Interstate travel in Malaysia resumes from Mon, Oct 11

Prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob has announced that interstate travel across Malaysia will be allowed to resume as of tomorrow, Monday, October 11. He said this comes as the country’s adult vaccination rate (fully vaccinated with two doses) has reached 90% as of today, which the government previously said was the target percentage where travel restrictions between states would be lifted.

Ismail Sabri stated that the permission to cross borders was only for the fully vaccinated, and added that while there are no more specific roadblocks to impede travel and to check the vaccination status of individuals, authorities will still conduct random MySejahtera checks, for example when at highway R&Rs and restaurants, to ensure compliance.

He reminded the public to observe SOPs such as adhering to the use of face masks and maintaining physical distancing in public places, as it was now up to them be responsible for their behaviour. If there is a violation of the rules, action will be taken.

As of tomorrow, fully vaccinated Malaysians can also begin travelling abroad for official and non-official activities, and will not need a MyTravelPass to do so. Those returning to Malaysia will need to do a swab test three days before the return date, and also when arriving at an entrance point into the country. Quarantine can now be done at home.

Separately, Sarawak this evening announced that while its state borders reopen from tomorrow in line with the federal government’s decision, individuals wanting to enter the state will have to first make an application via the EnterSarawak website. They will need to furnish proof of their fully vaccinated status as well as results from a RT-PCR or an RTK antigen rapid test (from a clinic or medical lab), valid for three days from submission of the application.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 10, 2021 at 4:45 pm

Syukuring keeps rolling n rolling n rolling n rolling….

• Copy Paste on Oct 10, 2021 at 4:45 pm

The DG has clearly mentioned opening is not by choice and the Gomen is forced by the people. If infections goes up again, you people asked for it.

Gomen is committed to bukak semua only for those vaccinated and using this tactic to persuade those antivaxxers to get them vaccinated, Im all for it. As a doctor I fully support this Gomen for everyone to be vaccinate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Hantu Raya on Oct 10, 2021 at 10:14 pm

It’s ok, we understand you don’t mind a slice of the population papa kedana.

• Dr Strange on Oct 11, 2021 at 7:57 am

Where did i mention i did not support opening? The caveat is only for the fully vaccinated, those who refuses should be refused service & conveniences.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • Hantu Raya on Oct 11, 2021 at 11:57 am

How do say you support communist style social credit system, without saying it?

• Angry Voters on Oct 10, 2021 at 4:56 pm

Yay! Now Mysejahtera allows Vaccine Pass to be downloaded as PDF and printed, it becomes even easier for interstate & international border travels. Thanks so much KJ!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Albert Einstein Junior on Oct 10, 2021 at 5:38 pm

It is good and bad news.
    Good news for those who cannot wait to balik kampong.
    Bad news…our below 17 still half jabbed and under 11 ..all exposed to the inter state roaming virus.
    Now it is a free for all.
    Hopefully,we dont have a kids mini Wuhan.
    By then,the degil dudes who ignore all SOPs have themselves to blame.Crying buckets of tears wont help.
    Look at Singapore.The majority of cases are among the unjabbed seniors.They have 3x the cases compared to Selangor now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Fake News on Oct 10, 2021 at 11:00 pm

SINGAPORE – As Singapore presses on with its strategy of living with Covid-19, an update in mindsets is needed to respect the virus but not be paralysed by fear, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Saturday (Oct 9).

Addressing the nation on the Covid-19 situation, he set out why a zero-Covid-19 strategy is no longer feasible.

Instead, people should go about their daily activities as normally as possible, taking necessary precautions and complying with safe management measures. This is because Covid-19 has become a treatable, mild disease for most with vaccinations, he said.

• Albert Einstein Junior on Oct 11, 2021 at 5:36 am

ZERO covid cases is a fairytale,all of us know.
        20,900 cases this year involve 1-11 years old.
        Why? All because they are not jabbed.
        Singapore,seniors die because many still refuse the jabs due to slanted opinions or certain religious beliefs.
        Here,the kids have no choice.They die because the vaccine is not there.This is compounded by the evergungho centreparting education dude who reopened schools prematurely 5 months ago.
        You can go about normal activities,but do you want your cucu or kids die of covid by over relaxing the rules?
        KJ’s fears of interstate covid mini explosion is coming to reality if people dont self test before balik kampong and leaving it to fate.

• Unknown on Oct 11, 2021 at 10:50 am

Brother. Come out of cave and take a walk around shopping malls in the weekend. Parents are gungho bringing kids out, letting them pull down mask, bringing babies without any cover, etc, they have less worries compared to Gahmen so why concern with cross border exposure? The Gahmen has done everything possible now it is up to parents to take care of their kids. That is called parenting. If parents want to enjoy life again at the expense of their kids, it is their choice.

• Ajibkor on Oct 11, 2021 at 12:53 pm

Recalcitrant unknown,
            Wait till you go to the cave and cry when one of your kids or cucu BID or in ICU.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Unknown on Oct 11, 2021 at 3:18 pm

If you are that scared, stay at home keep your kids at home. Never come out until 2025. Guarantee you either covid has died or human civilisation has died. Happy?

• swen ekaf on Oct 12, 2021 at 1:13 am

Pray that it won’t mutate into a more aggressive variant.

• Manifesto Dicapati on Oct 11, 2021 at 12:11 am

90% reached, janji ditepati. Thank you PM Sabri & G!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • george on Oct 10, 2021 at 5:55 pm

Hopefully those who refuse to get the vaccine stay at your own place. Don’t make the 90% life miserable because of you. Moreover, it is your own choice not to be inoculated. We have parents, family to look after.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • Cheah CK on Oct 10, 2021 at 6:08 pm

As of 10-10-21, can a unvaccinated child below 12 travel in the same car with parents?

• venven81 on Oct 10, 2021 at 10:09 pm

kids below the age of 18 who are partially vaccinated or unvaccinated are allowed to travel with parent who is fully vaccinated.