Loose metal pipe flies off lorry, penetrates Perodua Ativa windscreen, ends up on front passenger seat

The scene depicted here could have been from a horror movie, except that it took place in reality, and therefore presented a very real risk to life and wellbeing. According to a video posted by Cass Cheng Sook Leng to Facebook, a metal pipe had come loose from a lorry travelling ahead of her vehicle in the next lane; this occurred on January 13 at 1:42pm, according to the vehicle owner.

From the dashcam footage, the metal pipe appeared to have come from the upper section of the lorry, and had lodged itself on the camera vehicle upon impact.

From subsequent photos taken by the vehicle’s owner, the metal pipe penetrated the vehicle’s windscreen and had almost entirely entered the passenger compartment, and the mark on the bonnet suggests that the pipe had first made contact with the bodywork before piercing the windscreen.

Most fortunately, there was no one in the front passenger seat of this Ativa, which had been almost fully occupied by the metal pipe at that point.

The vehicle owner noted that her dogs were in the vehicle with her at the time, however. A search of the coordinates displayed on the dashcam footage indicate that this occurred near the Rawang (Selatan) interchange on the PLUS highway, in the northbound direction.

Travelling in close proximity to other vehicles on the highway, there appeared to be little room for the vehicle involved in this incident to evade, and the dashcam vehicle had largely been keeping pace with the flow of traffic at the time. In any case, having a dashcam installed and operational helps to keep a record of any such incident that may occur, such as this one. It also helps to have a suitable storage medium.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Is Minister Anthony Loke doing something about this? Get APAD to investigate and terminate the owner transport licence and suspend the driver licence!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 3
    • Maverick Merpati on Jan 16, 2023 at 10:07 pm

Attention : All bad lorry drivers and mat rempits
      AhLokeKor is going UNDERCOVER again in a superbike at breakneck speed like a rempit ,to nab you.
      He has a James Bond type cam that can record all angles of law breaking.
      AHLOKEKOR: Ada gaya,mutu,keunggulan!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • Chanps on Jan 17, 2023 at 6:37 am

Please be realistic…we don’t pay the minister to investigate every road mishap…there are appropriate agencies to do that…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 6
      • Not every road mishap have to be investigated by the minister, but judging from the video recording, it would seem like it’s fault of overloading of the lorry, and this is an issue rampant in Malaysi, therefore requires attention.

• Why So Serious on Jan 17, 2023 at 10:45 am

Ah loke is back to being busy with selling fancy plates & going “undercover” (with an army of photographers). Dun disturb his PR activities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
    • Need Anthony Loke, as if JPJ and Police would not investigate otherwise?

• Lets See on Jan 17, 2023 at 3:56 pm

Cuz stupids says they dont trust JPJ & police, they only trust DAP politikus talks.

• yusrykru on Jan 16, 2023 at 8:04 pm

reel life destinasi terakhir

• Abdullah on Jan 16, 2023 at 8:20 pm

This is NOT the 1st, 2nd….and last time, until we see casualties in next incident, such incident will continue again. Msia Transport boleh !

• Bieight8 on Jan 16, 2023 at 8:26 pm

In the end will just suspend license only…

• Too many tidak apa lorry operators and drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • P2 should be responsible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • Should have gotten P1. That batang hit will fly off the tough window.

• Haniff Asyraf on Jan 16, 2023 at 9:52 pm

Eventhough the dashcam unable to get the license plate number, the toll booth camera should be able to detect the plate. There’s time & date on the dashcam. I hope the authority investigate this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • This is outrageous. Someone could have died. Criminal negligence of whoever is responsible for the lorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • YB KINTE KUNTE on Jan 16, 2023 at 10:18 pm

Do u know why lorry drivers r not concerned about the safety of other road users?
    90% of the drivers do not own the lorries.
    They r paid monthly salaries or commissions based on trips.
    I have seen a lorry driver throwing the lorry keys back at the transport operator for reprimanding him,after spilling a lorry load of quarry stones which killed a teenager.
    The laws have to be amended to be TOUGHFER targetting driver n tranport operator for spilling barang on innocent vehicles n drivers.
    Now WeeWee is taking a sabbatical..AhLokekor..pls continue undercover operasi but bring them to court n jail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Annoynimouse on Jan 16, 2023 at 11:06 pm

Still waiting for stern actions to be taken against dangerous lorries… We really need to see change.

• Christopher Amirtharaj on Jan 17, 2023 at 1:01 am

The lorry driver is being very careless about the items being carried. It is overloaded and nearly bursting at the sides. Secondly, the items are not being secured properly with the cover sheet. The metal pipe could have being placed on top or between of some items and became loose thus flying off the lorry. The authorities should make a ruling that the cover sheet (of good quality) should be fully secured on all sides leaving no gaps. I have seen lorries being properly secured with cover sheets but this driver couldn’t care less. Luckily no one was hurt, just imagine if the iron rod had hit a motor cyclist. Come down hard on this driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Major near miss. Someone could have died. The perpetrator need to be brought to justice and be given a hefty fine. Forget about implementing EV in Malaysia if we still have these overloaded lorries and unsafe lorries on the road, these should be our priorities first.

• ThePolygon on Jan 17, 2023 at 8:12 am

I once had a lorry where it’s tool box fell off and opened totally with all the hardware tumbling on the road on front of my car. Very bad experience.

• Henley Tan on Jan 17, 2023 at 8:40 am

Loose oil palm kernels and stones that fall off lorries are bouce up to hit windscreens are also another hazard…

• The problem in Malaysia is less of enforcement, people and company just not scared and don’t care breaking the rules, please be more active to catch and heavy fine all that break the rules, lorrys, cars, motorcycles. And no discount on the summons.

• Yuup..thats very2 clear…weak enforcement..only during ops or roadblocks or if on tv….lorries,buses n other heavy duty vehicles are breaking rules like there s no law against it…kemon laaa…

• pelet darat yang tak reti baso..tak ikat betol2 brg2 scrap

• This is the scrap metal. lorry transporting scrap metal without proper compartment just the canvas which is torn .

• Anthony Loke, what are you waiting for? Arrest the driver and suspend the license of the company.

• Haters gonna hate on Jan 17, 2023 at 10:34 am

Lorry drop things = dangerous, drivers should avoid them

Mat rempit in highways = dangerous, drivers should avoid them

Soon, drivers should drive lorry or ride like mat rempit to be safe ?

• Rulered on Jan 17, 2023 at 10:59 am

Gone over a wood block dropped from a lorry before, my car tyre exploded but luckily manage to control the car to safety. Careful of those wooden block usually stored below the trailer to prevent those lorries moving when parked.

• Yuup..thats very2 clear…weak enforcement..only during ops or roadblocks or if on tv….lorries,buses n other heavy duty vehicles are breaking rules like there s no law against it…kemon laaa…

• As usual, tiada apa attitude. Right from enforcement authority to road user.
      Everytime I see vehicle in front of me with load insecurely attached, be it lories or passenger cars, I will distance myself as far as possible.
      What about those passenger cars which secure something on top of their vehicle, a bicycle or a small boat or whatever? Just imagine what will happen if that something ‘drop’ while traveling on a highway. Will the authority looks into this before some very nasty life threatening accident happens.
      BTW is it lawful to secure some heavy load on top of a passenger car ?

• Thespian on Jan 17, 2023 at 2:42 pm

Final Destination , lmao

• Why Bawang Hadi is not in the passenger seat?

• Bund sung Lee on Jan 17, 2023 at 8:33 pm

How cheap is human being life at expense of stupid locomotive who knows r dnt wan to knw abt safety unless he or his next to kin suffer any serious losses, who to blame??
    Plus hiway?.
    Co who is carrying this load with zero safety?.
    Jpj.??
    Tday happened this and tomoro all will forget and wait for another disaster, happend, happening and will happen till dooms day bez zero enforcement. Poorest ethics and garbage brain

• You know, I always hated the fact that heavy vehicles like these on the road especially during peak hour. No matter how rich you are, you can never buy time. I jam almost 2hours everyday and sometimes more because these heavy vehicles on the road driving real slow, malfunction and those that carries stones are the worst because at one point in your life, your glass is gonna crack because of them. We sleep 8 hours a day, 2 hours of driving is equal to 12.5% of my productive time wasted on driving. It drains my energy. I suggest the transport minister consider changing the working schedule of these vehicles from 9pm to 6am. You might say it is unfair because they pay road taxes too. See the difference is, we don’t cause this kind of problems in the clip, we don’t drive that slow on the road, our vehicles don’t breakdown all the time. And by doing so, it will significantly reduce the jam. The only way out to the jam are companies placing half their workforce at home like during covid days, companies change their working hours (shift), change heavy vehicles driving hour so it doesn’t clash with others.

• Takut memandy belakang lori ah beng on Jan 18, 2023 at 2:36 pm

Minister anthony loke please do something, it will effect others driver safety on the road. Please ensure lorry recycle use proper box instead of canvas

• Muhammed sharref on Jan 19, 2023 at 8:22 am

Metal scraps not to be transported by those truck
    This is most dangerous to other road users. Happening
    at most of the places in our country, this is not the first time …….

• Muhammed sharref on Jan 19, 2023 at 8:22 am

• Muhammed shareef on Jan 19, 2023 at 8:23 am