Tun M questions PH pledge to abolish toll on PLUS, says people ‘know that the country needs tolls’

Earlier this week, DAP chairman Lim Guan Eng spoke about the 18% reduction in PLUS toll rates when Pakatan Harapan was in power, adding that PH “can abolish tolls” on the highway if it wins the 15th general election (GE15) and gets another term as the government.

Now, Gerakan Tanah Air (GTA) chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad is questioning that pledge, saying that it’s an old promise and one that’s not feasible.

According to FMT, the two-time former prime minister questioned where the funds would come from to repair the highways, if not from tolls.

“They (previously) claimed that they will abolish tolls. This time around, they are still promising to do the same. I don’t believe the people will support them because they know that the country needs tolls,” the Langkawi MP said at a GTA event in Bangi yesterday.

Now, some might point to Germany’s Autobahn being high speed, safe and toll-free. That’s true, but that federal highway network – famous for having ‘no speed limits’ – is somewhat of an outlier in being free for cars, even in Europe. It’s harder to collect no tolls when you need the private sector to fund construction costs and maintenance, as is the practice here. What’s your take on this toll issue?

By the way, both Lim and Mahathir were on the same side making the same promise in the last GE.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sohai on Nov 03, 2022 at 10:38 am

Rubbish, it’s the big CEO, board of directors and their cronies in the government that need the toll. The highways can be properly maintained if govt coffers are well managed

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 7
    • DonkeyKong on Nov 03, 2022 at 12:36 pm

I take it that you have absolutely no experience or knowledge of any kerja raya and PFI projects?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Nov 03, 2022 at 1:08 pm

Is hard to comeby those DEADLOCK in contracts. Just like ECRL, U cancel or continue, not much difference between compensation and building cost. These concessionaires are well-designed by who appointed them. We all know-who

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
        • Angry Voters on Nov 03, 2022 at 1:15 pm

Its not that hard actually. Najib abolished 3-4 tolled highways during his 1 term even tho he promised such. How come PH are so incapable do to it when it is in their manifesto?

Oh right manifesto bukan kitab, so we should not trust it ergo we should not trust its maker, so meaning PH are untrustworthy. Tell us again why should we trust our votes to them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
          • Sunny on Nov 04, 2022 at 10:36 am

PH is not really perfect that makes some empty promises but not all, same like BN and PN. But wanting to steal money including using huge money by abolishing tolls and also for some PLUS highways or wanting traitor politician wants to lead again….no way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • Angry Voters on Nov 04, 2022 at 11:30 am

PH are just as 2×5, you forgot a particular tunnel project scandal now in court? The point is, all governments steal money, so what. Najib stole but he gave us 3-4 toll abolishments plus toll free Pan Borneo. PH stole but what did they gave us? 4 years of instability. We rather trust a donkey government that at least knew how to operate for 60 years than a jackass that doesn’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
          • @Angry voters

Because you are just low mentality. Yes, old PH rule wasn’t good but you don’t know that new PH rule if GE15 wins for PH will do better

• Just stfu on Nov 03, 2022 at 10:59 pm

Donkeykong penjilat tegar. Bkn masalah ada exp or xda exp. Engkau baru keluar gua ke? Xkan x tahu mcm mne mrk ni berfungsi? Benda murah je pun nak maintain. Yg jd kacau bilau lubang sana sini bila semua benda nk mmbsrkan perot masing2.

Nk kata aku sembang kari? Engkau cek la fakta CPI Malaysia mcm mana corrupt nya negara kita ni. Ranking kita makin bersih ke?

• Lolwhut? on Nov 04, 2022 at 11:32 am

2020 CPI reported Malaysia went down but guess what, that was for the performance of year 2019 which was during PH governance. Still believe PH is clean?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • Because of old PH rule but you are just low mentality just because you concerned of this…grow up. And you don’t know what happened new PH rule if wins in GE15

• DonkeyKong on Nov 04, 2022 at 11:54 pm

Waduhhh.. from your reply itself sudah guarantee 100% you have absolutely no idea.. kalau tak pernah buat kerja PMC dan tak pernah deal dgn KKR atau highway concessionaire, tak payah serlahkan kebodohan la weiii… buat malu je. Kalau maintenance dan opex ni sekadar tampal lubang je, ko punya pemahaman ni memang tahap budak sekolah rendah.

Masa buat projection PBH, CSR, WCE.. considerations utk semua ni banyak beza dari pelbagai segi. Lepas dah siap pun, traffic projection confirm lari.. sekarang TNB tukar tariff utk lampu kat highway je, cost projections semua lari. Ko ingat ongoing opex tu sekadar tampal jalan je ke? Memang cetek akal…

• Alasan? on Nov 06, 2022 at 11:06 pm

Cetek akal or wanna cover up coffee money? Then care to publish it publicly (transparent)?

It’s simple, don’t pusing2 around the bushes. The Rakyat already fed up with this kind of nonsense.

• davenport on Nov 03, 2022 at 10:49 am

Lol that last sentence!

• Sick & Tired on Nov 03, 2022 at 1:06 pm

This just proven that both him and Pakatan were big liars and only intent to win GE by any foul means necessary. No more PH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 37
      • Sunny on Nov 04, 2022 at 10:40 am

PH is not really perfect that makes some empty promises, same like BN and PN. But wanting to steal money or wanting traitor politicians to lead again…this is no way. No more BN and PN

• Amran on Nov 03, 2022 at 1:10 pm

PH sebelum menang janji atas angin dan langit bagi bulan dan bintang.
      Lepas menang bagi taik dan kencing pada rakyat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
      • Ada akal guna on Nov 04, 2022 at 5:39 pm

Ko dengan geng umno bongok ko je dapat taik dan kencing. Haram jadah punya otak.

• Ape semua ni merepek syaiton?

Ko undi PH dah terus kena sakau dorang… mane minyak RM1.50… mane tol dimansuhkan… mane hutang PTPTN dikosongkan… mane keta murah… mane kos sara hidup lebih rendah… org ada akal ko dah reput otak ke.

• Better not to abolish tolls for Plus Highways but agree to reduce price for tolls for Plus Highways. There is also pointless if Plus Highways and Elite will be abolished but congestion is still there. Foods and fuels that have already becoming more expensive, so better to reduce more price. No GST will be better. It is time to end backdoor and corrupted govenment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 03, 2022 at 2:25 pm

We dun care whether a gomen is black or white. We rather vote for a corrupt gomen that serves the rakyat interest than a clean gomen that serves their own interest. Time to put PH out of business!
      #BetterNationGE15LandslideWin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • Sunny on Nov 04, 2022 at 10:39 am

No matter what you say. This is no way what you said because if vote BN or PN, you want to let politicians to steal money from our people money including using huge money by abolishing tolls and also for some PLUS highways…..

• Squid on Nov 07, 2022 at 9:14 am

Civilised people with good moral values will never say things like this. Tsk tsk tsk…

• The biggest thief, always playing the racial cards, because of him, nothing progress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • Right? on Nov 06, 2022 at 11:17 pm

Because ‘he’ knew how to toy with Malays. Always blame us (the minority) for their own benefits. And as always the majority of the Malays percaya bulat2 about that (same shit different smell).

You think we care much of ‘handicap match’? Heck, even with handicap match also cannot beat us (we need to work twice/thrice as hard, your rezab quota here and there, no 7% discount etc).

Shame on you as majority, sepatutnya you get/control the big pie and help us the minority and not goyang kaki and wait for bantuan from gov.

Sorry guys, but the truth always hurts. We just want to live happily in this country.

• minum apa tuuu? He looks 75!

• While toll is inconvenient to all of us, I understand the reason toll needs to be collected. If toll abolished, how PLUS and other highway operators pay the maintenance bill and utility fee? All I need is transparency on their annual financial report stated how much they pay for maintenance, utilities and other expenses.

• Katheryne Wong on Nov 03, 2022 at 2:57 pm

Need cheaper tol, like 10sen for 20km and below etc

• Celup King on Nov 03, 2022 at 4:29 pm

Crazy logic from this old man. If people know that the country needs tolls, they would not have voted for PH that promised to abolish tolls.

• Autodriver on Nov 03, 2022 at 11:05 am

I hope all parties do not make stupid manifesto of toll free. It is absolutely stupid of toll free to encourage people to drive instead of taking public transport. If toll free mean road maintenance will bear by government which mean taxpayer gonna pay for it. It is absolutely not fair to people who do not using the particular highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Pak Sakau on Nov 03, 2022 at 11:11 am

“It’s harder to collect no tolls when you need the private sector to fund construction costs and maintenance, as is the practice here. ”

– It’s easier to maintain if no cronies corruption eating up national bajet RM billions every year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Farhan on Nov 03, 2022 at 11:20 am

Put in place ear marked taxation, based on CC of car. For private cars 50 sen per cc per year, busses at rm 1 per cc per year, commercial at rm 2 per cc per year. Those monies will be used for highway maintainence, influence lower cc purchases and create a hassle free, toll free highway network.

• Dah Menang Semua on Nov 03, 2022 at 11:21 am

This article is missing the full story. There were 2 parts of news: 1st part by LGE, 2nd part by Anthony Loke.

The DAP secretary-general added, toll abolishing cannot be done overnight. But toll reduction can be done, just like the 18% reduction after GE14-winning.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2022/11/02/ge15-highway-tolls-to-be-reduced-if-pakatan-wins-says-loke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • @Snakebabu on Nov 03, 2022 at 11:30 am

..apa nama..ya errr lupa plak

• PT reader on Nov 03, 2022 at 11:39 am

Dear sir, pls enjoy your life that you still can enjoy, other thing just give to others to deal with.

Toll or no toll let see in the future..

• Kea Was on Nov 03, 2022 at 12:00 pm

Actually isn’t only you who are so hyped up about toll plazas and also the 3rd National Car – and we all knows who are the taukes especially for your failure to keep on feeding us nonsense about how great is this Proton you developed while leaching / losing so much of our tax money to your sub-crony.

• Phudda singh on Nov 03, 2022 at 12:03 pm

U mamak done already massive damage to economy n political situation here,so u say whatever now falls on deaf ears,no one would fall in ur old ugly trap as u always did bfr ,

• He’d done massive damage to country, we already knew that, yet why oh why did we bring him back as PM again? And then he goes on to destroy us even further.

So who’s fault, is it him or the rakyats who brought him back for a second go at further destroying Malaysia?

• Hahaha on Nov 03, 2022 at 12:07 pm

Toll is required, that’s for sure. Not fair for taxpayers to fund for building and maintaining any expressways even though they hardly use them. If don’t want to pay too, then use the federal roads instead!!!

• Made In China on Nov 03, 2022 at 12:30 pm

2 x 5

• Something we agree with Tun M, something we disagree. But I still pray for his wellbeing as a former leader of our country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Up to you... on Nov 03, 2022 at 11:06 pm

Bagilah la peluang org muda pula. Org tua ni da lapuk da dek zaman. Org muda bila berbicara ssh benar org tua nk dgr, alasan mkn garam lebih lah etc.

Sebab tu rmai bila abes study keje kat luar, bkn sbb xnk majukan Malaysia ni (Ni fakta ya, smpi msuk berita). Tp tu lah, sbb rmai sgt org tua2 ni x nk dgr/x blh pendapat…

Da tua2 (beruban) tu especially yg kat tampuk pemerintahan kerajaan tu, duk rmh main dgn cucu cicit ke, x pun kalo rse nk masuk syurga, tinggalkan lah duniawi ni dan hadap lah tikar sejadah tu. Kurang2 dpt lah cuci dosa2 silam tu.

• Ben Yap on Nov 03, 2022 at 3:35 pm

there is no way the government can abolish toll and compensate the operators as there is a contract signed. also the government will not have enough money to pey the stakeholders and shareholders. as long as they can keep the inflation low, that’s good enough.

• hazri on Nov 03, 2022 at 5:26 pm

“They (previously) claimed that they will abolish tolls. This time around, they are still promising to do the same. I don’t believe the people will support them because they know that the country needs tolls,” the Langkawi MP said. Well, do you think people believe and support them just because they say can abolish tolls? Don’t be so naive tun, don’t insult people’s intellect. People don’t even care if toll abolish or not, what they care is which government care about them. And by giving 18% toll reduction last time till now is the proof who cares who. if they can give 18% discount, people believe they can give more discount if they are in power next time.

• You can learn from Abang Honda how to save by not paying tolls.

• Fed up on Nov 03, 2022 at 6:21 pm

Then just collect toll for maintenance loh.. don’t think u will need so much for repairs..

• Tolls only for cronies n scams. Why tolls a must???? We can choose to implement gst or not so as the tolls. Who knows the real cost of those highways? Who knows how much their collect from us? No body knows even the cabinet or especially we, the tax payers. That’s ridiculous!

• Francis on Nov 04, 2022 at 12:51 am

You old already. Better get sick, get lost, get dead!!!

• Levin on Nov 04, 2022 at 2:48 am

Actually we are already paying roadtax and still have to pay tolls on top of that? Already our cars are being heavily taxed which should be sufficient to cover whatever road maintenance work needed for the entire lifespan of the car usage. Besides that, we have about 15 million active registered cars on the road. Considering an average RM90 roadtax annually for a 1.6L car, that’s really a huge collection of road tax in a single year. 1 million car already nets RM90mill roadtax a year, that’s just simple calculation of 1.6L cars. Larger capacity cars pays more roadtax and the figure could be higher.

Seriously is our roads that great that we even require RM90 million to maintain is annually? Some places in Malaysia don’t even have proper roads and even toll paying highways have average road conditions with really bad facilities.

• Right? on Nov 06, 2022 at 11:20 pm

Because the road tax revenue that we pay not going to JKR. Actually Malaysia tax system are very funny. Same goes to housing, need to to pay multiple tax for the same dem things (cukai pintu, cukai tanah etc).

• Plus highway that most people only use it occasionally can have toll. I know there are people that use it day in day out but these are minority, sorry to say.

The big nuisance is the tens if not hundred of tolls here and there within Klang Valley that 90% of the motorist going through every day to work.

Ask yourself, are you happy paying toll everyday to work?
    Will you accept paying long distance high way toll only few times a year going back home town?

• Human on Nov 04, 2022 at 8:40 pm

Plus toll so cheap if compare by sen/km. Yup, kinda agreed with you for Klang valley area, so short but F expansive per km.

• call me by your name on Nov 05, 2022 at 10:48 am

shhh dont let PH supporters know that