Gov’t should increase price of RON95 by 10 or 20 sen instead of completely removing subsidies – Najib

Gov’t should increase price of RON95 by 10 or 20 sen instead of completely removing subsidies –  Najib

Former prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak has called on the Malaysian government to slightly increase the price of RON 95 petrol instead of completely abolishing fuel subsidies.

In a Facebook post, the Pekan MP sugessted that the slight increase in the price of RON 95 petrol, along with the collection of export duty from palm oil and the removal of subsidies from chicken and eggs, could see savings and revenue that can be channelled to the B40 and M40 income groups.

“It is not appropriate to fully remove subsidies on oil right now with the presently high global inflation rates at the moment. However, do not touch the price of diesel at the moment when inflation is still high as is correlates with the cost of production [and] transportation which could eventually put more pressure on the inflation rate,” Najib said.

Savings from the changes can be channelled to the B40 and M40 income groups every three months as a “cost of living” aid, suggested Najib, for as long as the inflation rate remains high.

Gov’t should increase price of RON95 by 10 or 20 sen instead of completely removing subsidies –  Najib

“The T20 folks would not bother and are not affected if prices of food shoot up, but it will be a major burden for the B40 and a majority of the M40 group. The financial aid would certainly ease pressure from the cost of food for the B40 and M40 groups,” Najib said. These suggestions were based on his belief that the current bulk subsidies only benefit the rich, he added.

“The 65% reduction for the sales of RON 97 petrol is proof that most of the rich and well-off have switched to RON 95 to enjoy the government’s subsidy. This is akin to the rich obtaining their necessities from a food bank,” he said.

Currently, the government subsidises RON 95 petrol at a rate of around RM2.50 per litre, which has been sold at the ceiling price of RM2.05 per litre since February 2021, said the former prime minister. As such, someone of the T20 income group who refuels their vehicle with 50 litres of RON95 petrol gets a subsidy of RM125 for that volume of fuel purchased, said Najib.

“If the rich fill their vehicles [with RON 95 petrol] three times a month, it means the government is providing aid of up to RM4,500 a year for them, which is much higher than the BR1M aid for the B40 and M40 [during the Najib administration],” he said.

What do you think, readers? Do you agree with the former prime minister’s observations?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 22, 2022 at 2:29 pm

No thanks laa! 1MDB was your idea Jibby!
    #BarangNaik #NotMyPM #MO1 #Justice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
    • sohai on Jun 22, 2022 at 9:50 pm

Sustainable energy, should be floating market price, for all type of petrol, diesel, and gas. Should not subsidy. DIESEL >90% subsidy go to T20+ level businessman/tauke besar/millionair who run business using Truck, Van, Bus, Lorry. WHY GOVT STILL SUBSIDY DIESEL, meaning WHY GOVT SUBSIDY T20+ BOSS MILLIONAIR LEVEL, PLS IMMEDIATE REMOVE BY TOMORROW WITHOUT FURTHER DELAY. sohai betoi …

• supporters on Jun 23, 2022 at 11:33 am

That’s the problem with current gov, even got sohai supporters support adding SST for cars. Haiz…

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 22, 2022 at 10:44 pm

Which is why this round we stick with PM Sabri Bapa Keluarga Malaysia! #BetterNation #KeluargaMalaysia #BNForTheWin

• Ex Proton Iriz Owner on Jun 23, 2022 at 12:16 pm

I can confirmed we the majority fence sitters are so sick and disappointed w the current BN gomen. Chicken and eggs, cooking oil, electricity shooting up thru the roof …I really do think us the majority who got a sane and sound mind should dump BN barang Naik, Bil naik this coming PRU15.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Logical Deduction on Jun 22, 2022 at 11:12 pm

We do fully agree with DS Najib idea to increase ron95 petrol to RM4 seliter & Remove all subsidi ayam, telur n minyak masak before PRU15. This is something BN UMNO needed to do not tomorrow but, NOW.

• Cashier on Jun 22, 2022 at 2:33 pm

T01 boses will ask the B40 worker to help to refuel,
    Simple.

Why car excise duty, import duty, SST, Petroleum income Tax, personal income tax, etc

collected

But not able to make a simple pricing transparent petrol price? Something wrong with the Central Governance Accounting?

• Finance Minister on Jun 23, 2022 at 1:51 am

Being transparent is not our culture

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Jun 23, 2022 at 11:25 am

Lapizi said he will reveal pricing mechanism and how PH will give us their promised RM 1.50/L petrol but until today still so silent. Why ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • Because BN became backdoor government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
          • Contradiction on Jun 27, 2022 at 8:22 am

Sendiri bakar rumah habis rentung lepas tu salahkan orang. Bodoh kan?

• Bossku, why don’t you return the amount of money you pillaged from the country? That’ll really help EVERYONE in the country Bossku. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • Chiron Owner on Jun 22, 2022 at 10:44 pm

Bossku doesn’t know anything. That’s why he always answered “I DON’T KNOW!!” to every question asked post-May 2018 in parliament.

• Najib on Jun 23, 2022 at 1:45 am

Cannot. How do I justify the Hermes Birkins that I purchase for my wife? Will Sabri give tax deduction if I return the money?

• Singapore household –
    B30 <sgd $7000
    B50 sgd $20,000

Malaysia?
    B40 < RM 4,850/ $1529
    B80 RM 11,000/ $3470

Household = combined family income, father ke, mother ke, etc.

Malaysia Leader keep talking subsidy, finally Malaysia T20 still 2x poorer than Singapore Poorest 30%? Yet more daily burden ratio.

Parliament should have more leadership to raise rakyat
    , Bring in more foreign investment, focus global output, To supply more business, support global economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Jennice on Jun 23, 2022 at 9:02 am

*Singapore Household
      B30 > $7000
      T50 > $11,000
      T27 > $20,000

• dong gor on Jun 22, 2022 at 3:04 pm

ah jib gor talk one is not without logic. but is the removal of ron95 subsidy only has impact on gas station?
    prices of food and other essentials would not follow suit? Answer is big NO. Everything will go up…so save the BS for ur court case la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Chris on Jun 22, 2022 at 3:05 pm

Diam la Convicted Felon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • newme on Jun 22, 2022 at 3:09 pm

“Save and spend on B40”
    How many times we hear this noble cause? Where did money ended up?
    At least with the fuel subsidy, the money is spent on the rakyat regardless rich or poor. It’s mostly Malaysians that benefitted from it and not some imaginary assistance to the “poor”. Ask any poor if they get anything extra every time a subsidy is abolished.

• Renaldi Soeryadi on Jun 22, 2022 at 3:10 pm

Why not to introduce a system that constraint Upper Middle class and Top earners to fill up RON 95? Because if you raising prices of RON 95, you are basically hurting B40 and Lower middle class in terms of increasing fuel prices that will result to more inflation, while at the same time it doesn’t hurt upper middle earners and T20 basically that much to fill RON 95 in the tank.

For me, instead rising RON 95 prices, the gov’t can give constraint to people who want to buy RON 95, for example of giving a max limit of RON 95 that people can purchase (for example 55 l max). That can not only lower the amount gov’t pay to subsidize that fuel, but also lower prices people that eligible for that to buy. But also, at least give some requirements to people ti buy that, for instance people must use certain apps to buy RON 95, or giving a max cubicle capacity of cars that eligible for. With that, I could assume that the demand for it will slightly reduced.

• UMNO Club on Jun 22, 2022 at 3:11 pm

Najib prihatin, we should make him our PM instead of Bapa Keluarga Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
  • Ruslan Bahari on Jun 22, 2022 at 3:23 pm

And you did what in your premiership in terms of addressing the free subsidy to all and sundry? Or were you busy addressing other concerns of a more personal nature?

• B40 getting more subsidized but not real salary,
    It doesn’t help thier loan approval to buy house.
    How you want to help?
    Giving fish excessively , but not teaching how to fish.

B40 also want to provide high productivity, quality productivity,
    To get more income,

Even B40 singapore can go up to $8000.
    They don’t have high burden for daily life. Productivity is high and quality. Export good service.
    Can Malaysia B40 better than Singapore poorer 30%?

It’s all depends on Malaysian Ministry Leadership, Entrepreneurship, Diplomatic skills, etc.
    Economy is not just internal circulation. Like that RM can naik ke?

All these subsidy is bullshit, taxing rich, sponsor poor, internal circulation?
    Why Malaysian so poor but singapore B40 so rich?

• Thief on Jun 22, 2022 at 3:36 pm

You already took USD4.5bil. Apa lagi lu mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Cashier on Jun 22, 2022 at 3:53 pm

Finally same like chicken, eggs, cooking oil,
    Now petrol also not subsidy.

B40 life of course is tough,
    But Singapore B40 <$8000.

What has gone wrong in Malaysia?
    Short Term – B40 need temporary direct cash subsidy,
    Long Term – B40 zero subsidy, high income.
    Only OKU, retired, deserved cash assistance.
    Lazy ppl is toxic, it pulls down Malaysian economy and culture.

Government to relook economy structure, focused on Exporting High Quality, High efficiency, Competitive Products to external.

hope we won't end up like Sri Lanka.

• He is 100% right.

But saying something right does not abolish his plunder of billions of dollars in the 1MDB fiasco.

That says something about the inaction of the current government, which is currently lead by his own party.

• I. Believe its just cooking oil, chicken and eggs that will not be subsidise.
    Gomen dare not touch fuel subsidies.

• bieight8 on Jun 22, 2022 at 4:03 pm

Just raise minimum wage to 10k per month so that everyone can be in T100

• RyanT on Jun 22, 2022 at 4:13 pm

How come someone stole our money still can talk/fight for us?

• lots of gullible pipu still belip in him. lolz! got a few of ’em here too….

• Remove bulk subsidy, replace it with targeted subsidy.

• Ben Yap on Jun 22, 2022 at 4:29 pm

jibby better pay all his taxes and returned the 1MDB money first before talking.

• Sardine on Jun 22, 2022 at 4:32 pm

If Malaysia Reserved Fund is going negatively,
    It is crucial to save it.
    The world is going slow supply after covid19 attacking for 2 years.

B40 > RM 3000 per household now, minimum RM1500 mandatory salary.

We shall focus heavily on economy improvement and fighting, maximum productivity, maximum sales externally, RM Naik!

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Jun 22, 2022 at 4:35 pm

We are still waiting PH to answer us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • Mr. Sotong on Jun 22, 2022 at 5:08 pm

Doing that will burden B40 more than T20.

• mastermind on Jun 22, 2022 at 5:38 pm

Najib and the gang must return all malaysian money they steal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Proton Perodua on Jun 22, 2022 at 6:14 pm

Increase price direct or gradually will have direct effect on the price of goods and services in market. Which in return will make cost of living higher for M and B40. Currently prices of many goods going up everywhere.
    M40 and B40 still the largest group that benefiting from this subsidy. Hope we don’t try to stop T20 benefit this by sacrifice the M40 and B40 benefit all together.

• Pagana lulla singh on Jun 22, 2022 at 6:15 pm

We dnt need corrupt person advise on it at all

• the driver on Jun 22, 2022 at 6:22 pm

I hate to say this but a very effective interim measure from a not smart and convicted ex-PM. But this idea should be common sense anyhow

• John is otak batu on Jun 22, 2022 at 6:27 pm

Y we should listen to him again?!

• Seem like he is the only politician that talking sense and cent. Ron95 is way too cheap and Gov is subsidizing unnecessary on this, really not fair to lower income group that not using any vehicle…

• Sam Loo Original on Jun 22, 2022 at 7:15 pm

Yes and No

• Karam Singh on Jun 22, 2022 at 7:15 pm

What do i think? Najib can be smart when he is on socmed. Not so much outside.

• T20 good on Jun 22, 2022 at 8:21 pm

All the amenities you get like traffic lights, pavement road, hospitals, recreation areas, parks, halls and on and on mostly come from the taxing of t20. Without T20 tax revenue malaysia will be like Bangladesh. B40 would not contribute much to national income, m40 still weak. The car industries mainly benefit from t20 because they buy the most car be it cheap or expensive and they service at authorised dealer. B40 can drive a car for 30 years. T20 contribute huge amount to KWSP too. Najib is paying lip service now because election is nearing. He or his background advisor is very smart he know importance of t20. He is T0.000001 we all know.
    Malaysia today will not look like this without the t20 contribution. Dont insult t20 group. Without my Boss I ll be eating dust now after MCO. Only my Boss support me during the tough time with money during MCO. Relative and friend can only entertain you up to a point you know my meaning. Just face it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • hazri on Jun 22, 2022 at 8:39 pm

ye la jib.

• ExPM thinks clearer without Ros-fear-rance. haha

• Good idea! Increase by 10-20cents much better than double std imposed to T20 only. Even we want to implement it but hard to determine which car owner is T20! Do not always come out some funny ideas without practical steps.

• Hmmmm on Jun 23, 2022 at 8:56 am

With the min salary now at RM1500, many did not see that people at this bracket now earned additional income to cope with the rising cost. Most of these people worked on shift thus they can earned up to RM3k per month. Thats more than enough to cope. If they want to enjoy more then work harder. Why i said this as they have been living at RM1200 for quite some time and they survived. COLA now increases, so thus their income. I dont see why aids should be focussed on this bracket of people unless under special condition which makes the number a lot less than giving blanket aid to these group.

I am a Malay and work at management level in a local chinese man factory. Its welcoming that i saw some floor supervisor which see the above things. Too bad there are only few of them, the rest are bangsa2 tongkat regardless of race. There are also chinese colleague that earned more but tend to spend more on unnecessary things which includes gambling. There are managers whom rides kapchai to work including me, there are managers whom owned 2 cars but only own 2 cheap2 local cars. Moral is that u work hard to spend hard plus only spend when u need to spend. Not to spend ‘for’ others.

Gomen, keep your money and spend it extremely wisely by using your brain and not your kepala lutut or pekot lutut or whatever your party interest are.

• newme on Jun 23, 2022 at 9:59 am

B40, B40, B40…

Why so obsessed with caste system?

• Vezeroth on Jun 25, 2022 at 1:16 am

Because umno get their votes from the kampung malays. They need to keep them stupid and make sure they never rise so that they can continue to feed the race based politics and b40 sentiment.

• Vezeroth on Jun 25, 2022 at 1:05 am

The rich also are the ones who bought expensive cars or high tech cars and paid the most in taxes for the cars.. imagine paying 300k tax for a car.. you will never use the same amount of fuel at all.. where as all the tongkat ppl dont pay any taxes and hardy anything for thwir kapchais get subsidi here and there and still want to complain…

• Nazurudeen on Jun 25, 2022 at 3:38 pm

We always talk about the T30 but we failed to take into account the high tax paid by this group. So its a double jeopardy. We should add few more category on tax to manage this, the higher you earn the higher you pay tax and also look at Gross salary rather than minimum wages which current looked by the Government. With Gross salary those who entitled to brim will also drop.