2022 Perodua Myvi facelift review – it’s a no-brainer

Perodua Myvi 2022 – Quick Facts

The Myvi 2022 was launched on November 18, 2021.

It comes in 5 specs – 1.3G without PSDA, 1.3G with PSDA, 1.5X, 1.5H and 1.5 AV.

Myvi 2022 Prices

The following are the prices for all 5 specs of the Perodua Myvi 2022:

Compare Myvi 2022 on CarBase.my: Perodua Myvi G vs X vs H vs AV specs

Myvi 2022 Safety

In terms of crash safety, Perodua has not submitted the facelifted Myvi for an ASEAN NCAP crash test, but the pre-facelift Myvi scored a 5-star ASEAN NCAP crash test result.

In terms of active safety, the 1.3G with PSDA, 1.5X, 1.5H and 1.5AV models get ASA 3.0 with Pre-collision Warning (PCW), Pre-collision Braking (PCB or AEB), Front Departure Alert (FDA), Pedal Misoperation Control (PMC), Lane Departure Warning (LDW) and Lane Departure Prevention (LDP).

The Myvi 1.3G (with and without PSDA) and 1.5X variants get four airbags as standard, while the 1.5H and 1.5AV get six airbags.

In terms of child passenger safety, the Myvi 2022 comes with 2 sets of ISOFIX points to mount child seats on the rear bench outer two seats. All 5 seats feature three-point seat belts.

Myvi 2022 Maintenance Cost

We have done some analysis on how much it costs to maintain the Perodua Myvi 2022 compared to other cars. You can read more about it via the links below.

Myvi 2022 Competitors

Other than the Perodua Myvi 2022, the following compete in the same segment:

Compare on CarBase.my: Perodua Myvi vs Proton Iriz

Learn more about the Myvi 2022

You can read our comprehensive coverage on the Perodua Myvi 2022 to help you discover if the Myvi is a suitable choice for your next car purchase.

Watch our Perodua Myvi 2022 videos

We have produced videos of the Myvi 2022 if you prefer watching a video to reading. You can watch them at the below two links.

Perodua Myvi 2022 Full Review

What else can be said about the Perodua Myvi? Malaysians call it “king” these days, and while that’s a semi-joke, with some 1.3 million units sold since 2005 over three generations, the Myvi is truly the “Love of the Nation”.

It has occupied the sales throne from year one. Crosstown rival Proton has tried to challenge the Myvi, and is still plugging away now. I don’t have the figures on hand, but I’m willing to guess that it would take the combined sales of the Proton Savvy (2005-2013, smaller in size), Suprima S (2013-2019, higher segment) and Iriz (2014-present, direct rival) to come close to the monolith that is the Myvi.

There was also the Satria Neo (2006-2015), which is still one of the prettiest three-door hatchbacks ever made, but unfortunately, there are only so many young car enthusiasts around.

What makes the Myvi so popular? There’s no single answer, not with over 1m units sold, but as a former owner, I’d hazard a guess. Practical and spacious, economical and reliable. Car guys might yawn, but in case you haven’t realised, that’s what normal people want from a daily ride.

No need to alter a successful recipe then, especially when the third-generation Myvi – which is four years old now – is still ahead of the just-facelifted Iriz in features and safety. Crucially, it’s still topping the sales charts. But conventional wisdom never cautioned against improving the recipe.

Safety first

Perodua is known for many things, but safety was never one of them. That changed with the G3 Myvi, which confounded expectations of an affordable local car. LED headlamps and keyless entry were nice standard-fit items, but P2 pushed out the boat by offering autonomous emergency braking (AEB) as part of the Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) pack in the AV. In 2017, AEB was unprecedented in a sub-RM100k car, never mind a RM55k Perodua.

Since then, Rawang has doubled down on the safety first strategy and we’re now in the third iteration of ASA, with wider parameters. ASA is also now available in all of Perodua’s models. The next shock came with the Ativa, launched earlier this year with Level 2 autonomous driving features and adaptive LED headlamps. Adaptive cuise control with lane keep assist on a RM70k car is unrivalled.

You’d think that by now, we’d be desensitised and already half expecting a big leap in the next Perodua product. Still, P2 managed to drop jaws with the Myvi facelift. ASA 3.0, Lane Departure Warning/Prevention and Auto High Beam is available on all variants (optional on base 1.3 G), while the AV gets the Ativa’s ACC and LKC, along with Blind Spot Monitor and Rear Cross Traffic Alert.

From no cruise control to adaptive cruise control with lane keep – that’s the progress we’re seeing here. Go back five years and tell people that in 2021, the Myvi will “drive itself” and you’ll be driven away as a mad man.

They really didn’t have to go so far. The recently-facelifted 2022 Iriz/Persona still does not have AEB, as Proton chose to “spend our money on more useful things for the customer” such as an expanded “Hi Proton” system instead of ADAS, which the Myvi has had since 2017. If P2 chose to give the 2022 Myvi ASA 3.0 + LDW/LDP + AHB, it would have been applauded as raising standards without pressure from rivals – this is just a facelift after all.

Reserving top tier kit for the costlier Ativa would be understandable, too. But no, the best possible safety goodies from Daihatsu are all here in the Myvi. Lighting plays a part in safety as well, and the Myvi G3’s LED eyes – already brighter than those on the 2022 Iriz – get AHB function plus LED daytime running lights as sidekick. The DRLs – available on the H and AV – are a first for Perodua.

UPDATE: Some have requested comments on the safety systems. Well, there’s not a tonne to say other than all of the features worked as advertised. ACC functions between 30 to 125 km/h, and you can select three levels of distance from the vehicle in front (around 25m, 40m and 50m). Like on the Ativa, the process of slowing down and getting back up to speed could be a bit more subtle, but the fact that a Myvi has ACC is a big deal already.

There’s no low-speed follow, so it doesn’t work in traffic jams – this is more of a long distance highway drive assistant. A big miss? Well, not all Honda Sensing cars have LSF and Perodua’s surveys tell them that customers prefer using ACC for highway driving.

ACC with LKC is a great headlining act, but I find its more humble safety teammates such as BSM and AHB to be more valuable in day-to-day driving. These are features that once you get used to their presence, you’ll feel “naked” when jumping into a car without them.

Same but different

That safety bundle is good, but it’s the new CVT that truly transforms the Myvi. The long-serving 4AT’s replacement gearbox is something that you feel with every press of the throttle, every overtake, long drive and petrol pump visit.

Once again, this is something P2 didn’t have to do. The four-speed auto – while old and outdated compared to what other carmakers offer – has been somewhat accepted as the norm for Perodua. It’s a basic gearbox for basic cars. And truth be told, the old stager performs well, with no annoying quirks. Not the most efficient, but a reliable performer. Also, this is just a facelift and mid-life changes don’t typically involve gearbox swaps.

To make the move even more surprising, Daihatsu’s D-CVT (D for Dual-Mode) isn’t a plug-and-play gearbox for the Myvi. The transmission was designed for DNGA (Daihatsu New Global Architecture) models, and to get it to work here, P2 had to give its best seller the Ativa’s electrical architecture. The resulting car is the first application of D-CVT in a non-DNGA car. Much effort and investment – RM50 million to be exact – for a facelift.

D-CVT is the world’s first split gear CVT system, combining belt drive with a gear drive for improved fuel efficiency, acceleration and quietness. From rest to low/medium speeds, D-CVT functions like any other CVT, with engine torque going through a torque converter (just like Toyota and Honda CVTs, Proton’s Punch CVT uses a clutch pack) and into the input pulley, before being transferred to the output pulley via a belt and then to the wheels.

At higher speeds, the D-CVT goes into the split mode, engaging the gear drive to provide more efficient power transmission (less energy loss), while the rotation to the belt drive is decreased significantly. In the Ativa, D-CVT gets a manual mode with seven virtual ratios, but that has been omitted here. More on the D-CVT here.

Fast but not furious

Can’t quite picture how it works? It doesn’t matter, because you will definitely feel the difference if you have experience with the 4AT. Immediately, the Myvi feels a lot more effortless to drive around town, and many would be surprised at how easy it is to get up to highway speed. Now, we wouldn’t say that the 4AT was guilty in holding the Myvi’s performance back – the king didn’t get its rep for being slow – but you do feel significantly less resistance with the CVT. The powertrain feels “lighter”, so to speak.

The pleasant surprises don’t stop once you get up to 110 km/h. The new Myvi’s unchanged 1.5L engine ticks at just below 2,000 rpm at our highway speed limit, which is impressively low, almost like a turbocharged car with a many-speed gearbox. We checked, and the pre-facelift 1.5L with the 4AT turns at 2,750 rpm at 110 km/h. That’s a huge difference for the same engine, and it translates to a more relaxed engine state with reduced buzz. A big boon on long distance drives.

If the NVH levels of the new Myvi seems better, 100% of the contribution is from the gearbox swap, as no other specific NVH measures were made. This also means that when it rains, the water splashing sound from the rear wheel well – first timers might be alarmed, thinking that there’s a leak somewhere – is carried over.

The powertrain has a newfound calmness at a cruise, but when it’s overtaking time, “in-gear” acceleration is very good, more effortless than before. Once again, that “lightness” comes to the fore.

Now, Perodua claims that with the D-CVT, the Myvi is a whopping 20% quicker in the 0-100 km/h sprint, which now stands at 11.5 seconds for the 1.3L and 10.2 seconds for the 1.5L. In practice, and certainly when on the move (rolling start), it feels like a quicker car than 10.2s suggests. And that’s before using the “Power” button on the steering wheel for 1.5L models. Like on the Ativa, pressing this gives you access to maximum engine power. We didn’t really need it.

Another big claim to complete the win-win is the 5% better fuel economy for the CVT versus the 4AT – the 1.3L now has a claimed combined FC figure of 22.2 km/l (from 21.1 km/l) while the 1.5L is good for 21.1 km/l (from 20.1 km/l).

We managed to meet the 1.3L’s claim in our 1.5L without trying too hard (90-110 km/h), and while that was on a long highway cruise (another motorway stint with less restraint saw us get 19 km/l), I’d wager that 16-17 km/l would be achievable in mixed driving with some traffic thrown in. We’ll have to confirm this with a daily urban commute test, but the Myvi FL’s cruising economy is fantastic.

Bear in mind that while the CVT has elevated the Myvi’s FC, it’s coming from a good base. Even with the 4AT, the Myvi was well ahead of the Proton Iriz in efficiency, and it’s down to the carryover DOHC, Dual VVT-i NR engines, which are modern and current. The 1NR-VE 1.3L puts out 94 hp and 121 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, while the 2NR-VE 1.5L makes 102 hp and 136 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. Both have Eco Idle auto start-stop.

How does D-CVT compare to others?

It recently dawned on me that the CVT – which is a bad word among some car enthusiasts – is actually the dominant automatic gearbox in our parts. Given that manual passenger cars sell in the handfuls, CVT is the majority car gearbox, full stop. Not in the US or Europe, but certainly so in ASEAN.

Think about it. The Southeast Asian auto market is dominated by Japanese brands, and for the likes of Toyota, Honda and Nissan, the CVT is the default transmission, at least for compact passenger cars. Honda Malaysia’s entire range – from City Hatchback to Accord – is CVT-only, and UMW Toyota’s local line-up is CVT all the way to the C-segment. The Nissan Almera made the switch to CVT for the N18 generation. The Proton Iriz/Persona has been CVT since day one.

With the market leader and the best-selling model in the country going CVT, the stepless auto is now the undisputed majority gearbox in Malaysia – so, if you’re still viewing it as an “alternative” gearbox, you’re either living in the past or belong to the kayangan class because CVTs aren’t a thing in the premium segment. As for the rest of us, get used to it if you haven’t already done so.

The Honda City, Toyota Vios/Yaris, Nissan Almera and Proton Iriz all use CVTs

But not all CVTs work and feel the same. In practice, the D-CVT is much like a CVT of today, which means it’s linear and responsive, even if it does not mimic a regular torque converter auto’s stepped feel like some Toyota CVTs.

If you’re coming from a Proton CVT, congratulations on the quantum leap. While much improved in the response department compared to early iterations, the Punch CVT in the latest Iriz/Persona still leaves much to be desired. It’s particularly poor at a highway cruise, where the engine is kept buzzing according to the travelling speed; you’ll hear it and feel the vibes on the steering wheel, which gets tiring. Where the Proton is highly strung, the Myvi is calm and rested below 2,000 rpm.

Of course, if you stomp on the pedal, the engine will react with a loud scream. That’s just nature and I personally feel that this is overemphasised when it comes to CVTs – don’t ATs make loud noises at kickdown? In any case, having a progressive right foot and preserving momentum rewards you with swift and serene progress.

Simply red

Red is a sporty colour if there’s one, a colour that symbolises passion. You’d better be a fan of red if you want the top Myvi AV though, and we’re not even talking about the AV-exclusive Cranberry Red exterior paint, which looks good. That’s because the range topper’s cabin is very red, and there’s no way to opt out of it.

You’ll find red on the air con surrounds, meter panel and seats. Large swathes of the latter are in red (almost like red seats with black accents!) and it’s a very bright “Ferrari” tone too, replicated on the rear bench. We can imagine the look to be a bit loud for some.

If that’s you, the 1.3 G, 1.5 X and 1.5 H have largely black cabins (G and X have hints of maroon on the seat sides) and a monochrome meter panel. Unfortunately you can’t have all the AV’s goodies without the red seats, unless you pay extra for GearUp seat covers.

The standard instrument panel is new and taken from the base Ativa. The monochrome twin-dial cluster sports a larger multi-info display and is an upgrade on the pre-facelift’s blue-themed item, but the AV-exclusive meter panel is on another level.

This new meter sees the return of the Optitron style, which is always illuminated but looks blacked out when the car is off (electroluminescent gauges was phased out in the second-generation facelift in 2015). The red theme and sporty graphics remind us of the 2011 “Lagi Power, Lagi Best” Myvi SE cluster and between the dials is a full-height colour TFT multi-info display.

The MID’s graphics are sharp and there’s plenty of information plus a welcome graphic with the Myvi’s face. I really like the addition of an instantaneous fuel consumption bar and a “drive info” summary of the trip when you turn off the car. Showing the distance, time and average FC of your trip, this is something that even the Ativa doesn’t have. Creatively, the concentric rings that cut into the MID’s sides function as an eco indicator.

Objectively, the stylised fonts don’t do much for legibility, but I love this new instrument panel. It’s feature-packed, there’s a nice layering to the surface (check it out from the side, the glossy-ringed dials are set forward) and the slick MID gives a whiff of high tech.

Small changes, big impact

The touchscreen head unit is larger and features the Ativa’s UI (no Apple CarPlay and Android Auto for now, Perodua will explore these for future products), but for me, the revamped air con controls make a bigger difference. Identical at a glance, P2 has introduced an OFF button that should have been in the G3 from the start. Before this, you’d have to keep pressing the fan down button to switch off the AC, but it’s a single press now.

The novel and useful AC memory – which debut in the G3 Myvi and is now also in the Aruz and Ativa – is still here, but you now jog through the two positions with a single MEM button (used to be two buttons, one slot made way for OFF). Making improvements based on user feedback is laudable. The wing mirrors now auto fold when the car is locked/unlocked (1.5L models, control panel from the Ativa), and this is sure to be appreciated by owners, too.

There’s also a new steering wheel, again taken from the Ativa. It’s looks more modern and features some new-to-Myvi buttons, but a few blanks as well, even on the ACC-equipped AV. Seems churlish to complain about this though, given the high content-to-price ratio.

Other points remain. At its lowest point, the driver’s seat will still be too high for some, and it’s smaller and less supportive than the Iriz’s chair. I got used to the high perch when I owned the G3, but not so much the impaired visibility from the driver’s side A-pillar, apparent in bends. The Iriz, with its quarter windows, doesn’t have this issue.

High marks for practicality. The full range of homegrown features continue to be here: the built-in SmartTag (H and AV), handbag hook, USB charger + phone slot on the driver’s seat side and tapau hooks integrated into the seat backs. It’s easy to take these little convenience touches for granted, and you’ll probably miss them when you move on. The Ativa gets none of the above, by the way.

Myvi or Ativa?

If this wasn’t a particularly loud question before, it certainly will be heard more often now. Because with this facelift, the Myvi has seen a jump in both equipment and price, taking things to within a whisker of the Ativa’s base price (Myvi AV RM58,800, Ativa X RM61,500). Of course, one has an SUV body and a turbo engine, but the Myvi counters with full kit and ADAS features that only the RM71,200 Ativa AV gets.

Having used a G3 Myvi for one and a half years before swapping it for the Ativa AV, here are some personal observations that go beyond the usual price/kit/value debate.

The Ativa feels like a very different car from behind the wheel, and that’s because that wheel is set a fair bit higher – unlike some B-segment crossovers, you get a relatively high perch in P2’s SUV, accentuated by tall sides (shallow windows). Other than the occasional idling vibration (a three-cylinder thing, but much less severe than in the Axia/Bezza), the Ativa has significantly better insulation and rolling refinement than its stablemate. Contributing to that cause are high-end touring tyres.

If the Myvi is more effortless in getting up to highway speed than before, then the Ativa’s acceleration is even more deceptive, perhaps via a combo of turbo torque and the better refinement. Because of this, the Myvi might feel faster, although I doubt it actually is.

The cheaper car isn’t fully outclassed though; it even betters the Ativa in certain areas. Space and practicality, for one. While the Ativa’s 2,525 mm wheelbase is 25 mm longer than the Myvi, rear passengers in the lower car enjoy better legroom and bigger windows to peer out of. Having an armrest means Ativa owners will have to forgo the Myvi’s front seat side features/pockets, but there’s no excuse for not having the integrated takeaway hooks. Mr.DIY offers a cheap but ugly fix.

The Ativa misses out on the handbag hook, side USB charger/pockets, tapau hooks and built-in SmartTag

If you’re a cost conscious motorist looking for the best fuel economy, the Myvi is the clear choice here, especially with the CVT onboard. Driven gently in an urban setting, I’m getting 14+ km/l max on the Ativa, and with less care, it can dip to 11-12 km/l. I’ve yet to go on a long journey, but it won’t be coming close to the 22 km/l we managed to squeeze from the D51A. I’m jealous.

Would I still have gone for the Ativa if the facelifted Myvi AV was available earlier? Yes, because I had a Myvi and wanted something different. I love the Ativa’s square cut shape, that LR Discovery Sport-style inverse C-pillar and quirky dashboard full of sharp angles and geometric accents (matches the dial of Seiko’s Presage Sharp Edged series, watch guys). It’s no Mazda-style cookie cutter organic design – which MG and seemingly hundreds of other Chinese SUVs have reproduced – and it appears tougher than it is.

The Ativa is a more premium product and feels that bit more special. But the Myvi is at its best ever level now, and the AV – with all that kit and safety, plus superior FC – looks really good next to the kosong Ativa X. If I had a strict budget of RM60k, it will go to the Myvi – how about you?

A no-brainer

The reason for the Myvi’s success is that it’s a no-brainer of a car. It does most things very well for most people, and the only reason someone would opt for an alternative – like an Iriz – is because they want to be different. Driving pleasure, you say. Perhaps, but unless you carve B-road corners as a day job, you’ll be stuck with a poorer car 95% of the time.

And that’s before Perodua stepped on the gas with this facelift. The new gearbox may be just one bullet point on the brochure, but the CVT completely changes the Myvi’s driving character, while boosting performance and economy for a win-win. As for safety, the G3 was already unchallenged in its price bracket (and beyond); with ACC and LKC – supported by ASA 3.0, BSM, RCTA, AHB and LDW/LDP – the Myvi is now on a completely different plane. And it now has LED daytime running lights!

So many people cannot be wrong. The no-brainer has gotten better.

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Myvi 1.5 AV in Cranberry Red

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Huck Phin on Dec 16, 2021 at 10:32 pm

The Myvi’s rear seats … specifically the transition between the seat base and seat back always bothers me. Maybe because I’m skinny.

Regarding Ativa vs Myvi and refinement, the thing I consider is that the next generation Myvi can possibly be as refined as the Ativa.

• kadajawi on Dec 17, 2021 at 8:24 am

PT Danny hitted the nail on its head. If you opted for Iriz , you’ll be stuck with a poorer car 95% of the time. myvi is a simbol of People’s Hope , inikalilah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 25
      • Make Malaysia Great Again on Dec 17, 2021 at 4:49 pm

If Myvi is symbol of People’s Hope I really feel sorry the People have so little to hope for. As Malaysians we should aim to be better and aim higher, settling for Myvi is just endemic of our acceptance of mediocrity and the reason why we are soon to surpassed by our once poorer neighbours.

I say NO! To reach our Wawasan 2020, we mustn’t settle for Myvi, we must reach higher and aim for better cars. Go for X50, X70, City, Vios, Merc, Bimmer but never settle for a Perodua!

Malaysians must stand tall again and not settle for Myvi! It is time to make Malaysia great again! If we want to be a 1st world income nation, Perodua must DIE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 45
        • Celup King on Dec 18, 2021 at 7:53 pm

You putting X50, X70, City, Vios at the same level with Bimmer & Merc means you’re nuts. You talking about wawasan 2020 when it’s almost 2022, shows that you’re nuts beyond recovery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 8
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 20, 2021 at 2:15 pm

Read properly, MMGA is telling us to aim for better cars so we shd aspire higher, shoot for Mers & Beems, never contend with poor P2s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
          • Celup King on Dec 21, 2021 at 8:28 pm

You yourself read properly la.. What for MMGA want to put X50, X70, City, Vios, Bimmer & Merc together in one phrase as if they’re equal.. If want to aspire to luxury models, just mention only the luxury brands lah.. Even Toyota & Nissan use different brand names (Lexus, Infiniti) for their luxury models to compete & be compared against Bimmer & Merc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 18, 2021 at 9:36 pm

Jgn bimbang. Nilai limo buatan tempatan kita dah naik sampai kjaan dpt jimat dua lapan puluh sebulan utk setiap MPV mewah yg dipakai oleh mentri.. Kita memang sedang menuju ke matlamat MMGA!

• Axia motorist association on Dec 18, 2021 at 12:01 pm

Incorrect. Axia is always peoples hope

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • We deserve better. on Dec 16, 2021 at 10:38 pm

The touchscreen head unit looks cheap… Surely someone will said can change outside with other brand android player. But mind you, for 60k and with accumulated 1mil plus sales, can they (Perodua) give to us something better? Tepuk dada tanya selera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
    • Oh my Gawd! Your right! It looks like a 2010 android phone smashed into the dashboard and they call it job done. Even far cheaper Saga had modern looking & functional floating HU. Myvi really is no brainer coz you really have to be brainless to go for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • YB Albert on Dec 17, 2021 at 2:01 pm

You are absolutely correct.Perodua,reportedly spent 50 juta to facelift the Myvi.
      With such premium pricing for a super subcompact,P2 can easily recoup the “investment” due to blockbuster support from hardcore diehard fanboys ,who are willing to wait 4 months past CNY 2022.
      P2 is not giving back to the fanboys by lowering its price and giving a better touchscreen.
      Just very “UNkeluarga” of perodua. Perhaps some fanboys should pay a visit to Proton showrooms to get a proper sedan like Persona with similar price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Raja Kamarul on Dec 16, 2021 at 11:12 pm

Yes, Danny. That’s exactly right what you said about the car being spacious, economical, reliable and that’s what the masses need. Proton once had the tagline “It’s In The Drive”; nothing wrong with that, but for people like me, give me a car that looks decent (as opposed to good looking, which is what I think the Iriz is), gives me a lot of mile per tankful (the early CamPro engines were awful) and reliable, I am there. It doesn’t excite me that a car corners on rails, or that it is the fastest to 100km/h.

I remember saying to my Proton engineer friend that Proton was trying too hard. When the best selling car by a mile did not bother with speed or cornering ability (in the earlier versions of the Myvi), then that is what the market wants. Replicate that and you have a competition. Boost that with great handling and looks to kill and you have a winner. All the brouhaha about Proton’s ride and handling meant nothing to the 1.3 million people who bought the car. Proton was too distracted by being a better car in the wrong areas. And they were not that good at it either.

The reasons above are the same reasons in the pre-national car days that the Sunny was the market leader. The best selling cars in the world always do well in areas that mattered to the market, not use it to feed their egos – I am looking at you, Mahaleel and Mahathir.

Well done, Myvi. Long live the King.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 7
    • John Gagal on Dec 17, 2021 at 8:18 am

Delusional arrogance is what killed Proton. BMW of Asia? Please lah.

Remember Gen2 without the glove box? Not to mention the stubborn signal stalk on left side till today.

Simply pathetic and deserved to be sold off to Geely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
      • Am a left hander so no problem on Dec 17, 2021 at 8:37 pm

You either do things with right or left hand, why must there be a specific side for things? All European cars or the ones that have signal shifter on the left are skewed you mean? My gawd maybe you’re just a one dimensional right hander…

• Calvin on Dec 18, 2021 at 12:26 am

They were at least independent for the many years in between. Perodua were never independent since day 1. What is so proud to be living on crutches all these while?

• vomitt on Dec 17, 2021 at 9:41 am

Sorry but it is too boring to read till end

• I doubt the real car is as good as it was written here. You can clearly tell it is a fanboy gushing rather than an objective review.

He grasp at straws trying to find a comparison, pitting with Proton hatchbacks that are not even with the same segments; Savvy (A segment), Suprima (C segment), SN (3 door hatch). Iriz was a car that came and gave a good fight to Myvi G2 that lead Perodua giving so much for G3. Without Iriz, will Perodua give this much to talk about?

He talks about safety, but up til the facelift P2 did not include the most basic safety feature: Daytime Running Lights DRL. Even Ativa comes without DRL. What is this nonsense about prioritising safety then?

He talks about engine performance but 10.2 secs is seriously lethargic, no matter how much the writer try to spin it. Its just bad. Going faster would dent its remarkably unattainable superb fuel efficiency. So its either this or that. What about the mess in the engine bay, even cheap Saga has a proper looking cover for it?

He glosses over the poke eye red interior, and the inconsistent red highlights between front & rear seats. No mention on the smallish cheap looking headunit either, Saga does a better job. High marks on practicality when seating position suxks to max? Really?

Skips over the bad points but writing column inches of the good points which some aren’t even good at all. Is this what they called journalism nowadays?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 19
      • OP Chong on Dec 17, 2021 at 3:15 pm

DRL as a safety feature? Wow which cave have you been hiding in, dude? Is this what they call intelligent critique nowadays?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Spin Too Much on Dec 18, 2021 at 7:30 pm

Wow if you’re that lazy to source info, here i gip;

The daytime running light was first mandated, and safety benefits first perceived, in Scandinavian countries where it is persistently dark during the winter season.

European Union Directive 2008/89/EC required all passenger cars and small delivery vans first type approved on or after 7 February 2011 in the EU to come equipped with daytime running lights.

• Safety First on Dec 18, 2021 at 10:06 pm

Compared to any mode of headlamp operation to produce the daytime running light, functionally dedicated DRLs maximize the potential benefits in safety performance, glare, motorcycle masking, and other potential drawbacks

• Jeremy on Dec 17, 2021 at 10:41 pm

Saga is ketuanan geely china. And myvi is ketuanan panglima jepon.. so xde masalah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • Spin Too Much on Dec 18, 2021 at 7:26 pm

Saga is born & bred in Malaysia noob. It was never a Geely model ever.

• History Bender on Dec 19, 2021 at 11:48 am

U do realise ur panglima jepon once conquered our country & enslaved our pipul aite?

• Panglima Kiri Kanan on Dec 17, 2021 at 1:32 pm

First of all, “beauty on the eye of the beholder” so your opinion on the Iriz look is very subjective. Second, “Proton was too distracted by being a better car in the wrong areas. And they were not that good at it either..” also is not entirely true, if they are not that good, why the heck their car used in rallies and winning at it?

You’re opinion is not the opinion of the masses. You can’t possibly say that all those 1.3 million people who bought Myvi have the same opinion. I bet most of them only bought Myvi because of how it looks. Do you really think that if you ask them about the features they’ll know about it through and through?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
      • Raja Kamarul on Dec 17, 2021 at 3:24 pm

Agreed on the beauty part. I did not say the Iriz was the most beautiful, nor did I say Myvi was ugly.

Now where did I say 1.3 million people have the same opinion? 1.3 million people bought the Myvi for one reason or another, not because it was the perfect car. I know I buy my cars because they ticked most of the boxes, not all of them. There is no prefect car.

Being “not that good” means someone is good at it and can be better. No team wins a league with no goals conceded. You brought in rallies, and I’m in stitches. Yes, rally wins are great! Good for PR, good for brand recognition but if you know rallying, you’ll know the cars are not quite the ones you see on the showroom floor. And last I checked, Perodua was doing better than Proton and they have not won rallies in recent times. Proton is catching up, to be fair.

Maybe your name suggests it all. You want to be in the left and in the right at the same time…

• Panglima Kiri Kanan on Dec 19, 2021 at 9:29 pm

I agree there’s no perfect car for an individual.

“but if you know rallying, you’ll know the cars are not quite the ones you see on the showroom floor”, yes I know that and I bet you also know that the difference in showroom car and rally car is probably not that much so that’s why you use the word “quite”.

“Maybe your name suggests it all”, if you hadn’t notice, unlike your comment, I did not say anything bad about Perodua (yet) nor Proton, in fact I owned a couple of Perodua. I don’t understand people want to compare them all the time and most importantly, if you want to praise any of them, why the need to say bad things about the other? Rival salesmen?

• Avenger on Dec 20, 2021 at 2:18 pm

You hitted the nail on its head. All these praises are coming from fanboys & salesmen trolling here.

• Yohanes Martino on Dec 16, 2021 at 11:22 pm

Fun fact : the instrument panel of the highest trim of the Perodua Myvi is taken from the Daihatsu Xenia 3rd generation in Indonesia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Truth on Dec 17, 2021 at 12:17 am

people are buying this crap burukdua myvi because of price factor….try price the yaris and jazz/city hatch similiar similiar and u will know the results

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 37
    • iThink on Dec 17, 2021 at 8:26 am

Ady try. Colleague’s Honda Jazz Grocer 2nd row, less comfortable and alot rattling noise.
      Feels like a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • tintur palo pagigiliman on Dec 17, 2021 at 7:35 pm

It’s impossible to believe a story from someone who doesn’t own a Proton. It’s a 100 times more believable when it’s from someone who own at least a 2 year old model from both brand. You know what I own? A 1.0 Bezza. It’s only 3 years old, entering it’s 4th next year. Now let me ask you, is it normal for a 3 year old modern car to have a belting sound when the aircond is turned on? For it to be a fuel guzzler; 13-14km/l far from the claimed FC? To have rattling sound on the dashboard … well, this one might be my own fault by D.I.Y.-ing the sound system. The mileage is only 10k/year and 90% city drive. Enlighten me with your wisdom please.

• Contradiction on Dec 20, 2021 at 2:44 pm

You already said yourself that you drive in the city 90% of the time & you expect great fuel economy in all that stop start traffic? And it gets worse with the lower power smaller engine with heavier bigger sedan body combo, and the torque converter slippage of the 4AT.

• tintur palo pagigiliman on Dec 21, 2021 at 3:10 pm

Man oh man.. you should go to Perodua website and select Bezza model. Then go to “efficiency” and tell me are there any disclaimer there saying the fuel consumption varies by driving condition? None! Especially the 1.0 version don’t have any star(*) on it. That gives a gullible me something to protest about. You know there’s always some kind of “disclaimer” or “term & condition” for this kind of thing, right? So, by not putting any of than on their website, it almost like Perodua giving us the guarantee FC.

• Celup King on Dec 17, 2021 at 9:01 am

Myvi is king. I, the king, have spoken.

• IKBAL on Dec 17, 2021 at 9:09 am

Nice try. But we all know that is not a reality.

• newme on Dec 17, 2021 at 9:21 am

If price is the biggest factor, people would rush to get the saga plus the boot or even the Iriz. Why people don’t do that?

• Ruslan Bahari on Dec 17, 2021 at 9:57 am

It isn’t merely price. There are plenty of reasons to like the Myvi and 1.3 millin peopel can’t be wrong. There are of course plenty of reasons to dislike it as well, as there are for Yaris/City HB (for me the Yaris looks like a tikus mondok with a front that is too busy, and the City’s front end isn’t to my liking either). For Myvi, I wish the NVH was better (I would swap it for the some of tech conveniences such as auto high beam or adaptive cruise control). I also wished the facelift came with new rims (that it remained the same seems lazy to me).

To each his own.

• Afeeq on Dec 17, 2021 at 2:54 am

That first picture, damn those condos are ugly. Looks so cramped and soulless like those high rises in Hong Kong. Human sardine cans. Nice car though to contrast with it.

• The picture is apt. The ugliness of those condos reflect on the ugly interior and hideously cheap HU.

• Reality of city living nowadays, people can no longer afford to live on land, at least the Myvi is still affordable enough.

• Afeeq on Dec 17, 2021 at 5:10 pm

Yea but Malaysia has so much extra land. Singapore is very restricted land wise but their HDBs are nice looking.

• newme on Dec 17, 2021 at 9:23 am

Ugly condo? Looking down on poor people? Karma bro, karma.

• Afeeq on Dec 17, 2021 at 5:07 pm

What? Ugly condos/buildings are not reserved for poor people only. Plenty of low cost flats and condos that look very nice.

• Whatever it is, it is still a myvi

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 17, 2021 at 10:42 am

looking at the size of some of the new condos (really should be called pigeon holes) we are not much better than hongkies

• Myvi is always at the heart of Malaysian. Simple, Practical and Reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • iThink on Dec 17, 2021 at 7:04 am

Fun, efficient, self driving Myvi King

• When everybody has myvi you are not standing out anymore

• iThink on Dec 17, 2021 at 2:51 pm

Your statement is good for Collection Grade Car.

Non-collection grade, less sales = more problems, less parts, less used car value kena tekan when trade in. Myvi like many other cars aren’t collection grade, but Fun and Efficient, relax and easy happy.

• Fun? it’s a joke of the year

• Not just rebadging but shortchanging too on Dec 17, 2021 at 8:22 pm

Efficient? No doubt about it.
      Self driving? Driver assisting features is more precise.
      Fun? You mean the fun of having the same car with everybody from basically most of the demography?

They’ve been shortchanging us for decades, they can offer us more when they’re holding back just like some of the distributors here, it’s about time to up their game and stop the toothpaste squeezing improvement strategy.

• It is time to learn from other manufacturers to have ordinary and premium brand, T0yota & Lexus, Honda and Acura, Nissan and Infiniti, Citroen and DS, etc.

Now, it still stay at stage where only those not afford for better car will choose P1 or P2. If a brand want to be success, must have other brand to cover premium side so that those with budget willing to spend money to buy these cars.

• Cheah Wai Loon on Dec 17, 2021 at 8:10 am

Most Perodua drivers be it in Myvi, Axia, Bezza or Alza are speed demons driving well exceeding 120kph on highways with a speed limit of 110kph! They should drive on the Autobahn instead!

• Pro Interior Designer on Dec 17, 2021 at 10:01 am

Which 1diot perodua hired for the interior design? red accent in a blue myvi? dumb

• 4musa73 on Dec 17, 2021 at 10:50 am

OCD in the km/h meter triggered. should have evenly placed the speed. i find the 140 to 220 cramped.

• to ton toton on Dec 17, 2021 at 11:02 am

Is this article about the Myvi or is it about bashing Iriz?

• Perodua did and continues to do an amazing job at offering autonomous safety features and ADAS assists at this price point. Hopefully other manufacturers wake up and realize that Malaysians aren’t stupid and that these features are supposed to be included with the way our car prices are.

• Spin Too Much on Dec 18, 2021 at 2:05 pm

They only offer ADAS on the top range spec which itself is way to pricey for the segment.

• Haidi on Dec 17, 2021 at 12:13 pm

The seat… Maroon / dark red is okay. But this red to too sharp.

• Agreed, not everyone wants a “racer boy” striking red-colored look. I’d be happy with just pure black.

• Curious on Dec 17, 2021 at 12:41 pm

if buy Iris, RV drop by 50% after 2 yrs, if buy King of the road only drop 20%

• thefact on Dec 17, 2021 at 12:41 pm

no comments at all on the ACC and the safety systems? did you even try it? thats the biggest change no from the previous G3? i mean the entire review is about FC, CVT, mem button, teh tarik hooks. :D

• tq p2 for mismatching the colour of the seats. We, auto accessories shop appreciate it fully. WE WILL FIX IT. Very considerate of u..

• front end somehow reminds me of hyundai elantra ad facelift 2019

• Is this car suitable for old people?

• Car Phreak on Dec 26, 2021 at 10:59 pm

Decent car from P2 tech wise but off course the NVH is bad.

Adding the safety tech doesn’t really cost that much really.

Just shows a sad state of affairs in bolehland

• 1.3 millions of people buy Myvi because they got no choice to buy a proper car at RM50K to travel from point A to point B. My family bought two Myvis in year 2007 and 2011. Even my wife bought 3rd generation 2017 model.

After working for nearly a decade, I decided not to get Myvi anymore as safety is an important aspect, the chances of surviving in a direct impact from other reckless driver is much lower than a Proton or Toyota. Is time to change and we can see Perodua deliver 30% lesser cars in year 2021.

• IMO, New Myvi’s seat is not comfortable for me, the colour and design is very dissappointed. It will become a perfect car for me if it has iriz seat and beautiful sporty design.. my 2nd gen myvi is better and comfort wise love it. Also, the engine noise is quite loud.. But the keep lane assist is very helpful, however, i will not practice myself to rely on the ADAS because Im not confident with the system integrity itself. Dont let the Safety feature affect your driving style. ALWAYS rejuvenate and replenish our body condition before driving to prevent microsleep. So, Iriz is my choice this time. Sorry KING, sometimes it is just a KING of accident. Not KING of stability, handling/cornering, comfort, basic safety, aircond, infotainment, and price!! Iriz 2022 should be a winner this time after trying test drive.