2022 Hari Raya: Court dates for five traffic offences

For the upcoming Hari Raya Aidilfitri period in the first week of May, five types of traffic offences cannot be compounded on Malaysian highways and roads, says Transport Minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong. The five offences in question are driving on the emergency lane, using a handphone while driving, failure to observe the red light traffic signal, queue jumping and speeding, said Wee.

Speaking during the launch of Ops Bersepadu in Putrajaya, Wee said offenders will have to appear in court to settle the non-compoundable offence, and reported by The Malay Mail. 2,000 JPJ enforcement personnel will be on duty during this period during a special operation dubbed Ops Hari Raya Aidilfitri with officers going undercover as bus passengers as well as station monitoring at 14 locations on highways.

Roadworthiness and safety of express buses will be conducted from April 25 to 28 at 75 depots and 28 main terminals across the nation. Additionally, goods vehicles are banned from Malaysian highways three days before and two days after Hari Raya AidilFitri, corresponding to April 30 to May 2, and, May 7 and 8, respectively.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• John dough on Apr 19, 2022 at 1:08 am

Lol, you’d think it’d work. But trust me majority Malaysians won’t show up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • What..... on Apr 19, 2022 at 7:53 am

Lol, u think not showing up to court is a small thing. But trust me its not small thing nor funny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Jonn Dol on Apr 20, 2022 at 12:28 am

Takleh kompaun, takleh saman tapi boleh setel. Letak RM50 sekeping bawah Lesen… jabat la tangan, sambung posa. kikiki Malu apaa

• Avenger on Apr 19, 2022 at 1:13 pm

Try not showing up, the police might just pay you a visit in the dead of night. When they do, don’t you go complaining about abuse of ur human rights and police brutality and seeking help from Pakatan for justice ya.

• Year in year out said the same stuff. Yes u summon them but they never show up in court & no action taken. Then they wait for 5-10 years later for 80% discounts to show up and then they will pay. Effective?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Avenger on Apr 19, 2022 at 1:15 pm

Festival samans are not compoundable nor discountable no matter how long you wait. Most festive samans are paid off eventually unless the person is dead or fully disabled.

• Shariff Mohd on Apr 19, 2022 at 10:51 am

Should please consider adding reckless “weaving/zigzagging” driving, unduly slow driving to the 5 offences.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Isaac on Apr 19, 2022 at 12:13 pm

People don’t simply weave/zigzag if there aren’t any lane hoggers. Only way to pass these people is to cut on the left lane.

• Avenger on Apr 19, 2022 at 1:17 pm

How to weaving/zigzagging when everyone is moving at snail pace and isn’t it unfair to every user to saman them for slow driving when the highway becomes a slow moving carpark?

• Ex VGM staff on Apr 19, 2022 at 3:03 pm

Describe slow. If you are driving 150kmh on the fast lane, and another is driving 130kmh.. is that driver considered slow and road hugging?

• Malaysian really don’t understand the RIGHT LANE is used for OVERTAKING ONLY. Doesn’t matter if you drive at 110kmh or 150 or 200. If not overtaking stay on LEFT LANE. Stick this to your brain and tell your friends about it until all Malaysian understand.