2022 Ford Ranger Raptor in Malaysia – 3.0L twin-turbo V6 petrol, 397 PS, 583 Nm, Baja Mode, RM260k

Sime Darby Auto Connexion has launched the new Ford Ranger Raptor, following the launch of the all-new Ranger in July. It’s priced RM259,888 on-the-road without insurance and is accompanied by a five-year/160,000km manufacturer’s warranty, whichever comes first. Customers can opt for a two-year extended warranty with PremiumCare offering a range of coverages.

The main highlight of the Raptor is the new 3.0 litre twin-turbo petrol V6 engine which produces a whopping 397 PS at 5,650 rpm and 583 Nm at 3,500 rpm, figures that make the Raptor the most powerful production Ranger ever. The engine block is made of compacted graphite iron that’s 75% stronger than traditional iron castings. It is also the same material used in Ford’s NASCAR engines.

There’s no official 0-100 km/h acceleration time quoted anywhere yet, but Australian media have reportedly managed a 5.8 second time during a test.

If that isn’t impressive enough, the Raptor also comes with an anti-lag system. Activated through the Baja Mode, the system keeps the turbochargers spinning for up to three seconds after the driver lifts off the throttle. This allows quicker and more responsive power delivery when the driver gets back on the accelerator.

Alongside the most aggressive Baja mode, there are six other drive modes available including Normal, Sport, Slippery, Rock, Mud and Ruts, and Sand. Allowing the V6 engine to sing at higher notes is an active valve exhaust system featuring an X-pipe and electronically-controlled valves to deliver different exhaust notes. There are four exhaust modes – Quiet, Normal, Sport, and Baja – and can be selected with a dedicated button on the steering wheel.

The V6 engine is paired to a revised 10-speed SelectShift automatic gearbox where each gear is programmed with its own boost profile. The new Ranger Raptor is now equipped with Fox adaptive suspension with new 2.5-inch Live Valve internal bypass shock absorbers. The absorbers are filled with Teflon-infused oil for 50% reduced friction from before.

There are sensors in place to monitor road conditions and the drivers input 500 times a second to adjust the damping rates accordingly. The adaptive Fox absorbers also come with a race-proven Bottom-Out Control system that provides maximum damping force in the last 25% of damper travel. The system can stiffen the rear absorbers to prevent the Raptor from squatting (at the rear) under hard acceleration. The Ford says it’s the most sophisticated dampers ever fitted on a Ranger.

The Raptor’s chassis has also been enhanced with a reinforced frame structure, stronger front shock towers, and rear shock brackets to withstand harsh off-road conditions. Also new is a unique spare tyre mount. The new Raptor now features lightweight aluminium upper and lower control arms, along with a Watts link coil spring suspension system at the rear.

The underbody now gets additional protection from a 2.3 mm thick steel front bash plate that’s double the size of a standard Ranger. The bash plate along with the engine and transfer case covers help protect key components such as the radiator, steering rack, engine sump, and front differential.

For the first time, the Ranger Raptor gets an advanced permanent four-wheel drive system with an all-new electronically-controlled on-demand two-speed transfer case. It also gets front and rear locking differentials which can be operated on-the-go from the infotainment screen.

Additionally, the Raptor is also equipped with Trail Control which is essentially a cruise control feature for off-roading. The system operates up to speeds of 32 km/h, managing acceleration and braking while the driver is only required to steer the car.

As for dimensions, the Raptor measures 5,381 mm in length, 2,028 mm in width, 1,922 mm in height with a 3,270 mm wheelbase, and 272 mm ground clearance. For off-roading, it has a 32-degree approach angle, and up to a 27-degree departure angle. The Raptor’s wading depth is up to 800 mm while kerb weight is 2,430 kilograms. The front end is now fitted with Matrix LED headlamps with C-clamp LED daytime running lights.

The Matrix headlamps feature predictive curve lights, glare-free high beams, and auto dynamic levelling to improve forward visibility without glaring at the oncoming traffic. It can even adjust the intensity of the beam depending on the speed of the vehicle.

The air vents by the front fenders and front hood are actually functional. The Ranger Raptor is fitted with 17-inch alloy wheels wrapped in 285/70 R17 BF Goodrich KO2 all-terrain tyres. Both side mirrors are fitted with cameras and puddle lamps, while the new taillamps feature an integrated blindspot radar. Unlike before, the new Raptor prominently shows off its dual exhaust tips while the cargo bed comes with a 12V socket and 230V three-pin socket.

What may not be obvious is the third brake light which is now positioned on the tailgate instead of being mounted above the rear windscreen before. Unlike the previous Raptor, the tailgate also features Ranger indentations. In terms of colour options, the Ranger Raptor can be had in the new Code Orange, in addition to Absolute Black, Arctic White, Blue Lightning, and Conquer Grey.

If you’re not tired of reading about the Ranger Raptor yet, there’s a myriad of toys to further explore inside the car. For starters, you get a pair of F22 fighter jet-inspired bucket seats with splashes of the Raptor’s signature Code Orange.

Both seats come with 11-way powered adjustments, with lumbar support as standard. Aside from the magnesium paddle shifters, the steering wheel also comes with buttons to adjust the suspension, exhaust, and steering wheel. There’s even an ‘R’ button that serves as an individual mode. Up ahead is a high-resolution 12.4-inch digital instrument cluster while to the side is a 12-inch infotainment touchscreen with Ford’s SYNC 4A system.

Standard features include a wireless charging pad, wireless Apple CarPlay, and Android Auto, 360-degree surround view monitor, ambient lighting, four USB ports (2x USB-A, 2x USB-C), and the most noteworthy of all, an eight-speaker Bang & Olufsen sound system. Unlike before, the Ranger Raptor now comes with dashboard storage and a new door lever mechanism.

A new e-shifter and electric parking brake free up extra storage space on the centre console but that’s not all. The e-shifter also works hand-in-hand with the auto-parking feature where all the driver needs to do is hold on to the auto-park button and the Raptor will steer, accelerate, reverse and brake on its own. Above the front passengers is an overhead panel with six auxiliary switches for off-road lighting, air compressors and other accessories. Each switch can be hooked up to power a different electronic.

Safety features include seven airbags including curtain and driver knee airbag, pre-collision assist, evasive steer assist, reverse brake assist, a blindspot monitor with cross-traffic alert, lane keeping system with road edge detection, lane centering, adaptive cruise control with stop-go, and active park assist.

Learn more: ,

Pan Eu Jin

Pan Eu Jin is a firm believer that good things don’t come cheap, but cheap cars can be good. How a car makes you feel behind the wheel or as a passenger should be more important than the brand it represents.

• TngTng on Oct 07, 2022 at 11:46 am

Wish Everest had this engine option in MY

• Pengguna Bijak on Oct 07, 2022 at 2:31 pm

Fuel economy estimated 12L/100km (on-road) with 80L fuel tank capacity.

• Tngtng on Oct 07, 2022 at 7:07 pm

Currently, my FC is 10L/100km .
        So, extra 2L per 100kms make no difference.
        Or probably I am a pengguna yg x beberapa pandai kot noh .

• Sikit sikit laa..
          Ford Maverick is doing much better with 2.5Hybrid Petrol, 6.3L/100km instead of >12L/100km.

• Then everest with this engine will cost you 400k++ easily. Haha

• Squid on Oct 07, 2022 at 11:52 am

Is it weird that I hate pick-ups but so badly want this?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
  • MB sanusi on Oct 07, 2022 at 12:15 pm

Mantapp

• Fordist on Oct 07, 2022 at 12:18 pm

The Best Truck in Asia. Period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Ground europe passenger on Oct 07, 2022 at 12:29 pm

This beast endanger other road users if in the hand of dangerous driving people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr on Oct 07, 2022 at 1:18 pm

Damn this is tempting. I don’t need a pickup but…argh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Go for it on Oct 08, 2022 at 2:19 pm

Why u dont need a pickup?
      Modern pickups are all in one. U get a ‘city friendly’ vehicle, load mover, people mover, long distance vehicle, sports ‘car…..all in one package.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Bossku yearning for Starbucks machiato on Oct 07, 2022 at 1:35 pm

400 hp and 500 N torque…if there is no control as to driver” suitability”..this monster can turn into killing machines,when they overtake recklessly.
    This monster is like mini lorry size but has such enormous torque,that a misjudged head on collision at high speeds..can u imagine the fatalities?
    Make no mistake,the King of the road MYVI is no match in a head on smash up with this 3.0 litre twin turbo.This Raptor is actually the King of the Road,when they up the power when overtaking 5 cars in a row.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 18
    • Putim on Oct 08, 2022 at 2:24 pm

Actually it’s not very fast from the 397PS for its 2.3tonne + kg.
      0-100 only 7.5seconds+, cornering also struggle due to its weight, higher CG and offroad Tyre choice.

It’s not a beast on the road,
      It’s only faster at bushless offroad.

• syock on Jan 01, 2023 at 8:42 am

go and test drive one then you will say otherwise. This thing corners better than a civic or myvi

• Bangun lerr on Oct 11, 2022 at 9:06 pm

Brader..wake up or start mixed around more.
      Any modern pickup got torque number which exceeds whatever it is the owner wants to do.
      Are they dangerous?
      They are just as dangerous as any other vehicle put in the wrong hand.
      And….with low range you wont belive how much twisting force is multiplied thru the gearbox and transferred to the wheel.

• Bangkok on Oct 07, 2022 at 2:24 pm

In Bangkok people prefer this over new c class same price plenty of this in rural Thailand market

• YesSir on Oct 09, 2022 at 11:47 am

But you do know that Thailand does not have as much paved road as Malaysia, right? Only Bangkok and major cities have paved roads. In the ourskirts, most of the roads are still dirt roads. In Malaysia we are lucky to have paved roads everywhere around the country. So the need for a pickup truck is lesser.

• Romeo on Oct 07, 2022 at 2:42 pm

Lying close to you feeling your heart beating
    And I’m wondering what you’re dreaming
    Wondering if it’s me you’re seeing
    Then I kiss your eyes and thank God we’re together
    And I just wanna stay with you
    In this moment forever, forever and ever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • 3.0 V6 turbo petrol on a truck….that will be both powerful and gas guzzler

• Any use facing 10 speed gb problem b4?

• Ranger Driver on Oct 07, 2022 at 5:05 pm

Nope, i’ve been using the 10 spd gearbox on the 2.0 biturbo wildtrac for 3 years. No problems, it runs really nice, gb oil service & filter was done at 55,000km.

• Jesse on Oct 07, 2022 at 5:17 pm

Yup. barely 2 months after warranty expired. Very fragile.

• If you find Australian’s articles for Ranger 2022:

““We are aware of the engine issues and the transmission issues,” she said.

“We’re not necessarily very proud of those.”

• Lim cb on Oct 07, 2022 at 8:11 pm

My 10 speed gearbox faulty at 30KM milage.
      It fail again at 60KM.
      I sold it off undar warranty period.

• Lim cb on Oct 07, 2022 at 8:12 pm

Mine faulty at 30KM milage.
      It fail again at 60KM.
      I sold it off undar warranty period.

• Lim cb on Oct 07, 2022 at 8:14 pm

Mine 1st year kaput, 2nd year kaput again.
      Sold before warranty end

• Argly on Oct 07, 2022 at 3:41 pm

That face is weird

It’s like Mouth Wide opening, showing rotten dark teeth.

• tricycle on Oct 07, 2022 at 4:02 pm

Yesss. The best ever pickup truck in Malaysia. The truck even beat the c43 amg in terms of high usability, ACC with stop and go and many more functions and conveniences. Many of us don’t need truck. But this, this mighty little truck might change some of us. And the price too is fairly reasonable.

• hailak foreber on Oct 07, 2022 at 4:07 pm

habisla hailak macamni, berapa tiang kena tinggal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • Jesse on Oct 07, 2022 at 5:15 pm

Hopefully not the 10 speed gearbox installed on biturbo 2.0 2019 Wildtrak. Very fast but transmission system super fragile. Driven as a city car, but transmission faulty barely 2 months after expiry of warranty. I regretted having purchased Ford Ranger.

• Wow this pickup truck is so much better specced than other luxury sedans locally.

• Lim cb on Oct 07, 2022 at 8:16 pm

Mine 1st year kaput, 2nd year kaput again.
    Sold before warranty end

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Lim cb on Oct 07, 2022 at 8:17 pm

Paul tan not allow me to post my comment.
    Anyway mine screw up 2 times in 2 years

• dellen on Oct 07, 2022 at 8:28 pm

how many times you want to post this oh uncle… i count got at least 4 times

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Lim cb on Oct 07, 2022 at 8:17 pm

Paul tan not allow me to post my comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Bossku having it so good,daily Starbucks machiatto on Oct 08, 2022 at 11:41 am

Lim C B…u know why Paultan deny your posting?
      Your name too obnoxious and vulgar.Lim Chee B..
      Better go our gomen dept to change your name.
      Bye..see you soon with new name.

• I suddenly wish I have a farm… so that I can buy this truck! Hahaha! Man, it’s more powerful than some AMG and M cars! Perfect for durian runs. Lol

• I don’t have a truck. I need the truck now since I need to travel state with poor road. Tomorrow I’m going to test drive this raptor and see how it performance. I hope is satisfy me

• G. Ali on Oct 08, 2022 at 8:08 am

Absolutely the best truck probably in the East. Thank you Aussie team for the Ford Ranger Raptor. Even the States wanna get hold of this beast!!

• Ramesh on Oct 08, 2022 at 8:47 am

Better stick with Older Diesel Raptor.
    At least it still have a Handbrake, a more proper rugged Shift Gear Handle.

This one looks souless manuevering for offroad.

• Suzuki Jimny with its mechanical shift, size,
    Still keep it best fun compared to this for offroad getaway.

• Buy both ! on Oct 17, 2022 at 1:58 am

Comparing apples to oranges… Both are excellent in their specific categorie.

• Blue Oval Guy on Oct 08, 2022 at 1:06 pm

Heard that they’re using a different 10 speed gearbox, different from the one found in the last gen Wildtrek.. it’s the 10 speed Getrag gearbox from the Raptor, so let’s hope that it will last

• James Hiew on Oct 10, 2022 at 9:25 am

Which outlet got ready stock

• Dilemma would be if it would be better to top up and get a land cruiser / ninja king. Also the turning radius on this is not great especially if you need to park in a basement parking.

• Mfjzalia on Oct 27, 2022 at 5:56 pm

Ford Raptor Next Gen 2022 so ugly and funny! Pls remove or change the front lamp look like orang rabun pakai kaca mata. Memang tak laku dan tak ada sambutan ini model. Lebih cantik model sebelum ini.

• AZAMIRUDDIN AHMAD on Nov 03, 2022 at 3:41 pm

Padu sifu.

• Sir franke on Nov 26, 2022 at 5:50 pm

What meanings A4? . before this just show 2H 4H 4L .