2023 Subaru Crosstrek – all-new XV gets a new name

The Subaru XV is no more – long live the Subaru Crosstrek! The latest generation of Subaru’s soft-roader Impreza drops its XV badge and is now known as the Subaru Crosstrek globally.

The Subaru Crosstrek name is of course not new to the model, as it was called by either the Crosstrek or XV names with previous generation cars, but Subaru has now decided on Crosstrek as a single name.

The new generation soft-roader measures 4,480 mm long x 1,800 mm wide x 1,580 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,670 mm.

A large 11.6 inch vertical touchscreen takes the focus of the new Crosstrek’s interior, though the instrument panel in front of the driver continues to use analog meters for the speedometer and RPM meter, with the only digital portion being a small multi-info display in between them.

Flanking the vertical touchscreen are hardware buttons for AC temp and audio volume, but we do note that AC fan speed now has to be controlled digitally. That’s one thing we usually wish to have hardware controls, but at least the volume is still a physical knob.

Subaru says the new Crosstrek gets a new seat design with better pelvis support, which is said to prevent vehicle swaying motions from being transferred to the head. In addition, the seat mounting structure has been changed, now with the seat rails attached directly to the body instead of using a bracket. Subaru says this increases mounting-connection stiffness and improves vibration damping while reducing seat sway.

Subaru only mentions one engine option in its press release – a 2.0 litre e-Boxer, which is a non-plugin hybrid model. Does it mean the Crosstrek will only be available as a hybrid? Or will it continue to be available with a 2.0 pure normally aspirated model like how it has been sold as in Malaysia?

The 2.0 litre e-Boxer system puts an electric motor in between the internal combustion engine and the Lineartronic CVT. No specs for system output has been provided for now. But if it is a development of the previous gen’s e-Boxer system, then it should be using a 48V battery. BTW just to point out, e-Boxer is not the same as the XV plug-in hybrid, they are two different hybrid systems.

In terms of active safety, Subaru’s EyeSight system now adds on a wide-angle mono camera to work together with the existing EyeSight stereo camera. Subaru says the wide-angle mono camera allows better recognition of pedestrians and motorcycles to allow initiation of pre-collision braking in a wider range of situations, such as at intersections, thanks to its wider field of view.

Are you an existing XV owner? Or are you thinking of buying an SUV? What do you think of the new Subaru Crosstrek, will you consider switching to a soft-roader instead of a full-blown SUV? Let us know in the comments below.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jamal on Sep 16, 2022 at 7:17 pm

this Subaru Impreza sportsback 555 simply too magnificent.

• Lolwhut? on Sep 17, 2022 at 11:51 am

Civic FE hatchback ketam rear

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Imelda Rosmah on Sep 17, 2022 at 3:15 pm

Is Subaru promoting the new Ironman movie?
      The aircon vents covering the touch screen..looks like Iron Man mask.
      Very hideous design,Subaru.Cant you get some better ideas from our Theophilus Chin?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • Piano on Sep 17, 2022 at 8:42 pm

Beauty is eyeholder. Design is subjective. But at least this have many changes and also for outside, despite still using analog digital meter like 2022 XV, but come with bigger touchscreen like Tesla

• that dashboard definitely looks better than HRV

• Mechamat on Sep 16, 2022 at 7:56 pm

Better than hr-v. More roomy than hr-v

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • HR-V same like X50, B-segment compact SUV with Torsion Beam maa.

• Bagus lah you, keta belum sampai tapi you sudah tau lebih roomy. Either you’re a psychic or…

You want roomy, just get the Forester.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • Why not test drive and see any more similar comfort between XV and HRV, instead of bashing XV and Subaru. HRV have not enough comfort space than XV.

• Wait for seancorr to come and say his P2 ativa better than this car even tho not in the same segment.

• tokmoh volvo on Sep 18, 2022 at 10:55 am

Seancorr is not a p2 fanboy and he is a conti user.

• Darren on Sep 18, 2022 at 1:46 pm

Just coz he stick a beemer picture on his nick does not make him a conti user anymore than a fake like you. And from what he’s posted, yes he is a P2 fanboy dreaming of a beemer but selling a mvyi.

• Kinto on Sep 16, 2022 at 8:52 pm

Perfect car. Except very ugly cameras areangement/design at the windscreen, covering cars and mobile phones world! Looks like duck or platypus?

• Because of high tech eyesight and more useful and advanced than facelifted XV

• applegreen on Sep 16, 2022 at 8:54 pm

1500kg for 2 liter NA engine. This suv will be slow

• Not as powerful as turbo but wait till new crosstrek will come here, then you will realize. Turbo will may cost you to maintain more and can’t last as long as na engine

• nazri on Sep 16, 2022 at 9:17 pm

will be arriving in Malaysia in 2024

• kaiMeng on Sep 17, 2022 at 8:49 am

I hope 2023… then I can get 2022 XV with a cheaper price!

• Imelda Rosmah on Sep 17, 2022 at 3:19 pm

Cheaper? hello…our Rm is spiralling into 4.6-4.9 territory compared to USD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • Darren on Sep 18, 2022 at 1:47 pm

Then you dont understand what does @kaiMeng meant by that. Nothing to do with RM here.

• RyanT on Sep 17, 2022 at 5:10 am

Rugged!

• H Aldrin on Sep 17, 2022 at 7:57 am

Still no rear aircond vents?

• H Aldrin on Sep 17, 2022 at 7:58 am

Still no aircond cents in the rear?

• Redza on Sep 17, 2022 at 9:22 am

Been driving XV since 2015…good pickup… Handling is good… Seat not so comfortable… Boot space not big enough for long trip… Parts are expensive… Have Change my air cond compressor 2x… Side mirror 1x due to folding motor faulty… Disk brake rotor… Rear wheel bearings… Center console arm rest broke… Oxy sensor 2x….front windows.. easily chips if hit by small stone…. Change front and rear door speaker after 3+ years after ‘sound pecah’… Engine leaking after 4+ years(cost me 2k+)to fixed it …Subaru SC want to charged me 4K+ to fixed this… and tyre are expensive(change to Michilin since day one own the CAR) can’t afford to use this car now.. I’m selling off…

• RyanT on Sep 17, 2022 at 12:01 pm

How come my friend’s XV crosstrek no issue at all since 2017? He has been using it till now

• RyanT on Sep 17, 2022 at 12:04 pm

U must be Honda hardcore or SA…haaa

• Spot on. There are more honda fanboys here trying to pull down subaru sales

• 4yrs+ owner here. Some problems I had like what you said. The air cond coil leak.

• Reffer on Sep 19, 2022 at 9:17 am

Every cars have problem. No cars are perfect. But many XV owners have no issues and complaints at all

• I’ve test driven the XV. Overall, I’m fine with the size as I prefer compact cars but for an SUV, the boot space is too small. It’s about the same size as a Golf or CX3 but physically, it’s a much bigger vehicle. This new Crosstrek could have fixed that shortcoming but it looks about the same, but I’ll wait for the actual car to be here to confirm that.

And personally, they went overboard with the plastic cladding in weird shapes trying to make it look different. Fortunately, that can be hidden by choosing the diamond black paint… or whatever name they called this very dark gray paint.

• Much better and look sporty than HRV

• Everything sounds and looks great except the front cabin. I though the center console (two-tiered screen) of the current model is ugly until I saw this new version with the 11.6″ touchscreen. What an ugly design!!! What is Subaru thinking?! Take a cue from Mazda’s cabin. Simple, elegant and functional.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • it is like old iriz front aircond vent?

• Piano on Sep 17, 2022 at 8:43 pm

Reminds me of old Iriz front aircond vent, yes it is. But every designers comes out with different ideas

• Seribu on Sep 17, 2022 at 8:34 pm

Bring it here soon. This is nice

• Piano on Sep 17, 2022 at 8:42 pm

Beauty is eyeholder. Design is subjective. But at least this have many changes and also for outside, despite still using analog digital meter like 2022 XV, but come with bigger touchscreen like Tesla.

• Guys, have you all even drive the XV before? Comparing space size lah, plastic here there lah, air cond vent design lah blah blah…. is pointless. Take it to some winding road aka Genting and Menora Tunnel climb and you will see how this XV shine!!. The asymmetrical 4WD and Boxer engine is UNBEATABLE in terms of handling compare to other SUV. NO, please don’t bring in Sedan car to compare!!

• I’m existing XV owner here, having is for more than 4 yrs.
    Let make it simple. Subaru best part is handling. Worse part is low quality parts. From new car the till 4xxxx km the coiling coil need to replace. The seat control panel broken. The door did not close fit. Need to slam the driver door bit hard. The AWD is the best, the tyre didn’t swap front and rear but 4 tyre marks fading very equally. The full tank is about 63L and could give you easily hit 550km (In town alone). Early morning the engine start up bit noisy when in cold and once it warm up, the engine will bit silent more. The engine runs bit hotter than others car I have. The boot is small but the rear leg room is spacious. If cruising more than 120km/h it won;t go faster enough as you wish. Sometimes this is annoying when driving in highway. Driving up hill is sufficient but not high speed. Yes, very plastic. Air cond is cold enough. The front light bit cacat when roll out from the plant. The led ray projection is not far enough. Most probably less than 35 feet.

• There was a glare/reflection issue with the screen which made it hard to read the screen. Is this fixed in current and new model?

• Anonymous_C on Sep 19, 2022 at 2:10 pm

Overall if I am reading right, overall mechanically XV as a product will have a cost of a small SUV ownership price.

Think the coiling coil issue is common, but Subaru did not state this as defect category.

Assemble by TCM therefore will have some low quality local parts, tried to claim steering wheel leather wrap but local Subaru says out of warranty grace period.

Mechanically this vehicle perform as it is design to… but too bad original parts are price quite high.

• Anyone has any idea when this model will be launched in Malaysia? Just placed booking for the current model, thinking to wait for this model as it looks much sportier.