No more roadblocks once interstate travel allowed but current SOPs continue at premises for unvaccinated

The government has said that once Malaysia’s Covid-19 vaccination rate reaches 90% of the adult population, state borders will be open and we will be able to make that trip home to the kampung, or to go for a local holiday. As of October 6, the figure stands at 88.8%, which means that interstate travel is just around the corner now.

The impending border reopening raises the question on SOPs for those who are not vaccinated. Health minister Khairy Jamaluddin says that existing SOPs will apply to all, but there will be no more roadblocks to control movement, as that is impractical. This means that the minority who refuse to be vaccinated will be able to cross state borders, but their freedom will be curtailed in terms of activities allowed.

“Although we say that interstate travel is only for the vaccinated, there’s no way for us to control the movement of the unvaccinated, I admit. We won’t have roadblocks but if they (unvaccinated) go back (to the kampung) or cross borders and try to dine in at a restaurant, they won’t be allowed to do so,” he said at a press conference at Hospital Kuala Lumpur today.

He added that the government has no way to inspect everyone who crosses borders for their vaccination status as that will inconvenience everyone else. As for the suggestion to have those who are unvaccinated to self-test before travel, he said that it’s impossible to implement.

“We have studied that plan, however there’s no way that we can enforce it. Don’t tell me we’re going to have roadblocks that will inspect everyone, and force an on-the-spot Covid test for the unvaccinated. I think the rakyat will be even more angry if there are jams caused by that (roadblock to find and test the unvaccinated) during balik kampung,” he said, logically.

So, to sum it up, interstate borders will very soon be opened, and there’s no stopping anyone from travelling, including those who refuse to be vaccinated. However, existing SOPs apply for premises such as shops and restaurants, and those without fully vaccinated status will not be allowed in, as per today.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 08, 2021 at 12:18 am

Syukuring keeps rolling n rolling n rolling n rolling….

• alldisc on Oct 08, 2021 at 11:18 am

why bother? those without vaccines in their bodies are facing the risks of death themselves. let them be. i say with 90% vaccinated, we can also make do without face masks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • We still have to consider children below 7 and babies. They are not yet vaccinated.

• I’m vaxed. Very few are facing death. Recovery is 99.97% or greater for most groups. That is the science we are told to follow. Dividing society this way is dangerous. Do you remember Nazi Germany? I do. The sad thing is we can not even have a conversation about Covid survivors, naturally immune, children. Individual choice in this matter is as important as culture or religion. Those who have made a hoice to not take this unknown medicine, I respect. I’m in no greater danger from them than I was in 2019. Peace and unity is what we need not further reason for fear and hate

• The gorgonite on Oct 09, 2021 at 5:05 pm

Agree impractical to inspect. We live in covid era. So deal with it.

• Floner on Oct 09, 2021 at 8:01 pm

Mysej hanya terpakai di mall je, n restoean dlm mall. Kalau restoran biasa nie bos, xdak sape nak jaga n pantau yg scan tu vacc ke dak.. Xdak pun sapa nak tgk dia low risk ke high risk. Yg amik suhu tu pun kelaun temperature nya.. Xtah cite la psl handsanitizer tuu… Xdak guna pun.. Tulis nama pun bukan tulis nama betui. No phone betui.. Ini realitynya bos…