Proton X50 with ATLAS OS by ACO Tech video tour – improved UI; enhanced voice recognition and features

The Proton X50 is set to receive ATLAS (an acronym for ACO Tech Local Automotive Services) via an over-the-air update (OTA) soon. The Malaysian-developed infotainment operating system (OS) was first announced back in September 2021 and was recently launched in early-June this year, bringing with it significant improvements over the previous Geely Smart Ecosystem (GKUI).

In this video, Hafriz Shah highlights some of key features of the ATLAS OS, including its new user interface, improved voice recognition as well as improvements to the navigation system, among many other things. Running on the open-source Android 10 platform, ATLAS OS also incorporates a digital voice assistant that can better handle natural speech.

Users will also have other streaming services available to them like Joox and Astro’s Syok, as well as be able to personalise the system however they see fit. The ATLAS OS also supports phone mirroring and is deeply integrated into the vehicle, allowing users to adjust things like climate control, safety features and check on the vehicle’s status.

So, spend some time to find out more about ATLAS OS by watching the video and and let us know what you think of the improved infotainment system, which will soon make its way to X50 cars in Malaysia.

GALLERY: Proton X50 with ACO Tech Atlas OS

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• jibby on Jul 13, 2022 at 11:32 am

malaysian and all the key-poh people, ah beng want only one thing, apple car play and android auto. was it so hard to ask?

to develop such ui just for the sake of proton. better buy a phone holder

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 37
    • Elon Fanboi on Jul 13, 2022 at 12:52 pm

I thought only Huawei can’t use Google services like Android Auto. Why Geely? WHY??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Kea Was on Jul 13, 2022 at 7:13 pm

Well, China definitely does not subscribe to Google services oh so does Geely China or most possibly their exported cars too.

• There were concept cars that have bracket to support independent Tablets and connectivity, so good.

Then owner can customize and choose thier favorite High spec Android. Car connectivity is easy dome by WiFi/Bluetooth pairing anyway.

IPad Pro/Galaxy Tab S8 in car, it sounds better. Can check email and work in car temporary while waiting for meeting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • Johnny Sainz on Jul 13, 2022 at 12:41 pm

This Atlas OS tech people mut be crazy to release a new operating system in 2022 with no CarPlay lol. So haphazard anything to do with Proton can’t do anything 100%, always close enough attitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Afeeq on Jul 13, 2022 at 2:39 pm

If I was Hafriz I would never have been able to keep a not-disappointed face. The entire time demonstrating the new OS in my head I would be like “though still no Apple CarPlay/Android Auto”.

Good job Hafriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Spin Too Much on Jul 14, 2022 at 12:46 am

Lucky you were not Hafriz cos only a closed minded fool would not have discovered so much that Hafriz did in just 10minutes review.
      Hafriz: “You’d just get in the car and it’s better”

Hafriz: “This is a definite step forward for X50.. and it is an exciting one”

Hafriz: “To me it’s another step forward towards an intelligent and connected experience with our cars and that can only be a good thing”

Hafriz: “It has a significant effect on your whole experience of interactin with this car”

Hafriz: “Now properly optimised for right hand drive use. Local input and optimisation is always a good thing in my books”

Hafriz: “You can now customise what he/she calls you or whatever you want”

Hafriz: “The very thing that makes AtlasOS unique is that you don’t need to have a phone to have a connected experience with this car (*shakes head on waiting to pair a phone via CP/AA*). You don’t need to have phone plugged up or a dock or phoneholder taking up space and blocking the screen.”

Hafriz: “Check it out for yourselves you will be surprised. That is the beauty of a connected OS with OTA updates. It will be improved thru your ownership experience”

Hafriz: “The possibility of this is super exciting to the next level”

Hafriz: “Driven thru kampung roads without data, this can still work there. Directions are even displayed on your main instrument cluster. Folks do give it a try, you will be pleasently surprised”

Hafriz: “I don’t even have to take my phone out of my pocket”

Hafriz: “How cool is that. Pretty damn cool”

Good job Hafriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Ploton on Jul 13, 2022 at 11:03 pm

IHU spec is no good, old, entry level SoC from mediatek. Now ACO wants to use android 10 that will make the IHU choke? Just put AA and ACP la. Let our phones do all the processing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • lithium on Jul 14, 2022 at 10:15 am

i rather we not have even more integration with google and apple. both are already so big and monopolise many areas, they are choking all other platform or apps and at the end consumers are left with take apple & google or get nothing option. ofcos most people will dislike this comment :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Ali GT on Jul 19, 2022 at 9:12 am

How about the 2019 Persona and Iriz Premium? Are they will receive Atlas OS updates from their head unit. Really unfair, all Proton GKUI head unit have received the update, 2019 Persona and Iriz are still using the old system.