New Perodua D66B SUV rendered – bigger model to rival Proton X50? DNGA-B, 1.5L NA, D-CVT, fr RM73k?

It was previously rumoured that Perodua is working on a B-segment SUV that will be positioned above the Ativa in the line-up. Back in March this year, we reported that the carmaker carried out a market survey to gather opinions related to the yet-to-be-confirmed model, which is said to be codenamed D66B.

At the time, rendering maestro Theophilus Chin created a few renders of what such a vehicle might look like based on a Suzuki Vitara. Now, he’s back with another set of renders, this time using the Toyota Yaris Cross as a starting point.

At 4,180 mm long, 1,765 mm wide and 1,560 mm tall, the Yaris Cross is larger than the Ativa, which measures 4,065 mm long and 1,710 mm wide, although the latter is taller at 1,635 mm. When it comes to wheelbase, the Toyota B-segment SUV has the advantage given its longer overall length, spanning 2,560 mm to the Ativa’s 2,525 mm. According to Theo, the wheelbase of the rendered vehicle is actually 50 mm longer and the overall length has been increased, making it actually even larger than the Yaris Cross it is based on.

The natural competitor to a Perodua B-segment SUV will be Proton’s own X50 that is larger still at 4,330 mm long, 1,800 mm wide, 1,609 mm tall and with a wheelbase of 2,600 mm. Theo’s previous imagining of a Perodua B-segment SUV is said to be 4,320 mm long, 1,770 mm wide and 1,685 tall, which is closer to Proton’s compact SUV in terms of size. According to Theo

Dimensions aside, Theo transformed the Yaris Cross into an imagined Perodua model by replacing the Toyota’s rounded face for an aggressive, X-themed one as seen on both the Ativa and Myvi. The new bumper, which protrudes further and sports a more angular grille and lower intake, is joined by a front faux skid plate as well as sharper headlamps with revised bonnet shut lines to match.

Down the sides, a strong belt line has been added to link the front and rear lighting units, while a prominent crease appears between the doors. The roundish black body cladding of the Yaris Cross also gets revised to match the sharper overall look, while the haunches have been downplayed somewhat.

You’ll also notice the D-pillars have been altered to negate the Yaris Cross’ swooping roofline, which should promote more headroom for rear passengers. This is most obvious when viewing the vehicle from the rear three quarters, where the full-width taillights (linked by a centre trim piece) are slimmer and no longer contact the rear window.

The two-piece Harrier-like taillights instead extend into the fenders and point towards the rear wheels, joined by bold crease lines originating from the tailgate. This too has been revised to accommodate the taillights that sit lower, and the black trim in the lengthened lower apron is now smaller.

Theo’s first take on a Perodua B-segment SUV

As for technical details, it’s purely hearsay for now. The word on the wire is that the Perodua B-segment SUV will be built on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) that is also used by the Ativa, Daihatsu Xenia, Avanza, Veloz and the upcoming Alza. It’s also said to pack the same 1.5 litre 2NR-VE Dual VVT-i engine as the Myvi, paired with a D-CVT.

Other elements of the rumour include a debut in 2023 as well as a projected starting price of RM73,000, which is close to the top-spec Ativa 1.0 AV and undercuts the X50 that starts from RM79,200. As with anything rumour-related take what you read here with a pinch of salt pending official confirmation from the carmaker.

In any case, what do you think of Theo’s second take on the Perodua B-segment SUV? Based on the rumours and speculated details, are you looking forward to such a model coming to market? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• kereta_lembu on Jul 15, 2022 at 10:38 am

Nice rendering by Theo but as usual, the real thing if it happens will always be far from the rendering. So, dont get too excited yet!

• As usual, Theo’s designs are so exciting compared to actual P2 cars. High time for P2 to sack their designers and hire Theo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Mr Mar on Jul 18, 2022 at 10:35 am

Theo working based on imagination, P2 designers working based on regulations and certifications. Mind the different

• B4 tht, it all happened wth imagination dude, – regulations did great damage .. jack up a bit on its height Theo!

• Exactly this could just please us BUT the production ready product won’t be like this. I must say that l love to have rear light cluster like new Harrier

• Dong Gor on Jul 15, 2022 at 10:42 am

Perodua’s product is at a different playing field (no pun intended). it’s on the budget side to deliver reliable products to customers who are more priced concious. Proton (Geely models) on the other hand is more premium product. the moment u step on the throttle of the X50,instantly u realize the satisfaction that no sub 100k can offer. so yeah, in my opinion there is no taking on X50.. both have different customer groups.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • How come P2/Daihatsu no spare parts and let customer wait months for warranty claim but still can produce new cars everyday? Hmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Felix Chee on Jul 15, 2022 at 10:59 am

Please please please include Paddle shifting… and if its a 1.5 engine, will Perodua finally launch their own 1.5 Turbo engine?

• Syafiq Syukri Ghani on Jul 15, 2022 at 11:11 am

Not true.

• Norlia on Jul 15, 2022 at 11:15 am

Ratio like a Volvo XC40 mixed with Lexus UX,
    lower CG and Coupe Looks.

• Outalingam Crap on Jul 01, 2023 at 11:11 pm

Personally, this render looks more like an enlarged Daihatsu Charade of 1979 mixed with a similarly dated Simca/Talbot hatchback….if Perodua can secure a patent authorized by Daihatsu to empower our Axia 1.3L engine with an electric motor, PLEASE MAKE THAT THE SOLE ENGINE for this render instead of the rightful DNGA Yaris Cross’s engineering

• ccy7218 on Jul 15, 2022 at 11:30 am

Bring it on!!! Good job P2!!!

• Sohai on Jul 15, 2022 at 11:30 am

My thoughts? Please brace yourself for another 15 teasers in 2023

• Bieight8 on Jul 15, 2022 at 11:37 am

Should just rebadge the corolla cross and sell it under 100k…

• Louis on Jul 15, 2022 at 11:39 am

Nice, better design than Vlos and HR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Vios doesn’t look really bad. Upcoming vios should look even more better

• Toyota will sell this at other country too.
      Est price more expensive than Veloz.

Thailand selling Veloz full spec RM111k.

• st3wp1d on Jul 15, 2022 at 11:50 am

i like

• History Bender on Jul 15, 2022 at 11:53 am

Ativa was such a fail when consumers prefer to pay a bit more and get a bigger SUV. Now Perodua has to scramble and come out a real X50 fighter but it might already be too late. Dejavu in that sense back when Proton had the smaller car (Savvy) which did not fare well against Perodua’s larger one (Myvi), ironically the tables have turned for both their fates and this might similarly trigger the change in their fortunes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Autodriver on Jul 15, 2022 at 7:11 pm

You really thought X50 was so good prasing till sky high. As a person from automotive I can tell you even after 5 years warranty you have no choice but have to send your X50 forever to Proton SC to repair if there were still spoilt. Imagine the SC price is at least 30-50% higher than outside workshop. Mind you that even though it is sibling with Geely Binyue but some items have modified in X50. Mean the spare part of Binyue might not fit to X50. This is strategy from P1 to protect their dealer’s SC business.

My customer is 1st batch owner of X50 premium, city drive full tank barely hit 300km. My customer said if he drive gently it can hit 400km but it was like not rev beyond 3k rpm all time and not beyond 100 km/h. Normal driving behaviour is surely less than 300km per tank.

I have no experience with X50 but I do often sit long journey in X70 as company’s spare car. The ride and handling not bad but after 3 years there are squeezing noise here and there. As usual the radiator fan spoilt and it took nearly 3 months to get spare part, heard it takes even longer time now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • Up to you... on Jul 16, 2022 at 1:53 pm

Well. What you can expect from the car that originally price from 47k-71k… Come to bolehland and disguise as P1, bla3 local content everywhere and walla 84k-110k. Hehehe… Conclusion, they are just milking the customer like no tomorrow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • Casual reader on Jul 17, 2022 at 1:51 pm

Rm 110k car that trounces anything 1 segment above it priced 20-40k higher. What to say about it.

• Casual reader on Jul 17, 2022 at 1:49 pm

Huh call urself an automotive person but u have no inkling that new p2 are also too complicated for bengkel bawah pokoks to service and repair today. Modern cars today are full of electronics that any simple bengkels would struggle fix which without ample diagnostic tools will be impossible whether it is a Merc, or p1 or p2. And by right ur not even supposed to use non standard parts bought off ali or taobao for replacements, thats just so wrong on so many levels i am beginning to doubt u know anything automotive at all.

• HA LOL on Feb 21, 2023 at 3:04 pm

“Person from automotive” lol.

• meladam on Jul 15, 2022 at 11:56 am

slowly fall in love with this design! just take my money now

• Aeroheads on Jul 15, 2022 at 12:00 pm

It will be based on India’s Toyota Hyryder which is already launched in India.

• 2023,new axia. Then new bezza with minor change,might be this new suv 2025. But for sure not 2023

• Jeffrey Chew on Jul 15, 2022 at 1:42 pm

I tested these two models and actually both are under the same segment, Ativa/Raize interior is roomier than Yaris Cross.

• this look garang & handsome like lexus… copycat again

• Arampan Mayilvahanam on Jul 15, 2022 at 3:17 pm

Looking impressive and compact the colour is beautiful press button brakes and paddle shift should be included.

• So until today why no figure on Ativa’s sales? Dismal figure?

• Nice if fitted wt AWD and rear disc brake. Engine output shall be considered sufficient by designer.

• Ground europe passenger on Jul 15, 2022 at 4:42 pm

Toyota cross re-badged, under rm100k, comes with eco-idiotled system. Must well rebadge the vios first, sedan still people’s first choice favourites.

• Balabak on Jul 15, 2022 at 7:01 pm

This is not render, its called photoshoping..

• A Toyota Yaris Cross, If follow UMW Toyota price, it’s gonna need top up RM40k like HR-V 2022.
    Est. RM111k to RM133k. It’s good they decided to sell Corolla Cross instead, which also RM40k on top of JDM price.

A HR-V japan only selling cheap cheap –
    2,279,200 yen (RM73k) 1.5L to 3,298,900 yen (RM105k) for 1.5EV.
    Finally, Malaysia selling RM115k to RM140k for 1.5EV, top up RM40k.

https://paultan.org/2021/04/22/2022-honda-hr-v-launched-in-japan-131-ps-253-nm-ehev-118-ps-142-nm-1-5l-na-i-vtec-from-rm87k/

Finally, follow the logic of -20k for Perodua badge, based on Yaris Cross RM111k to RM133k.
    Should be RM91k – RM 113k.
    RM 75k for this B-SUV? No Brainer, buy! like Free Petrol given.

• Confused on Jul 15, 2022 at 10:18 pm

Perhaps I’m missing the point here but… how is this news? I mean, highlighting Theo’s incredible 3D rendering skills is great, he definitely deserves the credit.. but to report on it like it’s an actual car is….. well I just don’t get it.

• Jeffrey Read on Jul 15, 2022 at 10:46 pm

Bila launching ?

• Autodriver on Jul 16, 2022 at 9:47 am

It is my own view. If bring the B segment SUV and sharing same powertrain 1.5NA and DCVT, it not gonna grab much new customer except grabbing people upgraded from Axia mostly. With adding on power I will rather than new Alza over this B segment SUV or crossover.

In fact the new Alza can deemed as B segment 7 seater crossover because of its higher ground clearance (msia purposely make it low to put as MPV but oversea is 190mm). Unless the Perodua B segment crossover comes with better powertrain or e-smart hybrid, or else it will be in similar category like new Alza at similar size and weight, same powertrain and less 3rd row seat. I don’t compare to Aruz because it wasn’t DNGA platform.

• Casual reader on Jul 17, 2022 at 9:10 am

Ur conflating an suv with mpv thats stoopid as each have diff purpose even when priced similarly. At that purported bracket u be rightnif u compare it with aruz but that is also a diff segment car (7seater suv). But u didnt! U compared it with mpv and thats stoooopid!

• SweetRevenge on Jul 17, 2022 at 10:15 am

Frnt face look like SEAT… back light more like lexus…

• Porch car on Jul 17, 2022 at 7:23 pm

Many small families or young couples want a shorter SUV but eventually settled for a sedan because the current batch of SUVs took up too much of the car porch space especially in terrace houses. I have been wishing for a RM70k 1.5L 4 seater SUV of about 4100 mm length as it’s also easier to park in public car parks.

• Mr Mar on Jul 18, 2022 at 10:38 am

Theo working based on imagination, P2 designers working based on regulations and certifications. Mind the different.

• If they use Yaris Cross as a base, we can confirm they will retain the head light and back light. Can replace the Theo’s light with YC’s light.

• If Toyota group really generous to P2 they should allowed Aygo X (cross) or Yaris Cross as perodua next b segment SUV

• B4 tht, it all happened wth imagination dude, – regulations did great damage .. jack up a bit on its height Theo!