jun 07, 2021 at 6:08 pm

Koyakk PN , come back to Papa my warga ysuku. basikal cincau LOLL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 07, 2021 at 7:28 pm

should not even have been an issue

• prof dr on Jun 08, 2021 at 12:52 pm

when the majority condoned and feel proud like that former Prasarana chairman unprofessional and un-Malaysian conduct is no more than a reflection of a political culture developed over more than four decades under one ruling power and the support of a great many people of one race as well as the apathy of others. Some have resorted to waving a keris about, even. Renung2 laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • poknik on Jun 07, 2021 at 11:32 pm

But jogging is allowed?

• Betik yang Betul on Jun 08, 2021 at 9:04 am

Am I reading correctly the statement by Subang Jaya district police chief Assistant Commissioner of Police Abdul Khalid Othman that:

COVID virus will attack bikers only when they are exercising. COVID will not attack bikers when they are on their way to work(?)

• NT virus on Jun 08, 2021 at 9:09 am

It’s possible for the virus to infect an unprotected human being who is outdoors on a bicycle, regardless whether during travel to or from place of work, or for recreational exercise.

• Sick&Tired on Jun 08, 2021 at 9:39 am

Sick and tired of this stupid rules la! Life is already so difficult, now they want to impose more stupid rules on us! The police can now make up their own rules as they see fit. U might think that it’s ok, but this can lead to corruption! Malaysian police have no empathy. I have encountered so many rude officers while going through road block. Stop being so petty and instead ramp up vaccination!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
    • lobai on Jun 08, 2021 at 10:55 am

Syabas kjaan perihatin & berakal #KeepCalm&SyukurON

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 08, 2021 at 4:18 pm

Life difficult is better than being dead. Rakyat with brains understand and will follow. Those who complain, can go get themselves infected and go to …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Dong gor on Jun 08, 2021 at 11:46 am

Price of Bicycles, let it be new or used just got elevated!

• #cycleForLife on Jun 08, 2021 at 11:57 am

Senaman Jogging Boleh
    Senaman Basikal tak Boleh
    Sekarang boleh kayuh ke Kerja
    Keep it Simple Stupid

Walking or Cycle Alone is OK
    No to Group cycling, walking, jogging
    Why Bother where I go?
    Social Distance more important

When stop wear mask
    where there are people
    Who May be positive.
    #cycleForLife

• Poor, sad and confused on Jun 08, 2021 at 12:06 pm

If I am really poor, can I ride basikal to work if my work place is more than 10km away? Will I be saman?

Or if my old uncle cari-makan doing kutip sampah/recyle rubbish, using a basikal and side-car…..will that still be considered “basikal”?
    old unker dont wanna get fines, becoz oredi poor.

• Smoke Gets in my Eyes on Jun 08, 2021 at 12:45 pm

When you walked into supermarket and hardware shops… you not allowed to buy any Non-essential stuffs.

Or ask your old uncle to get Bantuan & makanan from JKKK, YB2, skolah agama or 70 Menteri #PNjagaKita

• Cyclist on Jun 11, 2021 at 11:31 am

2 groups of idiots to thank for this;

1. Cyclists who were cycling in groups before this FMCO
    2. Government, what a stupid ban, why can’t you just indicate that one has to cycle alone or not at all?