Surbana Jurong to build Southeast Asia’s largest EV charging hub in Singapore – up to 250 EVs at a time

Over in Singapore, Surbana Jurong, a government-owned consultancy company focusing on infrastructure and urban development, has announced plans to set up a public EV charging hub at its Surbana Jurong Campus, the group’s new global headquarters located in the Jurong Innovation District.

What’s unique about the project is its size – when fully completed, the on-campus charging hub is expected to be the largest in Southeast Asia, allowing up to 250 drivers to park and charge their vehicles at a time. Working together with utility company Singapore Power (SP) Group, Surbana Jurong will install a mix of nine fast and slow charging points, and will ramp up to 36 charging points within the next 18 months.

Upon completion of the initial 36 charging points, additional chargers will be installed in tandem with market demand for EVs. Drivers will be able to locate the nearest available charging point, track the charging progress and make payment via the SP mobile app.

The SP Group currently operates the country’s largest public EV network, with over 500 charging points across more than 100 locations. In 2018, it had announced plans to have that that number of charging locations up and running across the republic by 2020, of which more than 100 would be 50 kW DC fast charging points.

Surbana Jurong expects that the charging hub will meet the EV charging needs of its employees and tenants at the campus, as well as the wider EV community in the west region, and said its long-term mobility vision includes an all-electric vehicle plan for all vehicles that ply the campus.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ghani on Jun 07, 2022 at 12:09 pm

Who would go all the way there just to get a charge? Sinkies would rather cross border and come to JB makan, minum, beli, and steal electricity.

• bosskuku on Jun 07, 2022 at 4:43 pm

Don’t jelly laa U. Msia also crossover to enjoy Tomyam-pedas happy. Different was our currency much higher last time. So we are sandwiched by north and south

• SK Lim on Jun 08, 2022 at 8:57 am

Then stay in your border if you so prouding. Dumbo arseholes like you race to come over as soon as we reopen border and not even 1 week we see your monkey attitudes on display. We lived 2 years without you fools, we can live without you at all but can you live without our cheaper petrol, from the looks how you desperate to come here to pump, obviously not.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 07, 2022 at 12:10 pm

Great effort. Workable for small island that less than 60km diameter. But Im still happy with [email protected]

• 50kW is too slow.
    Latest EV flagship goes at around 150kW to 200kW, but still cannot complete charging in 30mins to 100%.

50kW…?