2022 Honda BR-V – bold redesign, big safety upgrades

Honda has finally unveiled the second-generation BR-V. Its arrival was foreshadowed by the N7X Concept that was shown to us earlier in May, featuring a fully redesigned front fascia, a range of other upgrades, plus a massive bump in safety features.

But first, let’s talk about the design. If you’ve seen the concept, then you know that it’s pretty much a carbon copy of it. The redesign makes the car appear a little bigger in pictures, but its exact dimensions have not been disclosed as yet. In any case, you can expect the cabin to be slightly roomier and its overall footprint to be larger than before.

The fascia is much more masculine this time. It looks more rugged thanks to the more upright grille and longer bonnet, giving it a more conventional SUV look – from the front, at least. Some may say its design is similar to the Perodua Ativa, but hey, it is what it is, and it’s not a bad look.

Unlike the outgoing BR-V, the Solid Wing Face is much less heavy on the use of chrome, and the chrome strip now blends right into headlights. Speaking of which, the range-topping version appears to get reflector LED headlights, and the LED DRLs now sit at the top of the headlights and kink downwards at the edges. There’s also what looks like LED fog lamps and a pretty pronounced silver “skid plate” further down.

Other obvious changes include a smoother side body with an uninterrupted shoulder line, which stretches from the headlights all the way to the tail lights. The lower window line is also completely straight now, making it look much cleaner compared to the weird jagged lines on the outgoing model.

The rear end also gets a full redesign. It’s noticeably rounder, more curvaceous if you will, and cleaner on the whole. The LED tail lights look very much like the ones on the City, and the tailgate looks like it has a split right along the midsection to reduce volume.

Other noteworthy design overhauls include the lower profile roof rails, a rear spoiler, tidier plastic claddings, bigger 17-inch dual-tone alloy wheels, and horizontal reflectors at the bottom of the rear bumper.

Interestingly, the layout of the dashboard remains very familiar with the previous generation model. There are clear revisions made across the cabin, but the cockpit and centre stack with the top-mounted air vents have the same general layout as before, making it look a bit like the CR-V.

2022 Honda BR-V – bold redesign, big safety upgrades

The instrument cluster is completely new this time, with two analogue gauges plus a coloured multi-info display in the middle. The multifunction steering wheel looks chunkier with a squarish centre boss, and the infotainment display is a small seven-inch unit with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity. Other new features include remote engine start, walk-away auto lock, centre armrest for the first and second row seats, and charging sockets for all three rows.

The powertrain is also upgraded. The 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine now gets dual overhead cams, generating 121 PS and 145 Nm of torque. It’s only 1 PS more than before, but hey, an upgrade is an upgrade. All that power is sent to the front wheels either through a six-speed manual transmission or CVT.

The biggest upgrade to the BR-V has to be its safety features. All variants of the new BR-V will get six airbags as standard, whereas the range-topping Prestige model can be had with Honda Sensing. This introduces features such as adaptive cruise control, autonomous emergency braking, lane keeping assist, lane centring assist, front departure alert, automatic high beam, and Honda LaneWatch. Honda Malaysia, don’t let us down now.

Finally, for pricing, the new BR-V will reportedly go for around 260 million rupiah in Indonesia, which equates to around RM76k. It will only go on sale in January next year, so expect more information to be released over time.

It sure looks like Honda Malaysia will be having a very busy year in 2022. We can look forward to the official launching of this new BR-V, new HR-V, and the new Civic. Actually, the Civic might even be launched before the end of the year, so that ought to get the ball rolling.

So, tell us, which new Honda model are you looking forward to, and what do you think of the new BR-V? Let us know what you think, below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• If RM76k, habisla Proton Exora and Spander

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 11
    • Amran on Sep 23, 2021 at 10:26 pm

Hei Bodoh, this is SUV while Exora is MPV. Tak tau nak banding, buta ke? Habisla Aruz & Ativa nanti. Wahahahaha!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 44
      • Wong Lee Yin on Sep 24, 2021 at 11:05 am

Proton is already rubbish car. Perodua is also rubbish car. Honda always the best. All brands will go bankrupt soon and you will be sad forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 29
        • Tun Fxxk on Sep 24, 2021 at 4:06 pm

Here in putrajaya, is a blessed land of Honda cars. All my public servant coliqs favoret carbrand… Civic CRV, City Jazz BRV.

• New alza on Sep 25, 2021 at 8:32 am

perodua will launch new alza.

• Wong Lee Yin on Sep 24, 2021 at 12:22 am

Let’s hope all brands will go bankrupt soon. Proton and mazda have been falling sales since mazda and proton have been falling without MCOs. My CRV is faster and better than others. Buy mazda, toyota and proton, you will feel sad for driving rubbish cars. Without all brands, Honda fans would be even happier and more excited that all brands already destroyed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 35
      • RyanT on Sep 24, 2021 at 10:36 am

Really? Tested the CRV before, poor NVH and noisy CVT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • Uncle Joe Lho on Sep 24, 2021 at 12:02 pm

Your CRV also very costly to repair after the 5 th year.It is a money pit.Don’t condemn other cars just because u r addicted to Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
        • Wong Lee Yin on Sep 24, 2021 at 1:01 pm

Why care all brands. All brands are going to bankrupt soon. I can condemn all rubbish brands. Soon, honda fans will be happy to see that all brands already destroyed and you will be sad forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
      • Toyota not good? Other brands not good? Honda good? Better watch out before you say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
        • Wong Lee Yin on Sep 24, 2021 at 4:41 pm

Who cares about you such a poor guy. I know you are driving Mazda. Mazda is rubbish car. Soon, you will be sad forever and scared that Mazda will going to bankrupt soon and Honda fans will happily forever.

• People like u so poor drive crv, there are other luxury car that u have never heard of, macan, maserati, Porsche, infinity, land rover and so many more with cost more than 300k and above, Honda for poor people like u only. Dont be obsessed over Honda too much.

• hi honda fanboy, self licking your post?

• Norbert de Rooy on Sep 23, 2021 at 9:06 pm

6 whole airbags… Welcome to 2011

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 72
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 23, 2021 at 10:16 pm

looks better than the mercedes glb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • PlainBS on Sep 24, 2021 at 1:04 am

X50 better watch out this coming model.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
    • Meh. Current BRV have never worried X50 why should this one be any different?

• I think in the next iterations of these Honda SUVs, they will probably drop either the HR-V or CR-V from the Malaysian market. Unlike the first model, the BR-V are getting more up-to-date features. For ASEAN market anyway.

It will reach a point where it will not be cost effective anymore to make CKD of either HR-V or CR-V. Similar to how we do not see the latest Accord often, unlike the previous version.

Honda has precedent where their models get moved up, either segment or market wise. I still remember in the 70/80s when Civic is just a small round hatchbacks, while Accord’s size is closer to the current C-segment and has both Sedan and Hatchback versions sold.
    Now City replaced the Civics, and Civics upgraded to replace the Accords.

• Smoke Gets in Your Eyes on Sep 24, 2021 at 7:33 pm

I wanna smoke whatever you’re smoking hahahahaaa

• Ahmad on Sep 25, 2021 at 11:22 am

Hmmm… What about the driveshaft problems?

• Excellent Huat on Sep 25, 2021 at 11:33 am

Xpander more good looking, just gonna wait 4to 6month to deliver

• hazri on Sep 30, 2021 at 8:45 pm

previously we have honda city hatchback. now we have honda city suv. they should give electronic parking brake at least.

• Ivan Loh on Jan 24, 2022 at 5:29 pm

The dealer was eager to push the outgoing BR-V to me, telling me that the new version is only available in Indonesia and takes 2 years to launch in Malaysia. I already regret my choice of Honda. Instead of enjoying driving a brand new Honda, I’m stressed out over the many imperfections with it. Road noise, dash rattle, thin weatherstripping, debris under infotainment screen, bad tool storage design, and more! To make matters worse Madoka Chujo hasn’t even replied an email sent via the HM CRD. I can send you picture proof of just how bad the finishing is.