2022 Renault Zoe EV in Malaysia – two variants, up to 395 km range; est RM163k to RM175k on-the-road

Renault Malaysia has revealed pricing for the Renault Zoe fully electric hatchback, which arrives in Malaysia for the 2022 model year with two variants. The range starts from RM163,000 on-the-road without insurance for the Zoe Zen R110, the base variant, while the Zoe Intens R135 is currently estimated to be priced at RM175,000 on-the-road without insurance.

UPDATE: The 2022 Renault Zoe is now available for viewing at the Petaling Jaya showroom; check out our full live gallery of the hatchback EV here.

Listed as tentative specifications on a price list provided on the Renault Malaysia website, both variants drive the front wheels and pack a 52 kWh battery, with the Zen R110 variant getting a 110 PS/225 Nm electric motor and a WLTP-rated battery range of 395 km, while the more powerful Intens R135 gets a 135 PS/245 Nm motor which drops its range slightly to 386 km.

Charging times for the 2022 Renault Zoe are three hours from 0-100% at 22 kW AC via a Type 2 connection, while charging at 7.4 kW via a Type 2 connection will take 9.5 hours. Meanwhile, using a DC 50 kW facility with a CCS2 connection will enable a 0-80% state of charge in 70 minutes.

To maximise range, the Zoe is equipped with a B-mode for greater energy recuperation and to enable one-pedal driving. There is also an eco-meter to show to driver when the car is consuming or recovering energy, while an Eco mode helps to improve energy consumption by taking control of features which may consume more energy. The climate control also has a pre-conditioning feature to pre-set the cabin temperature before occupant get on board.

Exterior equipment for the 2022 Zoe in Malaysia include Pure Vision full-LED headlamps with C-shaped DRLs on both variants, which are complemented by dynamic turn signals. Rolling stock on both variants is a set of 16-inch alloy wheels, shod in tyres measuring 195/55. The units are of a single-tone finish on the Zen R110, while the Intens R135 gets a diamond-cut finish.

For interior kit, the 2022 Zoe for Malaysia gets as standard a 10-inch customisable driver instrument panel, and an Easy Link seven-inch touchscreen with support for Android Auto and Apple CarPlay. Device connectivity includes Bluetooth, two USB ports and an auxiliary audio connection, while audio output is via a six-speaker setup.

The higher trim variant that is the Intens R135 adds offline navigation capability and rear seat USB charging ports, automatic climate control, an electrochromic rear view mirror, and a reverse camera.

Electrically adjustable mirrors on the base Zen R110 gains power folding on the Intens R135, which also gets front and rear parking sensors whereas the base variant gets rear sensors only. In terms of interior trim, the Zen R110 gets black fabric upholstery, while the Intens R135 gains a black leather-cloth combination.

For safety, both variants of the 2022 Zoe get as standard lane departure warning, lane keep assist, adaptive high beam, stability control, traction control, ABS, brake assist, and hill start assist. Both variants also get four airbags (dual front and dual side units), while the Intens R135 variant adds blind spot warning.

The 2022 Renault Zoe in Malaysia is available in Black and Solid White for the Zen R110 variant, and in Black, Blue, Purple or Red for the Intens R135 variant. A three-year/100,000-km vehicle warranty accompanies each purchase, while EV battery and electric drivetrain are covered for five years/100,000 km.

GALLERY: 2022 Renault Zoe

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Too small.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • seancorr on Aug 15, 2022 at 2:27 pm

No new Capture yet?

• My future dream electric car

• SmartConsumer on Aug 16, 2022 at 10:44 am

If this is your future dream, I am sorry to tell you that your future looks really dark and bleak. Hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • This car is good but If you don’t like it, it is fine then you don’t buy need to buy this.

• SmartConsumer on Aug 18, 2022 at 11:39 am

what so good about this car? Accident sure die punya ini

• Mee USR on Aug 19, 2022 at 11:04 pm

Smart Consumer with -9999999999999999999 IQ hahaha

• pdesign on Aug 27, 2022 at 12:58 pm

than u are not the target market

• abenda? on Aug 15, 2022 at 3:19 pm

stupid car. so small but priced at 165k?? bodoh or what. Looks damm ugly some more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
  • Well would anyone want to buy a car that scored 0/5 in Euro NCAP?

• Bieight8 on Aug 15, 2022 at 4:05 pm

No 6 airbags no buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Fillers on Aug 15, 2022 at 5:07 pm

At least got blind spot monitor, lane keep assist, lane departure warning, lane keep assist and adaptive high beam

• Asiongkor on Aug 15, 2022 at 4:34 pm

Oh my gaud…175 grand for myvi size EV?

• Raja Celup on Aug 15, 2022 at 4:51 pm

Because below RM150K price range seems belong to some protected species.

• Lets See on Aug 16, 2022 at 12:57 pm

You mean this?
        https://paultan.org/2022/05/24/dfsk-ec35-ev-van-launched-in-malaysia-two-or-five-seat-options-200-km-city-range-rm130k-or-via-leasing/

• Fillers on Aug 15, 2022 at 5:08 pm

Because it carries electric parts including batteries, inside also looks many things that people like inside.

• Sohail on Aug 15, 2022 at 6:53 pm

Paper dimension maybe larger,
      But interior space feels smaller than Proton Saga..

• Fillers on Aug 15, 2022 at 5:09 pm

At least got blind spot monitor, lane departure warning, lane keep assist and adaptive high beam

• SmartConsumer on Aug 16, 2022 at 10:41 am

Got blind spot so what?? If you buy this ugly car people will call you blind. So ugly

• Fillers on Aug 16, 2022 at 1:41 pm

If you think blind spot monitor is not safety for you, but good luck if you kena accident

• SmartConsumer on Aug 17, 2022 at 8:02 am

Only blind driver needs a blind spot eliminator. I always rely on my own vision by turning my head before I turn

• Mee USR on Aug 15, 2022 at 5:23 pm

Waiting for Megane and Twingo EV

• L-Star on Aug 15, 2022 at 7:30 pm

Nice

• ThePolygon on Aug 16, 2022 at 7:23 am

With the rest of the car’s waiting list for several months, this might actually be a choice for some who can’t wait.

• whereisthenewcaptur on Aug 16, 2022 at 11:56 pm

Okay but what about the updated and facelift Captur?

• Isaac on Aug 23, 2022 at 6:50 pm

the biggest selling point is the 22kw ac on board charger (obc), becos most of other brands, even testa only has 11kw ac obc.

So it is a designated city car, the range may not be that good, but more than enough for city driving. As long as you are willing to fork out another few k for home charger and applying to tnb for 3 phase power supply.