Puspakom welcomes JPJ move to step up monitoring of its heavy vehicle inspection process at its centres

Following the recent increase in road accidents involving heavy vehicles, Puspakom has welcomed the road transport department’s (JPJ) plans to step up the frequency in monitoring heavy vehicle inspection operations at all its 54 inspection centres nationwide.

In a statement, the vehicle inspection company, which undertakes all mandatory inspections for both commercial and private vehicles in the country, said the move to increase the frequency of monitoring – in addition to its own internal monitoring – would ensure a high level of inspection quality at all times and enable appropriate follow-up action to be carried out in quicker fashion if it was needed.

The company said that in 2021, JPJ carried out 741 monitoring operations at Puspakom inspection centers across the whole country. It added that during the first six months of 2022, it carried out periodic inspection on a total of 270,385 heavy vehicles.

From that total, 15.8% or 42,772 heavy vehicles failed to comply with the standards set by JPJ. These included 12,339 heavy vehicles (or 4.6% of the total) failing the brake efficiency test. It said that any vehicle that fails a test must undergo an inspection again before being licensed by JPJ.

Puspakom also said it would give its full cooperation to the proposal by JPJ to implement several improvements in vehicle inspection procedures, including those concerning brakes and tyres.

Presently, it is adhering to the inspection methods as stipulated under the Rules-Motor Vehicle method (Periodic Inspection, Equipment and Inspection Standards) 1995. It added that it would adjust vehicle inspection methods to those recommended by JPJ when these are determined by the department, with the new process not expected to involve changes to existing inspection equipment.

It added that inspections, which are carried out every six months, are intended as an early preventive measure in reduce the number of unsafe vehicles on the road, and that efforts to review the safety level of heavy vehicles must go hand in hand with other road accident prevention measures such as having drivers adopting a safe driving attitude and for vehicle owners to maintain their vehicles properly.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Double handling. Privatised, then still need JPJ to come.

• Reckless,Ruthless,Recalcitrant(3R) Pelosi on Aug 11, 2022 at 8:34 pm

It shows,there r tons of complaints that those Puspakom dudes r lax,can be “influenced by runners” n doing a shoddy job.
      They r happiest when “certain regular runners” bring cars for inspection.
      You see,once taikor JPJ officer is watching them,they will start “tak lulus” more vehicles..just wayang dulu.
      Once headmaster gone for vacation…you know the storyline,lah.
      Remember,not too long the press highlighted the hanky panky at Wangsa Maju Puspakom ? Dah lupa ? Drink more ginseng..sure tak lupa.

• Maimee on Aug 12, 2022 at 8:03 pm

You may also know about unethical conduct by runners about how they “jammed brake” heavy vehicles brake to pass brake efficiency test, and after they exit PUSPAKOM’s gate, they put it the brake adjustment to normal.

• No more littoral combat shit on Aug 11, 2022 at 8:39 pm

What a load of crap,Mr Puspakom.
    I outsourced,privatised the deal to u.
    I enrich you.
    Now,I have to ajar and memantau you.
    U might as well give me back half your annual profits.

• As much as I want Puspakom to step up their checks on heavy vehicle, JPJ and PDRM also needs to step up in enforcement on the road for this to work.

• TeslaHunter on Aug 12, 2022 at 8:35 pm

Instead putting the blame on JPJ and PUSPAKOM, both the authority and the appointed vehicle inspection company need to work hand in hand as Partners, together to address potential risk exposure to system abuse or manipulation. As they as they are human managing the system and handling the equipment, there must be “opportunities” for unethical parties to abuse / manipulate the system. For example, quick fix adjustment done by runners are proven e.g. Temporary rental of vehicle parts to pass inspection at puspakom, ikat brake “jam brake” to pass brake efficiency test etc. You can do so much to improve the system, be mindful that these unethical parties are always finding loopholes to bypass / abuse the system. Conclusion, JPJ and PUSPAKOM need to be fast, get ahead in front of these parties.

• AppleTree on Aug 15, 2022 at 9:48 am

the more the merrier

putting a group of people with similar interest and value will make them stronger and bold.

If they are good, then wow…. we see bright future.

If they are pest and scumbags…