Honda BR-V dropped from Malaysian model line-up – second-gen MPV not coming, will be replaced by WR-V

An update on the Honda BR-V. It has long been expected that the second-generation seven-seat MPV (or crossover, should you prefer to call it that), which was first revealed in Indonesia back in 2021, would be coming to Malaysia, continuing where the first-gen DG1 left off.

Well, it isn’t, because Honda Malaysia has decided to discontinue the model. This was revealed during Q&A session following the business plan briefing the company held last Friday. No official explanation was given as to why the plug has been pulled, but the WR-V‘s appearance on the scene may have a lot to do with the BR-V being dropped. In any case, internal sources reveal that the change in strategy and shift in focus away from the competitive seven-seater game had been decided some time back.

The first-gen “Bold Runabout Vehicle” arrived in Malaysia back in early 2017 in its seven-seat configuration, with two variant grades available for it. A facelift arrived in mid-2020, continuing to be powered by a 1.5 litre four-cylinder SOHC i-VTEC engine with 120 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm at 4,600 rpm, unchanged from when the model was first introduced.

First-gen BR-V facelift.

The second-gen BR-V, presently on sale in Indonesia, Thailand and the Philippines, features an updated version of the 1.5 litre i-VTEC mill, now fitted with double overhead cams. Output has remained the same, with 121 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm of torque at 4,300 rpm translating to a marginal single metric hp increase.

What do you think of the decision to drop the BR-V from the Malaysian model line-up? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section.

GALLERY: Second-gen Honda BR-V, Thailand-spec

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Aiyo, bigger 1.5L BR-V now reduced size to 1.5L WR-V?

Exora’09 laughing there..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • KakiKelentong on Mar 20, 2023 at 1:53 pm

So that they can priced the smaller WR-V at BR-V price. Huahuahua!
      Wanna expect WR-V cheap in Msia? No way under HM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Mar 20, 2023 at 9:34 pm

BRV competing market already take-up by Alza. Even the launch of Veloz is just for show only

• driver5 on Mar 21, 2023 at 2:54 pm

They knew when X90 comes, the BRV will be having a tough time, price wise. Plus Alza is already around with similar size and capacity.

• jinggo on Mar 20, 2023 at 1:10 pm

Kiasi with Veloz..? LOL

• Sohai on Mar 20, 2023 at 1:12 pm

Sounds like a wrong strategy.
    The honda line up doesnt have a people mover, so a BRV is more sensible.

Argubly, the WRV competes against the likes of City hatch for the same group of customers who want compact lifestyle mobility.

The final judgement depends on how much they price the WRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • They should launch new brv in malaysia to gain market from alza, veloz, xpander

• john is otak batu on Mar 20, 2023 at 1:20 pm

WTF!

• Anonymous_C on Mar 20, 2023 at 1:35 pm

Smaller WR-V? Guessing don’t want to challenge their upcoming CR-V and current HR-V.

Guess next drop will be Jazz/Fit ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Tahu pun akan kalah teruk dengan Veloz/Alza. Better than selling but cannot get the numbers to justify the CKD. For once, Honda Malaysia bijak pandai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • CR-V will come with 7 seater arrangement?

• Rayhan on Mar 20, 2023 at 4:12 pm

Why??..this all new BRV model more elegant than previous model..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Keyboard warrior on Mar 20, 2023 at 4:19 pm

Honda Malaysia knew the BRV does not stand a chance against Alza let alone Veloz. The only thing that keep BRV relevant is the H badge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • They really thought WR-V can eat Ativa sales lmao

• apa jadi on Mar 20, 2023 at 5:07 pm

WRV and Ativa both locally made cars. Why pay upwards to 100k for the WRV. Worse, the WRV may actually be lower spec and equipment than P1/P2 cars

• Putri on Mar 21, 2023 at 6:43 am

https://paultan.org/2021/11/12/2022-honda-br-v-pricing-revealed-for-indonesia/

Indoensia BR-V starts RM81k, still cheaper

• What to 7seater buy then. I dont want that alza or aruz,they dont have the H.

• Gahpadu on Mar 21, 2023 at 10:21 am

Might be 7seater 2023 CRV like Thailand. Since many Malaysian like SUV and market for 7S SUV really demanding

• jdmcarlover07 on Mar 20, 2023 at 5:22 pm

how could HM do this. i think i’m gonna cry

• Wrong move! Wrong move!! on Mar 20, 2023 at 5:37 pm

As a Brv owner, im surprised by this move. The mpv is compact, nimble, and practical yet enough power to drive around. Fuel saving somemore. If i want to chg my brv, what mpv can attract me in honda lineup? Evn though i dont use 7 seater often, but it bcome handy when i need to ferry 7 ppl or load things. i felt tht HM marketing team has fail to market the advantages of brv. 120ps, 1.5cc(cheap roadtax) , fuel saving, suv look.., 7 seater. Wrv instead of brv?? ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • KhaiSha on Mar 20, 2023 at 6:17 pm

Waiting for 2 years.. but it’s sadly news for us.. d price range (>100k)might be one of the issues to compete with Veloz, Alza.

• kenot on Mar 20, 2023 at 6:24 pm

Honda doesn’t know how much to put the price. Please note, all new models of Honda have increased their prices. Honda doesn’t want to put the price of brv under rm100k anymore..

• 1.8l or 1.5l hybrid engine maybe? on Mar 21, 2023 at 12:05 pm

Just put in 1.8l engine or 1.5hybrid with equivalent power & with all the safety tech, and sell around 100- 110k, i think many ppl will buy. No need to keep competing in 1.5l veloz/alza territory.

• AkooIm on Mar 20, 2023 at 10:05 pm

“Alza is too powerful so we decide to chicken out…”
    Honda Malaysia

• Aaron on Mar 21, 2023 at 1:29 pm

Meanwhile @ Indonesia,

BR-V WR-V still cheap cheap
      BR-V 1.5L IDR287.8 juta @ RM 84k
      WR-V 1.5L IDR279.4 juta @ RM79k
      City 1.5L HB IDR344 juta @ RM100k

@ forex now, supposed 20% more value for money than City.
      Since it’s coming from the India Honda Brio Indonesia Platform, added with Honda Amaze mini sedan India dashboard. So cheaper value for money.

• Thank goodness the BRV was such an eyesore. But then again, all Hondas are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • For once dear Internet, i agree with you.

• Brv look goodlah! on Mar 21, 2023 at 3:40 pm

i disagree on ur point. I like how brv looks like. The current model looks funky. If accord, then i agree..it look errr…pretend to be premium but not. Pretend to be sportier but lack. The fastback look and the front end very mismatch…dunno why approved such a design!

• Wat…why…been expecting the new model launching in Malaysia since last year…Cmon Honda…if pricing is the problem how come ur new HRV still can make it even after the hike ( 15 – 20%) now reaching 140k++ for full spec. If ur new BRV priced at 110- 120k i think is still acceptable due to global inflation. Yes i know Veloz Alza Aruz ( those model with 7 seaters) still priced <100k but still interms of practicality ( Space / engine performance/ Ground clerance ) it does the leading factor ( my personal opinion ). Why not discontinue the accord? Don't even see much nowadays on the road mcm just dissappeared / in extinction period…managed to grab one the old 2022 model last year end but may need to go headache coming years due to discontinued variant…zzz

• At first glance BRV was ugly for me among all the Honda models but if ur looking for 7 seater this BRV does the job. Damn i tried the rest 7 seater models (Veloz Aruz Xpander Alza) non of them satisfy me in terms of space, ground clearance and engine performance. I still managed to tried the 3rd row seat with ease (my height 180cm) now tats where it changed my whole mindset of this ugly BRV. Eventhough the price is way more expensive compared to the rest 7 seater but for me it still worth the penny for its practicality. I expecting new model launching in Malaysia but sad to hear the discontinuation….sigh…luckily managed to grab one the current model last December due to no update on new BRV model….zzz

• bye bye BRV…Sniff sniff

• Where is the MPV?? on Mar 21, 2023 at 3:51 pm

I really dont understand why H keep pushing 5seater vehicles. A very big market for 7/8 seater in msia. looks at recond mpv… All nice mpv launched in Indo but not here? Where is Honda stepwagon? ,mobilo, new brv???? A hot seller Jazz also discontinued, y?? Wat happen to their marketing & research team? they dunno wat msian likes? Looks how slow is city h/b and accord sales..not many otr!

• Biker on Mar 21, 2023 at 10:10 pm

Honda sells more motorbikes in Malaysia than Toyota and Perodua combined.

• Why why on Mar 21, 2023 at 8:45 pm

Why is my comment not published out….???

• Bad move as BRV is a 7 seater MPV whereas this new WRV is a 5 seater SUV. Totally different market segment.

Expander will be non national MPV best seller

• Greyeye on Mar 27, 2023 at 7:59 am

Please replace with 7 seater CR-V!

• MR. H on Apr 04, 2023 at 6:38 pm

Honda don’t want compete with alza and veloz. If me, i will grab Velzo, a bit cheaper than BRV. Plus….H-RV and X50 hot selling right now. For those cannot effort H-RV..and still want Honda brand..can consider W-RV.

• We’ve been waiting for the new BRV model, the previous model of BRV (design wise is not appealing and it reminds us of Avanza performance).

• Is there any car importer company will bring this BRV to Malaysia?