2023 GWM Haval H6 Hybrid sighted in Malaysia – C-segment SUV; 1.5T, 7DCT, 243 PS; launching soon?

The Haval H6 has been spotted in Malaysia again, this time without any camouflage unlike previous sightings. The H6 is one of a few models earmarked to be launched here by Great Wall Motor Malaysia, with others mentioned being the Haval Jolion and Ora Good Cat.

Judging by the ‘HEV’ badges, the red and blue examples you see here feature a hybrid powertrain. The H6 Hybrid is nothing new and was first revealed in Thailand last March, with two variants offered to customers there, according to Headlightmag. The base option is the HEV Pro priced at 1.149 million baht (RM142,286), while the range-topping HEV Ultra goes for 1.249 million baht (RM154,670).

The H6 Hybrid’s powertrain is comprised of a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission mated to a 1.5 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine that serves up 167 PS and 285 Nm of torque. The mill is augmented by an electric motor rated at 177 PS (130 kW) to produce a total system output of 243 PS and 530 Nm.

The cars in these photos appear to share the same equipment, including 19-inch wheels, a 10.25-inch digital instrument cluster, a 12.3-inch touchscreen infotainment system, combination leather/fabric upholstery and advance driver assistance systems (given the presence of the front radar sensor).

It should be noted that the front face you see here is shared with the Plug-in Hybrid variant, which sports a more prominent grille with chromed dashed lines. The Hybrid and regular internal combustion engine versions of the H6 are supposed to get a diamond pattern grille insert instead.

However, Chinese media outlets report that a special edition of the H6 was revealed in China last year – dubbed the Supreme Plus – that came with the Plug-in Hybrid face but was offered with hybrid and non-hybrid powertrains. Perhaps that’s what we’re looking at here. When it goes on sale here, the H6 will compete against other C-segment SUVs like the Honda CR-V, Mazda CX-5 and Proton X70.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kancil Hybrid on Oct 18, 2022 at 6:11 pm

Tapau X70, CRV, X-Trail, Santa Fe dan sewaktu dengannya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Kassim B Khairul on Oct 18, 2022 at 11:53 pm

Dulu China datang, tak habis2 belasah mrk. Sekarang kritik2 dan sewaktu dengannya tak habis2 jilat ludah mrk. Amboiiii!!!!

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 18, 2022 at 9:11 pm

that lexus badge copy is cringe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • 1. There is a difference between a badge and a logo. Haval badge is the one on the grill. Lexus badge was an italic L with an oval around it.
      2. Haval started using the lettering logo on the rear since 2016 in combination with their rectangular badge on the grill. Lexus just started in 2020/21. Do you want to cringe at yourself now?
      3. Volvo was one the earliest to use letters for their logo, back in 1959 for a short period. In 2020, they started using it again on the rear but still have their iconic badge on the grill.

If you’re serious about car history and not make yourself look like a fool, remind yourself that Google is your Uncle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • ROTI CANAI on Oct 24, 2022 at 5:07 pm

the moment when u started using volvo as a support for your flawed logic is cringe in itself. lame china komunis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Axepro on Oct 18, 2022 at 9:23 pm

Hope one day we can have Xpeng,Byd,Nio and Li auto

• Actually the car is quite good looking. Haval has got to work on getting new logo for their brand cuz it looks so damn cheap with that one. And seriously cant they make the HAVAL words at the back bigger ? Lulz

• Photocopy Machine on Oct 19, 2022 at 12:56 pm

They outright stole Peugeot front design. Pathetic copycats

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Can I know whether buying this brand is good? Is it reliable?

• Afiq Azam on Oct 19, 2022 at 5:36 pm

Buying this brand is bang for the buck or not? Is it reliable. Just curious on the quality and after sales also.

• tapsoba on Oct 20, 2022 at 1:17 pm

If you’re worried about that, don’t be one of the firsts to buy. But if you have extra allocated budget for it, then I suggest referring to forums from other country who have used this to find out what issue it might have. It might not be easy to read or find but that’s your best bet.

• this brand used to a s*** brand that nobody wants to touch and those who do most ppl look down on… now,China brands are on par with kimchis and sushis already. well done lah

• OrangBiasa on Oct 21, 2022 at 6:46 pm

Can’t wait for this one. Haval is a solid and affordable car

• Evelyn chauke on Nov 08, 2022 at 12:49 am

H6 price

• mak chee wah on Nov 19, 2022 at 10:39 pm

bila masuk h6 hybrid car