Half a month’s rain in just two hours in KL caused yesterday’s floods, govt seeking long-term solutions

The scenes from yesterday’s floods in the Klang Valley were dramatic, showing high waters and stranded cars at Kuchai Lama, Kesas Highway and KL city centre car parks, among other spots. Felt like just another rainy day initially, since we seem to be in such a “season” now, but water levels rose so suddenly.

Turns out that yesterday’s rainfall was super heavy – up to half a month’s worth of rain crashed down in just two hours, overwhelming our drainage and spilling over everywhere.

According to environment and water minister Datuk Seri Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man, the Taman Desa SMART station and Air Panas station recorded rainfall readings of 106.5 mm and 155 mm respectively, two hours after the rain started at about 2.30pm. Ministry secretary-general Datuk Seri Zaini Ujang said that KL on average sees 2,500 mm of rain in a year, which translates to an average of 208 mm a month.

“The floods were caused by unusually heavy rains over a period of two hours, causing the existing drainage system to be unable to contain the high water flow capacity. Rain is now unpredictable, usually the monsoon season is at the end of the year, but now we are seeing rain falling in March. Usually in March, there is a drought,” he said at a press conference yesterday night, covered by Malay Mail.

“This is the direct effects of climate change that is happening, and because of that we are trying to give our full attention to long-term solutions,” the Kubang Kerian MP added.

Tuan Ibrahim said that his ministry has requested RM393 billion for long-term solutions to mitigate floods in the country. In January, the minister told parliament that Malaysia would need to spend over RM300 billion for flood mitigation measures over a 50 year period — including the building of embankments and dykes.

Have you bought special perils/flood auto insurance coverage? It’s an extra cost option that’s not default, but it’s good to have in such unpredictable weather – otherwise, you’re on your own if the unfortunate happens. Check out our guide on special perils insurance. Drive safe.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Yawnn….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Inb4 Sydney also got epic flooded, so before anyone starts the blame game….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 71
  • Brian on Mar 08, 2022 at 11:52 am

No one can stop climate change so the only solution is this
    https://paultan.org/2022/03/04/klang-valley-braced-for-flash-floods-now-is-the-time-to-opt-for-special-perils-auto-insurance-coverage/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Kinte Kunta on Mar 08, 2022 at 1:39 pm

Climate change is one thing,no doubt.
      However,many moons ago ,they say STORM tunnel will alleviate floods,remember?
      Perhaps,the lobbyists will be pushing for 5 more storm tunnels which are just money pits,with mega projects status.
      IT is an unfortunate combination of factors..clogged drainage,poor landscaping,horrendous rain volume,overdevelopment etc.
      NO politican have any clues.All, they say is “kami akan memantau”.
      So the poor rakyat has to do one thing..get flood and special peril insurance and avoid being at the wrong place at wrong time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 73
      • Copy Paste on Mar 09, 2022 at 12:41 am

Copy paste: “Am sure you’d be the PM that hires Raja Bomoh as minister responsible to stop heavy rain from falling.”

• Brian on Mar 09, 2022 at 1:58 am

Don’t believe Paultan? Then trust CNN
        https://paultan.org/2016/12/30/smart-is-one-of-the-worlds-greatest-tunnels-cnn/

• Hey hey hey… What climate change are you talking about ? Our Minister of Environment openly told us that Malaysia is not vulnerable to climate change last year. Have you forgotten that ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 09, 2022 at 8:12 am

Last year different Gomen this year different Gomen. Can we blame PH Gomen because they put those MPs on the bench to be ministers?

• Kantoi But Still Wanna Defend on Mar 09, 2022 at 9:02 am

Hey hey hey… suddenly people believe what our minister say ehh?

• RyanT on Mar 08, 2022 at 12:28 pm

None of the minister is responsible for this as usual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Aura89 on Mar 08, 2022 at 12:59 pm

I’d love to see ScoMo or NSW Govnor take responsibility first for the Sydney floods before we demand for the minister here.
      1st World countries should be an example to us right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 81
      • Malaysia Boleh! on Mar 08, 2022 at 3:34 pm

Well, third world country Malaysia have flood every year. What is the solution so far?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • Aura89 on Mar 08, 2022 at 11:56 pm

Europe has bitter winter that kills every year. If Europe is accepting this and living with it, what is need for solution so far?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 61
    • Am sure you’d be the PM that hires Raja Bomoh as minister responsible to stop heavy rain from falling.

• Stephen on Mar 08, 2022 at 1:13 pm

we should only learn “good” example from 1st world countries. “bad” example shall not take as excuses to skip from government responsibility right?

if government just blame climate change & do nothing, why we need to paid them salaries?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • If you want to ape another country, you can’t pick and choose which attitudes you want and chuck which you dont like, you have to accept everything, warts & all. If First Worlds with their expensive systems can fail to predict climate change weather events, what can be expected from ours?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 50
  • kereta_lembu on Mar 08, 2022 at 4:51 pm

Attitude and mindset has nothing to do with 1st World or not. I believe the first thing for a Minister to do is to assume responsibility, be accountable and apologize to those affected and maybe to provide assistance. When tragedy happens, it is always not their fault but when good things happen, they keep reminding us that they are the ones responsible for it.

Now, they try so hard to be in the Government, so don’t tell me they just want to be praised and not judged? Good or bad, they are in charge, they need to be accountable. If they feel its too much for them to handle, they can always step down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • Ya Mentri on Mar 09, 2022 at 12:33 pm

Such an abnormal weather event is an Act of God. If God does not come down and assume responsibility, be accountable and apologize to those affected and maybe to provide assistance, why expect such from ministers or anyone who could not do anything to prevent such heavy rainfall?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • Andrekua on Mar 08, 2022 at 6:19 pm

RM393 billions request… LoL

PAS really only know how to tebang pokok and korek duit aje…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Roti Canai on Mar 09, 2022 at 12:11 pm

now we know what an arteon looks like in the flood