2022 Proton X70 MC – local content now up to 70%

The 2022 Proton X70 was launched yesterday, and with it came a new 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine option from the smaller X50. The mill marks a first for Proton in that it is now assembled at a new production line in Tanjung Malim, as part of a massive localisation programme.

As such, the main question is how much local content the X70 now carries, given that the percentage was below 50% (45%, to be exact) when the CKD model was released in early 2020. When asked about this after the media test drive, X70 vehicle chief engineer Md Fariza bin Ibrahim said the local content of the new minor change (MC) model stands at almost 70%, meeting the requirement set by the government.

Much of this comes down to the engine, which itself has 30% local content, according to powertrain deputy COO Muhamad Hasbullah bin Ismail. Proton has been steadily ramping up the number of Malaysian-made components in the X70, having already targeted an eight per cent increase from that initial 45% figure by the end of 2020. The higher local content should also help ease the waiting time for parts that has blighted the X70 since its 2018 launch, as the company will be less dependent on supplies from China.

The CKD 1.5 litre mill powers the vast majority of the new X70 lineup, which starts at RM93,900 for the 1.5 TGDi Standard and rises up to RM117,900 for the 1.5 TGDi Premium. The old 1.8 litre four-cylinder – still sourced from Geely in China – lives on in the range-topping 1.8 TGDi Premium, which is priced at RM121,800. Read our review of the car here.

GALLERY: 2022 Proton X70 1.5 TGDi Premium

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• George Tan on Jun 10, 2022 at 12:28 pm

Alright then ! , but please . Please fix the After Sales after this happens. A lot of older CKD and CBU X70s wanting their cars getting fix quick !

And i hope X50 also will get the same treatment, X50 MC1 !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • Tahniah P1! Only one true malaysian national car maker. The other is just a rebadger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
    • Kunta Kinte 2013-2020 Archives on Jun 10, 2022 at 1:59 pm

Game Over on Feb 14, 2018 at 8:40 am
      26 Feb 2016:

Discipline and Japanese ‘5S’ key to Perodua’s success
      Morita san said that Perodua plants practice Dojo, which means “home of practicing”, to maintain quality and service standards. The veteran boss explained that the company implemented a 5S workplace organisation method comprising five Japanese words – seiri (sort), seiton (set in order), seiso (shine), seiketsu (standardise) and shitsuke (sustain), to create a pleasant workplace for all.
      Such practice is part of Perodua’s initiatives in maintaining discipline, and it has turned out to be successful, Bernama quoted Morita as saying. He also advised the students to be open minded, ready to accept changes and to believe in their own ability to achieve success.
      http://paultan.org/2016/02/26/discipline-and-japanese-5s-key-to-peroduas-success/

• Bangala on Jun 10, 2022 at 6:07 pm

P2 success in which area?
        https://paultan.org/2022/01/04/perodua-2021-sales-at-190291-units-short-of-200k-target-covid-19-chip-shortage-flood-impact-cited/

Having to revise 2021 target downwards 4 TIMES(!) in ONE YEAR is not success but simply covering their own failures with shits. So what is there to Bangala with failure?

• Merrick on Jun 10, 2022 at 6:27 pm

Toyota Way is the best way, and i hope Proton can learn this…

Most Perodua models are good and reliable (even with after sales, maybe this is just me but could be depend with the owner and how they use the car and their experience with their after sales), and i hope Proton can learn from P2…

From my perspective i think the only Proton Models that is just burdening would be those Geely based models and not Saga, Iriz, Persona, and Exora (While OCH is another matter, but i hope they’ll fix that) , and i do think it has to do with how difficult to get the spare parts from China ?

In the end, Proton need to be like Toyota . Because that’s the only car company who does better with engineering (when it comes to reliability) and logistics …

And i rather be optimistic about this, i’m so done with people who thinks that P1 is a failure, but i hope Proton does better than before…

• yawnz on Jun 12, 2022 at 1:19 pm

Learn what? Toyota also have problems.
          https://paultan.org/2022/05/24/toyota-cuts-global-production-in-june/

• Merrick on Jun 12, 2022 at 8:54 pm

You were right, but then again Toyota cars are the best when it comes to both quality and reliability. Most car manufactures should learn from them, including Proton ….

Cutting Production is every car companies problem’s today’s car has a lot of microchip in them to enable electrical works not only for head display unit / entertainment …

• Same L0rr on Jun 10, 2022 at 3:45 pm

They may be a rebadger but they never burdened the rakyat unlike P1 pre-geeli!

• Yeah right thanks to P2 we are still burden with NAP protectionism and we unable to get better cars in an open market made worse the cars they sold here are wayyyy toooo overpriced. Go Indonesia and see their Rocky is just Rm 50k while Ativa is topkek RM 70k. For us to get better more value for money cars, P2 must die.

• Merrick on Jun 10, 2022 at 6:42 pm

Yeah right, P2 is great when it comes to reliability and i appreciate about it…

But they need to upscale their challenge, To build their own model other than Bezza …

Cause i’m so bored seeing Perodua as a Rebadging Company despite how reliable their cars is ….

Perodua is a Malaysian acronym for “Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua”, right…even though they are partnered up with Geely-Toyota with reliability, they also disappoint me because they don’t make their own model (Bezza is great, but come on other models please)

Oh yeah, while newer Myvi is designed by Malaysian, but unfortunately when they exported, they changing their brand and name to “Daihatsu Sirion”, oh what an Irony then …

Perodua is great and reliable car, but come on , can you guys at Perodua be independent and make your own designs by designers from Malaysia after Myvi and Bezza, and I hope that “Perodua” is not only a “Jagoh Kampung” brand but a brand known outside Malaysia (While it happened in Smaller Countries, but not bigger countries) …

• Hopefully can reach >90% by 2027.

Maju Proton.
    Prosperous Car industry for Malaysian.
    Malaysian supplier can fabricate too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • SiongSiong on Jun 10, 2022 at 5:27 pm

Mr Jon
      Maju? u kidding me ? X50 air filter also no stock for warranty servicing.
      As long as DRB handpick their own crony suppliers,u r at their mercy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Troll Hunter on Jun 10, 2022 at 6:02 pm

This guy is self admitted CRV owner and so his comments here can be ignored.

• dellen on Jun 10, 2022 at 12:37 pm

it all makes sense now

proton can only focus on 1 engine for local content. since they cannot change x50 to use 1.8, they change x70 to use 1.5

• Engineer on Jun 10, 2022 at 2:59 pm

It also helps Proton that global trend today is engine downsizing and therefore Proton followed suit.

• Auntie on Jun 10, 2022 at 3:47 pm

Yeap, and the 1.5equppied X70 inflation still less than Food price increases..

• Muhammad Najmi on Jun 10, 2022 at 6:30 pm

Well Inline 3 1.5T Motor is Engineered by Volvo, while the Inline 4 1.8T is Engineered only by Geely :V . I read it in Wikipedia , the 1.5T also known as “JLH-3G15TD”

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volvo_Engine_Architecture

• Kea Was on Jun 10, 2022 at 1:57 pm

So with more local content please price it cheaper too to match our support for the nation or is it that this local suppliers back to their no good. Don’t forget the X50 too, it does’t make any sense when the X50-RM93k with 1.5L port injection while the X70-RM93k comes with TGDI.

• Amran on Jun 12, 2022 at 10:27 am

Baru je increase localisation dah tu mintak nak cheaper price lepas tu hentam kenape proton tak dapat untung. Inilah kebodohan pembeli kereta Malaysia.

• newme on Jun 10, 2022 at 2:11 pm

Local content as the material sourced locally? or local trading companies sourcing the products from China

• china on Jun 10, 2022 at 3:17 pm

congrtas geely. thank you china for letting us producing your car with malaysian parts.

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 10, 2022 at 4:54 pm

x70 mc, just like the name, expect it to be on mc quite often

• NoArgumentHere on Jun 11, 2022 at 2:00 pm

Oh I agree.. you mean “mc” is “main car”, right?

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 12, 2022 at 4:18 pm

yea the main car always on sick leave

• Main car CRV is that problematic huh.

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 13, 2022 at 3:40 pm

well stop being a failure, sell your crv and buy a real car like the excellent volvo xc60

• China no.1 on Jun 10, 2022 at 5:44 pm

So what at the end of the day it still a car that is develop and created by china.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Vezeroth on Jun 12, 2022 at 7:27 pm

Aiyo… means quality gonna drop and price gonna increase… :/