UK proposes speed limit, ID plates law for cyclists

A proposal Transport Secretary Grant Shapps could see cyclists in the UK abiding to a 32 kmh speed limit. The proposal also includes bicycles having number plates or other identification markings, reports online daily Wiltshire Live while The Daily Mail adds mandatory insurance will be considered.

This is to enforce the law in order to prevent “death by dangerous cycling”, with Shapps saying certain cycling behaviour on the roads must be stopped. ““Somewhere where cyclists are actually not breaking the law is when they speed, and that cannot be right, so I absolutely propose extending speed limit restrictions to cyclists,” said the British Member of Parliament.

Shapps then added, “particularly where you’ve got 20mph limits on increasing numbers of roads, cyclists can easily exceed those, so I want to make speed limits apply to cyclists. That obviously does then lead you into the question of: ‘Well, how are you going to recognise the cyclist? Do you need registration plates and insurance? And that sort of thing.”

Amongst other items, Shapps is proposing a review of insurance and tracking cyclists who break laws. “I see no reason why cyclists should break the road laws, why they should speed, why they should bust red lights and be able to get away with it,” Shapps said.

Scheduled to be tabled in UK Parliament later this year, the proposed law will close a legal loophole which means that cyclists who kill pedestrians can only be jailed for two years. This comes after Mr Shapps pledged to create a “death by dangerous cycling” law to “impress on cyclists the real harm they can cause when speed is combined with lack of care”.

An increasing number of local councils in the UK are imposing 32 kmh speed limits on vehicles in urban centres and built up residential areas. The speed limits only apply to motor vehicles and their drivers and while local authorities can impose speed limits on cyclists, it is rarely done.

What do you think, as a Malaysian road user? Should Malaysian cyclists be required to follow a set speed limit and obey road rules or face punishment, along with registering and insuring their bicycles? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Contradiction on Aug 18, 2022 at 12:06 pm

inb4 British beskal rempits better not make offspring, get educated, kecik2 tak mau mati pegi mampoi lagi baik, shd go jail for life, bagi sebatan, shd destory those bikes, legalise ramming into them, ini semua salah kjaan British…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Billi on Aug 18, 2022 at 12:38 pm

The road is for logistic and travel purpose, not exercise.

Why not just ban these road convoy exercise?
    Usually these group are those riding @ high speed like those Basikal Lajak.

• Alcatraz Ajibkor on Aug 18, 2022 at 5:36 pm

Basikal lajaks should be subjected to same treatment as mat rempits…with the latest fines and jail term.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Wasn’t aware that UK too had mat rempits problem. Good to know it isn’t just us alone.

• Carazy on Aug 18, 2022 at 2:45 pm

Malaysia should follow suit… We all share the same road, cyclists also need to follow the same law as other road user, unless u just cycle around taman.

• Kariayam on Aug 18, 2022 at 5:44 pm

PDRM/JPJ cant even crack down on motorcycles with bad plates and not obeying to speed limits, what difference is going to make for cyclists.

• Bieight8 on Aug 18, 2022 at 4:52 pm

Should ban all cyclists

• Dare Devil on Aug 19, 2022 at 4:32 pm

Nope, the world should ban people with a sh*t mouth like you, i bet you are those type that never involve in sport or just wastng your time doing nothing, poor dude…

• haha..
    money money money..
    money money… money masuk poket

• Corona Scam Rider on Aug 18, 2022 at 10:40 pm

Best comment !

It’s all about MONEY and gross Bulshit propaganda in order to tax always more the already squeezed taxpayers !

And let’s forbid people to breath !? Hey, that’s already done. Dentist MASK all day long like idiots.

So, let’s forbid people to share smiles.. Hey? That’s already done… Stupid MASK 24h jam…

Let’s forbid people to move ! Damn, already done… Confinment whenever they want!

So, let the taxpayers have the (((right))) to watch netflix at home with a social credit like in China. Good dogs… And if there is a covid-blabla case detected via bluetooth, let’s put them in a concentration camp! Or lock them in Ikea because the flu is god damn’ lethal stuff lol

Let’s forbid all vehicules. We need more taxes on Co2, we need to invite Greta & Obama to show us the Way ! Cow’s farts should be taxed too !

Now, let’s be fair. Only the 0.01% of the population should have all the privilage ! ‘

Viva Democracy ! Viva America ! Viva Pfizer’s mass depopulation ! Viva Shoah Business ! Viva the glorious post-modern time of total official scam ah ah ah…

• Contradiction on Aug 19, 2022 at 4:55 pm

Mesian mentality:
      Masuk british poket, dihalalkan.
      Masuk mesian poket, ini mesti haram!

• UK United Kindom of Israhell on Aug 18, 2022 at 11:22 pm

This is to enforce the law in order to prevent “death by dangerous cycling”

– BULLSHIT

If there is ONE THING they don’t give a damn’, it’s people life. They want your retirement money ! They want more money and more stupid people to exploit. They want you sick and stupid.

The goal of the Elite is to reduce population. Covid fake vaccins have been used for that purpose. In the next 2 years, side effects are going to increase exponentially !
    Memory lost, stroke, brain disease, Kreutzfeld Jacobs disease (prion and other toxic protein affecting the brain’s cells) auto-immune disease etc…

A number plate for bicycles? Ah ah ah. And don’t forget a nano chipset in your ass…

This is just another way for the Banksters to rackete and extort a little bit more the population. More taxes, less salaries, always more taxes and less money for the people. Always more excuses to NOT prevent hyper inflation.

They will soon put a sensor on your anti-covid nozzle in order to charge you on CO2 rejections (and a CH₃OH wide band sensor in your pant to charge you on every single fart you may let go, at home, at the office, in the mall or on your bike…)

Total Dictature of SoftPower… For the benefit of a tiny little group of parasits.

• Malaysia can’t even enforce rules or punishment on reckless motorbike riders so cyclists have nothing to worry about for a long time !