Enhanced Touch ‘n Go card with NFC back on sale via TnG eWallet – can be ordered from 10am, August 25

Demand for the new Enhanced Touch ‘n Go Card has been such that the card, which features near-field communication (NFC) capability, has been somewhat of an elusive find for many. If you’re still on the lookout for one, you’ll be able to make an online purchase for it tomorrow morning via the Touch ‘n Go (TnG) eWallet mobile app.

As The Star reports, a notification was sent out on the eWallet app earlier today informing users that the NFC-enabled TnG cards will be coming back in stock tomorrow morning (August 25) at 10am in the app.

However, there’s a catch, as in a cap on how many cards you can buy – according to the report, the company is limiting purchases to one card per user order, which is down from the previous maximum of two cards per order.

The move is seemingly to address earlier complaints from consumers that scalpers were somehow able to obtain an unspecified number of the enhanced cards during the previous batch releases, and had been reselling them online at several times the original price.

The new Enhanced version of the Touch ‘n Go card essentially enables the topping up of credit to be done with an NFC-capable smartphone and the eWallet app, thus giving users the option of bypassing physical reload locations such as kiosks and retail outlets. According to TnG, the new card also gains improved encryption for better security.

As with the previous version of the card, credit balance on the Enhanced version of the card continues to be separate from that of the eWallet, though this too can be linked using the PayDirect function. Non-PayDirect transactions will continue to withdraw from the physical card’s balance.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sick & Tired on Aug 25, 2022 at 1:45 am

Let the scammers & scalpers buy it. Hold your current card for now or go with non NFC version (plenty available). As with graphics cards that were selling sky high prices earlier, now it has dropped like a rock because demand no longer there and scalpers are desperate to offload them. So just wait until scalpers have to make losses in order to sell them off then only buy. Have patience and they will suffer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 5
  • normal_user on Aug 25, 2022 at 8:11 am

What about the promised abolishment of 10 sen charges for each rm1 spent in parking lots? Aeon & govt hospitals parking facilities are now shifting to pure Cashless payments. Its unfair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Fam Lee Sin on Aug 25, 2022 at 9:25 am

I lov touch n go

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Senthil on Aug 25, 2022 at 10:12 am

As usual, app crashed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Disappointed on Aug 25, 2022 at 10:26 am

Been trying since 10am.
    As expected traffic was insane.
    It was already impossible to go through all the steps.
    End up after keying the pin, payment was unsuccessful.
    Then the system don’t allow to buy anymore since already processed once.

Come on lah… WTF is this?

Can’t TnGO just sell the card like all their other cards.
    Is it because they are the ones who are actually selling it at RM99?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • Mr. Sotong on Aug 25, 2022 at 10:39 am

Semiconductor shortage is real.

• Leonon on Aug 25, 2022 at 10:55 am

It is possible, got it twice, one with my phone and another friend’s phone, both times also unsuccessful the first time after keying PIN. Upon trying again, got the order.

• iskhalifah on Aug 25, 2022 at 10:30 am

I’ve been exercising my finger 1000x since 10am, but the response is always Heavy Traffic, Try Again. *SIGH*

• newme on Aug 25, 2022 at 10:31 am

We should strive for toll free roads. Nie berpusu-pusu beli card untuk bayar toll pulak.

• Manifesto Dicapati on Aug 25, 2022 at 12:01 pm

Toll free? Paging for RAFIZI, paging for RAFIZI, RAFIZI PLEASE COME TO THE COUNTER AND ANSWER THIS DEMAND FOR YOUR TOLL FREE IDEA.

• jeeir on Aug 25, 2022 at 10:49 am

Been pressing buttons non-stop using TnG app & unsuccessful since an hour ago. May God condemn those greedy scalpers and opportunists!

Why not TnG just limit the card to be sold to first-timers ONLY? The traffic is just crazy.

• Why they still produce limited quantity of the NFC touch n go? Should have delay the launch until they can produce in masses to avoid scalpers taking profit.

• No company ever cares about scalper and reseller problem. All they care is if they can make a profit. From PC parts to toy and collectibles, it’s all the same.

• Tried ordering after months of trying to get a card without being scalped. TNG site overloaded so no go again….surprise surprise :(

• Upset on heavy traffic message on the app

• crazy on Aug 25, 2022 at 11:13 am

Just when I thought my transaction is successful when I press BUY, the app fails to scan my face (why the heck do they need to scan the face, when a Fingerprint scanner on my phone is faster & reliable?) and receive Unsuccessful Payment error screen.

During the next attempt, the app said it only LIMIT PURCHASE TO 1 CARD, and failed to notice that my previous attempt was unsuccessful.

TnG has a lot to explain to its customers for this FRUSTRATING experience.

• Have already tried and key in my pin for more than 10 times and it’s still unsuccessful. TNG testing water only?

• apam balik on Aug 25, 2022 at 11:38 am

to be honest….. malaysia still stuck with this kind of situation, rakyat crazy for the cards, payment system and poor app. now is 2022, not much improvement compare with 10 years ago. shortage this and that.

• scalpersannoying on Aug 25, 2022 at 11:40 am

as expected, scalpers got it all. Just wait and see how much these scalpers would charge for these on online shops. It’s ridicuous. I think TnGO should just let us use the regular RFID stickers and paste onto our old TnGO cards. voila, problem solved!

• Sylvester on Aug 25, 2022 at 11:40 am

woi why keep unsuccessful payment and i want to make now server hang ahhhh!!! Baka

• squall on Aug 25, 2022 at 12:02 pm

Tried 7 times payment still unsuccessful. Software engineer just coding. Not tested by themself. Thinking that their job was amazing comparing to others. If my sub coordinates fired already.

• As already expected, heavy traffic reported…..Malaysia Greatest Internet service system…..Malaysia Boleh Land.

• Tried to add to cart takes an effort but to check out patment also got issue unsuccessful many times already

• Kimmy on Aug 25, 2022 at 12:50 pm

Buying NFC card is like looking at Mainboard in share market. No jokes. So cheap sure alot scammers buy an resell to consumers.

• Senthil on Aug 25, 2022 at 1:03 pm

After trying for 2 hours 30 minutes, was successful

• when2meets2boy on Aug 25, 2022 at 1:28 pm

After four hours and programming a script to repeat the process. Finally got through to payment and order. P.S. you are limited to buy only one card per user (based on the pop up message)

• Sold out already, no chance TNG useless

• Sharan Raj on Aug 25, 2022 at 2:57 pm

I have got it one after numerous attempt ( nearly 1 hour) to process due to heavy traffic msg pop

• Syazwan on Aug 25, 2022 at 4:02 pm

discrimination

• Cartel country on Aug 25, 2022 at 4:28 pm

Please don’t buy from Shopee and Lazada, just hold on to your old cards. Let those ulats who sell at exhorbitant price learn their lesson. Even touch and go act like cartels controlling tolls and parking payment.

• Went to TNG shop in NU Sentral at 10am. No one is there but card already sold out. So AMAZING! Probably keeping it for themselves to sell it.

• Padmanathan Kanapathy on Aug 26, 2022 at 12:23 pm

Not available @*×+#

• Adam Ashraf on Aug 29, 2022 at 10:41 am

I am trying to buy last 3 days but it says no stock.really upset.

• Chang on Sep 06, 2022 at 7:58 am

I’m happy with my old version as long as the launch of the new version doesn’t render the old unusable. There’s really no need to stress over and rush to get the new version when there’s a real shortage of supply at the moment