Colour updates for the 2022 Yamaha YZF-R25 sportsbike and MT-25 naked sports while price for both is now RM22,998 in Malaysia. This is an increase over the previous prices of RM19,998 for the R25 and RM21,500 for the MT-25.
New colour options for next year are Orange Lynx and Racing Blue for the R25 while the MT-25 is available in Cyan Storm and Icon Blue. Otherwise, aside from the braking system on the R25, there are no other changes for this pair of quarter-litre motorcycle from Yamaha.
Power comes from a two-cylinder, liquid-cooled mill displacing 249 cc. Power is claimed to be 35.5 hp at 12,000 rpm with the R25 getting 22.6 Nm of torque at 10,000 rpm while the MT-25 gets 23.6 Nm at 10,000 rpm.
Differences lie in the bodywork, the R25 with its full fairing and the MT25 being a naked sports with 14.3 litre and 14 litre fuel tanks, respectively. Meanwhile, the R25 weighs in at 169 kg while the MT-25 tips the scales at 167 kg.
Other equipment stays the same, with LED lighting throughout and single hydraulic brake discs front and rear with two-channel ABS, which, for the R25, is new. Suspension is done with non-adjustable upside-down forks in front and preload-adjustable monoshock at the back, while tyre sizes are 110/70 front and 140/70 rear on 17-inch wheels.
2022 Yamaha YZF-R25 Orange Lynx
2022 Yamaha YZF-R25 Racing Blue
2022 Yamaha MT-25 Cyan Storm
2022 Yamaha MT-25 Icon Blue
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
i think honda cbr250 looks better…and sounds better too.
“there are no other changes”
So they increase on R25’s price by RM3k just for new colours? RM3k but still no ABS? The Ninja 250, with ABS, assist+slipper clutch is cheaper than this R25. What a joke.
Seriously, what were they thinking?
I thought because they’re close to releasing a new version next couple of years. But usually they would already revealed that in other countries and Malaysia often would be late to the party, so I doubt that’s happening. Charging RM3k just for new colours but still doesn’t have the basic safety feature that is ABS, is just unacceptable. The MT-25 has one, why not R25, HLY???
No ABS but people still buy. Because it’s Yangmahal.
“Kenapa jual murah, kalau boleh jual mahal”
Ada ABS la deii !!
Yaa.. kaler dah la tiru vf3i LE V2…
Oii ada ABS la
Actually, you are right. I read other local articles, they stated that the new R25 comes with ABS and LED signals. Which is very good! In Paultan’s article, it stated “there are no other changes” so I thought all other specs are the same as previous model for both bikes. I read the whole article again but still I feel like this article failed to mentioned the upgrades R25 received. Nevertheless, I apologise for the mistake.
Paultan, please make some edits on this article so that it clearly states the R25 upgrades. As of for now, it is very vague.
Hi, thanks for pointing this out and yes, the wording in the article is a little vague. Amendments have been made to the title and content.
Orang kata biar tak nsem jangan buta je.
Finally R25 w/ABS, can’t wait!
new r25 have 2 new colors..and they have ABS front and rear guys..loved it
Adding on ABS is a good thing, but the colour choices? Japan has released 4 different trims including the 60th year anniversary edition..Only Blue and Orange for us? Blue is fine, but orange is not everyone’s favourite. Colours for Msian market could’ve been better..