Pan Borneo Highway – government says that Phase 2 development of the Sarawak portion will continue

The government says that construction of Phase Two of the Sarawak portion of Pan Borneo Highway – from Pujut to Lawas – is being continued. This was announced by prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob during the opening of the Serian Section alignment of the road network yesterday, Bernama reports.

He said he would discuss with senior minister of works Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof and Sarawak chief minister Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg on how to continue phase two of the project as well as development of related roads in the state. “I also give a commitment that we will not stop there, we will continue all projects for Sarawak,” he said.

He said the government saw the Pan Borneo Highway project as something that ws very important for the people of Sarawak, not only as a means to facilitate travel but also to strengthen the local economy.

Construction of the second phase of the road project had previously been approved by the federal government, but was cancelled when the government changed hands after the 2018 general election. “I want to mention that the impact of the change of government was huge not only at the federal level, but also at state levels,” he said.

The 33.65 km-long Serian Section stretch is part of the Work Three package from Bulatan Serian to Simpang Pantu, which covers a total distance of 75.015 km. Fully completed yesterday, work on the section involved upgrading the existing federal road from Bulatan Serian to Balai Ringin, at a total cost of RM700 million.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sarawakian on Dec 07, 2021 at 5:15 pm

Dear Paultan Team, appreciate if you could help to publish a report on all section progress of Pan Borneo Highway for Sabah and Sarawak. Thanks in advance.

• Pain Borneo on Dec 11, 2021 at 8:23 pm

Photos which shows the actual site and condition of Pan Borneo as specially Bintulu to Sibu road conditions.

• Ghani on Dec 08, 2021 at 1:37 am

Better Nation, connecting you to your loved ones.
    Petty Hypocrites, disconnecting you from reality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • Spin Too Much on Dec 13, 2021 at 8:31 pm

Your favourites had a lot of time between 1963 & 2018 to complete this project, but the funding always favour the peninsula…