Works ministry says report stating that Malaysia has the 12th worst quality roads in the world is inaccurate

The works ministry says that the news report published by a local daily indicating Malaysia as having the 12th worst-quality roads in the world was inaccurate, misleading and gave a negative perception of the overall quality of roads in Malaysia, Bernama reports.

In a statement, the ministry said the data published by US-based online driver’s education firm Zutobi, which was used as the reference for the article, calculated the scores based on only four factors (road quality, improvements in road quality, road deaths and the relative size of the road network) and only took into account the data from 59 countries. This data was sourced from business and economic data website The Global Economy.

It said that another news report published in August, in which the road quality in Malaysia was ranked the 21st best in the world, ahead of Australia, Britain and New Zealand, was also based on the report issued by The Global Economy, but referenced 141 countries.

The ministry said The Global Economy report also cited authentic sources from an executive study involving 14,000 business leaders from 144 countries who participated in the World Economic Forum based in Davos, Switzerland.

Malaysia scored 5.3 points out of the total seven points to be placed 21st in the earlier study, surpassing Sweden (23), Canada (31), Australia (33) and Britain (37). Malaysia was also ranked second in Southeast Asia, after Singapore.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Dettol on Oct 05, 2022 at 11:02 am

As expected. And what is so proud of being 2nd in Southeast Asia ? Lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Lets See on Oct 06, 2022 at 8:49 am

We don’t have to spend excessive money on roads like the 1st in Southeast Asia?

• maybe we are the 21st best roads in the world but is it actually a good road? Just improve it. no reason to bark back. If it’s good, make it better. If it’s not good, improve it. Fight with result. not words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • digidigi on Oct 05, 2022 at 11:08 am

malaysia always find excuse, never try to improve, hidup BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
  • Syok sendiri cakap. Try using cheap cars and drive. All ministers drive vellfire mana ada feel. If they develop an app to report all the faulty roads, it means that either the governing body is not doing their job (malas to be specific) or they’re using the rakyat to report, and the governing body goyang kaki (also malas). If really you say we are amongst the top, why so many case where the rakyat tampal jalan? Not saying that you have to repair the whole malaysian roads. Repair the major and critical first lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • st3wp1d on Oct 05, 2022 at 2:03 pm

try ride a kapchai for themself for a week, see if they didnt jump into any lopak, or bump onto a mainhole

• Vellfire very boucy and klick klack all over the dashboard. The whole car will be unsettled on lubang road. I sold my alphard 2021 cheaply after 1 year and change to BMW 530i and now thats the real luxury and carpet feeling suspension and noise insulation. Vellwire or alphard is 90 pct second hand recon. The car vibrate a lot and very floaty and the interior quality sucks with rattlings. I tried 10 alphard frm a few car dealer the same. The UMW they dont have stock for me to test I dunno. End of the day, is still a van, and mostly for bodyguard in the other country. No wonder bosses or gov heads always rode in Merc or BMW, real class and quality.

• newme on Oct 05, 2022 at 11:09 am

If you say no rasuah in the ministry, they will say accurate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Disappointed road user on Oct 05, 2022 at 11:50 am

You’re right it’s inaccurate. It suppose to be in the top 5.

• Real Joke on Oct 05, 2022 at 11:52 am

Just ask yourself.

How many trips out of 10 trips (more than 5km drives) that you make usually will you encounter bad roads be it potholes, rough road, damaged signs or lights and non-visible roadlines?

What grade do you give the roads in your travels?
    Mine failed miserably at ZERO trip.
    lol….

• Just ask yourself.

How many trips out of 10 trips (more than 5km drives) that you make usually will you encounter bad roads be it potholes, rough road, damaged signs or lights and non-visible roadlines?

What grade do you give the roads in your travels?
    Mine failed miserably at ZERO trip.
    lol….

• @Snakebabu on Oct 05, 2022 at 12:23 pm

I can neither deny nor agree without the Secretary’s approval..LOL

• And this is why we can never improve. No humility, no common sense, NO SHAME! Instead of spending the time to brainstorm how to improve roads all they do is come up with excuses to refute findings.

• macampondan on Oct 05, 2022 at 1:34 pm

i agree.. 12th place is not correct. it should be the worst.

• inaccurate? Prove it!

• Myvi is King on Oct 05, 2022 at 2:13 pm

Accurate? Prove it!
      Malaysia having the 12th worst quality road IN THE WORLD is absolutely rubbish.

I have travelled the world and worked/lived abroad for many years, and driven thousands of kilometers on roads on many continents including Europe and Africa. While Malaysian roads are not perfect, the roads in so many other countries are far much worse.

Surely there must be other ways to get the responsible parties to improve our roads rather than put down our country. It becomes tiresome (pun intended) when I have to explain to the foreigners I meet when they ask, “Is it true the roads in your country are 12th worst in the world? Does it take you 8 hours to drive 120km because the roads are so bad?”. Personally I have driven that 120km in 8 hours because the roads are horrible and we cross rivers in waist-deep water because the bridges were broken.

Use your vote wisely at the next election and demand your ADUN/MP to do something about the roads in your area :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • seancorr on Oct 05, 2022 at 1:37 pm

Come on, everyone in Malaysia knows how shit out roads are. If they are so confident with the quality of their roads, allow us to claim for cracked rims and damaged shock absorbers.

• ujinboi on Oct 05, 2022 at 4:16 pm

See Kota Kinabalu or specifically PAIN Borneo road, then you will understand what is the WORST roads in Malaysia. Don’t believe, drive from Kota Kinabalu towards Sandakan, I am sure you will agree with Sabahans.

• transformer on Oct 05, 2022 at 4:27 pm

come JB and you’ll see how accurate is it

wake up!

• wolveray on Oct 05, 2022 at 6:45 pm

Actually,the federal roads are in better condition than state road.
    I live in Pj and yet the state government is so bad in maintaining state roads there are many potholes waiting for months to repair.
    Yet in Melaka the state road are so good a nd pretty.lots of flower on the side road.
    Even in Johor the state roads are much better than in pj with lots of pothole waiting months for repair.

• what exactly is works ministry job portfolio?
    seems like the least working department ^^

• Lets See on Oct 06, 2022 at 8:50 am

https://paultan.org/2021/02/08/60-of-tarred-roads-in-selangor-have-expired-report/
      What is the role of Pakatan in Selangor job portfolio?
      seems like the least working gomen ^^

• Lol.. u got go out and see or not? Or u just sit in office lepak whole day and night?

• bettercallsaul on Oct 06, 2022 at 4:14 pm

DO YOU KNOW YOU HAVE RIGHTS AS ROAD USERS?
    If you car is damaged due to negligence, or poor road maintenance by your local council, you are entitled to file a report for compensation. If you are involved in an accident, again, in parts due to poor road conditions, you are allowed to sue the local council for damages and emotional suffering. Better Call Saul!

https://www.thesundaily.my/local/motorists-can-make-claims-for-vehicle-damage-from-potholes-KJ8931590

https://malaysianlitigator.com/2021/03/10/legal-recourses-for-pothole-accidents/

• Hahaha on Oct 06, 2022 at 9:56 pm

Jgn cakap buta la your mother fakka. You thought we dont drive using your so quality road everyday is it? A short drive frm Wangsa Maju to Jln Ampang you can experience off roading no need go to jungle la. Whole KL is the same, quality road your ashore, lobang road is it? Flooding season coming continue talk cok la. Shld thanks the DBKL and their few macai construction company. Dont buy second hand car year 2015 to 2025. All suspension gear box will be nightmare.

• I seriously question that validity of the result from globaleconomy.com
    Anyone who lives in Brunei will tell you that the roads in Brunei is heads and shoulder better than any in Malaysia. There is a popular joke among the locals. The passengers can take a nap and as soon as they passed through the border, they would know they are in Malaysia because the roads are significantly more bumpy and loud.

• Darren on Oct 08, 2022 at 8:26 am

No lah he is right not the 12th, should rank higher for having terrible roads

• Jeff Majid on Oct 09, 2022 at 11:00 am

It would be great if the Works Ministry would look at improving the potholes, really poor quality patch up work, roads damaged by concrete mixers, etc to further improve our quality of roads to be the top 5 in the world if not number 1. We can all see how some roads in KL, and Malaysia are really bad. Comparing our roads to other countries just shows we are concerned about standings rather than quality of roads for our people and their lives. Let’s strive to be world class for our people.

• Kalau jalan Mesia cantik sangat kenapa bila hujan selalu banjir