Perodua studying export of traded-in used cars – CEO

Perodua is considering exporting used cars that are traded-in for new models. Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin said at the 2022 Myvi facelift media drive in Johor Bahru over the weekend that the company is currently studying the idea of exporting second-hand cars.

The Malaysian market leader currently has the Perodua’s Pre-Owned Vehicles (POV) business. Launched in 2017, POV is an certified pre-owned arm much like Toyota Topmark and BMW Premium Selection. POV sells only used Perodua cars that have gone through inspection and refurbishment. Buyers are assured by genuine mileage and up to 18 months extended warranty.

Zainal says that POV offers reasonable prices and those looking to purchase new Perodua cars are welcome to trade-in their current vehicles. Perhaps POV can only accept a limited amount of used cars, and the company has to manage the disposal of a large amount of trade-ins, giving rise to the export idea.

“I will announce in January or so. Based on our long term plan for second-hand cars, there are so many used cars in Malaysia. One of our strategy is we’re looking at options, whether we can export these used cars to other countries that require cars,” the P2 chief said.

“As we speak, we have our team now studying in one of the countries, which I cannot announce now. They are doing feasibility studies and we’ve sent a few cars over there for them to do market survey, pricing acceptance and so on,” he added.

If the export of used cars sounds strange, it’s actually rather common. For example, Japan exports plenty of used cars worldwide, and Malaysia is one of the major destinations. While our recond cars from Japan and UK consists mostly of plush MPVs/SUVs and sports/performance models with low mileage, there are other countries that bulk import regular, non-luxury/enthusiast JDM cars. For instance, this writer was surprised to see “normal” used JDM cars all over New Zealand, used as daily tools in lieu of official imports from authorised distributors.

In any case, the used car sector in Malaysia is hot and thriving at the moment, and used Peroduas attract high demand (and resale values), so it’s unlikely that P2 will ship the bulk of its traded-in cars to lower income countries.

Looking for a new ride but torn between new and used? Check out our debate cum guide.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sohai on Dec 06, 2021 at 2:11 pm

Without tax, a milotin used car price as same as New car price, and the main problem the milotin car is so fragile and how it can stand for heavy use ???

• Karam Singh on Dec 06, 2021 at 2:18 pm

Japan is largest used car exporter. New zealand is largest importer.

The reason is.. market too small to have a competitive price New car business, what more to assemble as knocked down units.

Even Singapore sends many used cars there legally.

Perodua can make a good case there too, if you know what kind of market there is. The ppl there they drive sensibly.. highly respect The road regulations.

Others? Bangladesh can be another market. Others suitable countries sadly though are LHD like cambodia, african or south americam

• azrai on Dec 06, 2021 at 3:32 pm

Since sparepart price will soar 60%, better for P2 to salvage those traded in cars for their parts and sell it after refurbishment.l with warranty. They can also reuse the chip which is in shortage for the time being. A new sales arm P2 chop shop, PEROCHOP. I must get some % for this idea la.

• MDM ke arah kuasa besar dunia

• Problem is overseas new cars are priced the same as your used cars, who in the right mind will buy your jaguh kampung junks? Whatmore outside cars are better specced than your outdated museum exhibits.

• SmartConsumer on Dec 06, 2021 at 5:25 pm

Nothing to study. Malaysian cars are one of the most expensive in the world because of AP and high tax. Who will buy? their cars cheaper

• dream125 on Dec 06, 2021 at 7:30 pm

Most of Africa is using second-hand cars from abroad.

• Low-income countries like

• Very good initiatives. Like a recon car business in other country.