High-performance kapchais should be banned – PDRM

High-performance <em>kapchais</em> should be banned – PDRM

A recent video which showed a kapchai topping out at 177 km/h on a dyno has gone viral on social media, and this has caught the attention of the inspector-general of police, Tan Sri Acryl Sani Abdullah Sani. The bike in question was the newly launched 2022 Suzuki Raider R150 Fi.

According to FMT, the IGP is expressing concerns with the latest trend of low cc, high-performance motorcycles, adding that it is one of the leading causes of fatalities in road accidents. In August last year, seven out of 10 road fatalities are kapchai riders.

“This [fast kapchais] is among the largest causes of mortalities among motorcyclists and rempits,” he told the publication, while suggesting the ban of sales for these types of bikes. “Vehicles such as this should be illegal in Malaysia because there is no basis for it to do 177 km/h on the highway, considering the maximum national limit is 110 km/h,” he added.

Acryl Sani also urged the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros) to study and draft out a policy for the safety of motorcycling.

Meanwhile, the 2022 Suzuki Raider R150 Fi – launched in March – is powered by a 147.3 cc single-cylinder engine that makes 18.2 PS at 10,000 rpm and 13.8 Nm at 8,500 rpm. Power goes through a six-speed gearbox and chain final drive. The Raider is priced at RM8,173, while the Azlan Shah edition goes for RM11,988.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• newme on Apr 08, 2022 at 10:27 am

Limit them to 70cc only. That would prevent them from cilok-cilok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 22
    • Engineer on Apr 08, 2022 at 3:24 pm

It is not the engine CC, but simply physics. The only way to prevent kapchais from reaching fast speeds is to electronically limit them as how Volvo Cars are doing, yet we still see idiots complaining about it, that they cannot go fast. For gods sakes why would you want to go faster above speed limit?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • how about when u go back to your kampung? are you sure that you are follow the right speed limit? 110 in highway im not sure is relevant anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • Me standout on Apr 08, 2022 at 7:45 pm

You must be a person who drive 80km/h to talk about speed. How about light weight sedan car that has 2000cc then? It could reach up tu 240km/h. Truly said when kapcai speed is 120km/h it is equivalent to 90km/h for car. It was not rasional for you to talk this

• newme on Apr 11, 2022 at 5:20 pm

Did I say anything about speed? I am talking about cilok-cilok.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 08, 2022 at 10:43 am

Oven my old ex5 can break the speed limit. So how?

Limit all bikes and cars to 110? Communist much? Ban this, ban that. Big bikes can go well over 200. Doesn’t mean we do save for a few bad apples.

It’s the mentality of the riders that is the issue here. How is PDRM doing on catching kapchai redlight runners?

This week saw 3 accidents. All 3 were Grab riders .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
  • Then all cars capable of over 110km/h should be banned too. What an idiotic statement. The blame is on the rider, not the bike. Why should we dumb-down technology for some officer’s twisted ideology. Is there a difference riding at 177km/h on a Belang and a Gixxer?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
  • dong gor on Apr 08, 2022 at 10:51 am

what’s the problem with kapcai can go this fast? many bigger cc bikes can go more than 200kmh also no body complaint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • willie on Apr 08, 2022 at 10:58 am

banning suzuki raider wont help. its the attitude of bikers, even other kapchai heavily modified will never end. heavier penalty and operasi on regular basis. not just 1 month operasi and stop. open more race track with reasonable price for those who wants the taste of speed, let the injury or thrill happen in race track instead they have no other means but to bring danger to other road user.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Mr. Sotong on Apr 08, 2022 at 11:00 am

Trying to be hero simply asking to ban. There are many bikes that can go fast.

Blame the user, not the machine.

Besides, where is the data that shows what bikes are those involved in fatal accidents?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • akulesapelagi on Apr 08, 2022 at 11:10 am

HAHAHAHAH, funny la this Tan Sri. are you brave enough to say it to hypercar owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
  • bieight8 on Apr 08, 2022 at 11:13 am

All Kapchai should be ban and scrap and replace by electric bike with a top speed of 50kmh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
  • stranger on Apr 08, 2022 at 11:32 am

Same should apply for high-performance car? Only 110km/h car is allowed on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Kaki Saman on Apr 08, 2022 at 12:03 pm

Let’s agree with the police, with his logic that “Vehicles such as this should be illegal in Malaysia because there is no basis for it to do 177 km/h on the highway, considering the maximum national limit is 110 km/h”.

Meaning that big bikes also should be ban, any cars faster than a kancil should be ban from sales, in fact, everyone should just buy bicycle and move at 20km/h on the highway.

Please make better logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
  • Rinnegan on Apr 08, 2022 at 12:43 pm

Thanks to the IGP, Suzuki Malaysia should trend this news. Suzuki Raider: Get it be4 they illegalize it…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Yes.now i know which 150cc kapcai to buy for my rempit cravings. Tq Tan Sri

• 18.2 PS bike with average weight for the bike and rider let say 170kg can sprint 177km/h in the highway? Please go to do your study more before calling for the ban. Again illegal racing are those peoples who commit the crime but not the bike itself.

• v-tec fan on Apr 08, 2022 at 1:46 pm

than why not ban Ferrari, Lamborghini, Porsche and all those sport car. and all cycle bicycle or use public transport include those menteri and those colony. Please lah, is not the bike or the car problem. is the person behind those bike/car. if still want to ban, ban all include car, bus, lori. don’t precise double standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • LMAO abam pulis so busy nowadays with all these headline-grabbing news. When are you actually going to enforce some of these new rules you talk about?

• Abdul halim on Apr 08, 2022 at 2:34 pm

My nephew riding a kapchai was killed by a speeding bmw m3. What say you ban these car instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • He’s right but he can’t convey his point intelligently. Don’t ban something because of the speed limit. 100% cars can exceed 110kmh. I’m sure 100% bikes too.

• Mogus on Apr 08, 2022 at 3:40 pm

If they really care about safety then they should be pushing the idea of having good (and certified) motorcycle gear for every rider. You go fast or slow on a bike you could still hurt yourself in an event of an accident as compared to a car because there’s nothing to help brace you for impact to begin with. The notion that just because it’s a kapchai means they can go ride around in some non Sirim, ECE certified half face helmet with slippers and a t-shirt is ridiculous.

• Troll Hunter on Apr 08, 2022 at 6:36 pm

No world class certified motorcycle gear can save your life from a 110kmph crash. Just sayin..

• Abcdef on Apr 08, 2022 at 3:43 pm

Ridiculous

• Tommy Hng on Apr 08, 2022 at 5:13 pm

Yes, we should ban Kancil 850, too. I was cruising at 110kph and that Kancil overtook me. I doubt the 600cc model can do above 110kph. Therefore, going by the logic of our beloved IGP, all cars are to be banned except Perodua Kancil 600cc.

• My previous car was a kancil 600cc and it could do 130kmph without any modifications. So our only option is cycling and public transport.

• phatcat on Apr 09, 2022 at 9:54 pm

I have Kancil 660cc, the steering will shaken terribly at 90km/h. It’s the perfect daily car to be used as IGP official car.

• Then banned the car that can speed over 110 km/h , what a statement ughhh

• WWK 1581 on Apr 08, 2022 at 6:42 pm

Tan Siri: my LC special edition cannot break 150km/h, lose to this susuki, ban it!

• Ben Yap on Apr 08, 2022 at 8:12 pm

the IGP mentality is so shallow. These kapchais are not even considered high-powered. Before IGP talking about banning these bikes, can he show the statistics of how many of the riders actually died while riding all these so called “high-powered” kapchais?

• Adam Malek Mohamad Ehsan on Apr 08, 2022 at 8:25 pm

Ha. Ha.
    Next time, the vehicle like car or lorry don’t make it with the highest cc for speed under 110km/h.
    *respond to IG comment.

• Panik on Apr 08, 2022 at 9:09 pm

Mintak tolong ban Ferrari, Bugatti, Lamborghini juga,mereka dapat over 110km/h dalam 4saat.

• Nobody got excidenr with Suzuki raider yet. Most of accident is caused by Y and H useer who use e-hailing to deliver food

• Citizen on Apr 09, 2022 at 2:01 am

Otak mana otak..??pangkat tinggi2..skola tinggi2 tapi takde otak..177km/h atas dyno takde rintangan angin.. traction tayar pun just tayar belakang dlm keadaan moto static tak bergerak atas dyno..klu mcm tu honda bulat pun ble dpt 120km/h..lgi pun mesin dyno tu ada calibration ker setiap kali buat dyno utk dpt bacaan yg tepat..??klu dah masuk atas jalan raya..ingat ble dpt ker 177km/h dlm keadaan standard..??177 tu klu sebelah dgn kereta berapa jer bacaan km/h yg sebenar..18hp atas kertas..yg sebenarnye berapa jer kuasa moto kapchai tu..takde sapa tau..klu lbih pun takkan smpi tahap kuasa superbike 600cc la..apalgi 1000cc..jauh..semua benda ko nak ban..bila nak maju..??

• Hyuhyu on Apr 09, 2022 at 5:36 am

Lol 177 km/h shown in the video is only top speed on dyno, on the road it won’t even able to reach that speed. This Tan Sri must be joking.

• eeeriz on Apr 11, 2022 at 9:28 am

Agreed. In real world, they would even struggle to get past 150kmh. 120-130 no problem… sometimes got a group of kapchais drove past me around 120++

• Abuafif on Apr 09, 2022 at 9:09 am

Only complain about the machine. When he is going to complain about the condition of thr road that causes accident too?. Pea brain.

• Justice on Apr 09, 2022 at 1:13 pm

the “kapchai” of cars perodua (a.k.a burukdua) should be banned too

• YB Sam Look on Apr 09, 2022 at 10:05 pm

Yes, Berukdua should be banned from new car buying list, simple reason is “no more manual in their lineup”

• Aimi Bt Yoshikawa on Apr 09, 2022 at 8:22 pm

AKAI TAKDAK

• Pritchard Paul on Apr 09, 2022 at 9:09 pm

Debate the issue in parliament.stop using media for personal views

• PDRM should ban the king “Myvi” first

• Communist much? on Apr 10, 2022 at 9:50 am

Better go catch Org Minyak at Seksyen 19 la my dear IGP… Still have time to play / scroll on social media? So relax ya.

Xkan legasi pencen nanti org nk ingati awk sbg org utama on banning HP kapchais? Lol~

• Dominic on Apr 10, 2022 at 8:15 pm

Its a good initiative. Good job PDRM.

• Aikon on Apr 11, 2022 at 9:15 am

Aisay, that fella never heard of ‘meter ringan’? Most kapchais have speedometers that are super over optimistic…kinda gives the rider the feeling that he is going faster than he actually is. Seriously, do a real world test lah and see how fast it actually is first lah.

• Hahaha on Apr 13, 2022 at 12:34 am

That’s obviously a modded kapchai…Even RS150 only managed 146kmj downhill on speedo not to mention GPS speed.Its about how they modded and how they upgraded the braking and handling.The only bike that capable of reaching more than 185kmj is between 250cc-500cc twin cylinders bikes.Smaller bike that are modded above 180 usually engine need to service regularly as its not meant for that kind of speed daily.

• Nordic Norm on Apr 14, 2022 at 6:51 pm

Tan Sri Acryl Sani Abdullah Sani should be banned