2023 BMW M2 launched in Malaysia – all-new 460 PS G87 from RM573k, Pro Package variant from RM617k

BMW Malaysia has launched the all-new G87 M2, which is now available for online pre-booking and is offered in two versions. The asking price of the regular M2 will be RM598,800 on-the-road without insurance, while the M2 with Pro Package retails for RM44,000 more at RM642,800 – these figures include the optional five-year extended warranty and service package. With a standard two-year warranty, it’s RM573,040 for the regular M2 and RM617,040 for the M2 with the Pro Package.

First revealed in October last year during BMW M’s 50th anniversary, the latest M2 is based on the G42 2 Series Coupe and is powered by a 3.0 litre turbocharged straight-six petrol engine. The S58 powerplant replaces the S55 and is the same one you’ll find in the M3, M4, X3 M and X4 M, albeit detuned to deliver 460 PS (453 hp) at 6,250 rpm and 550 Nm of torque from 2,650 to 5,870 rpm.

Even so, it still bests the previous M2 Competition that offered 410 PS (405 hp) and 550 Nm, while the much hotter M2 CS packed 450 PS (444 hp) and 550 Nm. The second-generation M2 will hit a top speed of 250 km/h or 285 km/h, the latter being 5 km/h higher than the S55-equipped M2s but requires the optional M Driver’s Package to be specified – BMW Malaysia says this can be retrofieed at any authorised dealership nationwide.

Sadly, the M2 will not be offered here with a six-speed manual, with the only transmission option being an eight-speed M Steptronic automatic transmission with Drivelogic, which gets the car from 0-100 km/h in 4.1 seconds. It is still quick, beating out the previous M2 Competition that had a seven-speed dual clutch in the century sprint by 0.1 seconds.

Drive continues to be sent exclusively to the rear wheels, with an Active M Differential at the rear axle to variable distribute drive torque effectively. This works with the Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) system, and drivers can set the car up for maximum grip or drifting fun via the M Drive Professional with M Traction Control system – adaptive M suspension is standard.

Size-wise, the new M2 is larger than its F87 predecessor. Breaking out the ruler, the G87 measures 4,580 mm long, 1,887 mm wide and 1,403 mm tall, which makes it 119 mm longer, 16 mm wider and 11 mm taller, while the wheelbase has increased by 54 mm to 2,747 mm.

The new dimensions are coupled with a boxier design that features M-specific design cues like a frameless kidney grille with double-bar slats, aggressive front and rear bumpers, flared wheel arches, widened side skirts, a prominent rear diffuser, a lip spoiler and signature quad exhausts.

Staggered wheels measuring 19 inches at the front and 20 inches at the rear are standard for the M2, and the base variant gets double-spoke style M light alloys in 930 M bicolour. Upgrading to the Pro Package variant nets you a different wheel design: double-spoke style M light alloys in 930 M black.

Both variants feature M Compound brakes, but the regular variant has its calipers (six-piston front, single-piston rear) painted in blue, while red comes with the Pro Package. Other exterior touches that are unique to the Pro Package variant include the extended M High-gloss Shadowline package, a carbon-fibre roof and M Lights Shadowline – the more affordable version only gets a standard M High-gloss Shadowline package.

As for the interior, the M2 follows the car it is based on adopting the BMW Curved Display, so the dashboard sports a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and 14.9-inch infotainment touchscreen. The screens are powered by BMW Operating System 8 that feature M-specific displays, with audio playback being handled by either a HiFi loudspeaker system or a Harman Kardon surround sound system – the latter is only available with the Pro Package.

Powered M Sport seats with specific side bolsters and illuminated M logos are standard fitments, as are an M leather steering wheel, red M Mode buttons, an anthracite headliner, aluminium ‘Rhombicle’ anthracite interior trim, a head-up display, three-zone climate control, Comfort Access and ambient lighting. Exclusive to Pro Package variant are the M-themed seat belts and carbon-fibre interior trim.

Exterior colour options that customers can choose from include Zandvoort Blue, Alpine White, Brooklyn Grey, Black Sapphire and Toronto Red, while the interior upholstery is offered in black Vernasca leather with exclusive highlights or blue contrast stitching as well as Cognac Vernasca leather with décor stitching.

In terms of driver assistance, you get the Driving Assist Package that includes Lane Departure Warning, Lane Change Warning, Front Collision Warning with brake intervention (collision and pedestrian warning with city braking function), Rear Crossing Traffic Warning, Rear Collision Prevention as well as Speed Limit Info with manual Speed Limit Assistant.

Parking Assistant is also present and consists of the Park Assist function, Active Park Distance Control, Reversing Assistant, Lateral Parking Aid and a reverse camera. Also equipped as standard is cruise control with braking function but not adaptive cruise control.

Once again, the M2 is priced at RM598,800, while the Pro Package costs an additional RM44,000 at RM642,800. Those interested can make a booking at BMW Malaysia’s online store from today.

GALLERY: 2023 G87 BMW M2

GALLERY: 2023 G87 BMW M2 (Malaysia market)

GALLERY: 2023 G87 BMW M2 with Pro Package (Malaysia market)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Yes, I’m very interested

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 29
  • ROTI CANAI on Jan 17, 2023 at 5:44 pm

bmw saga ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
  • Mdaya on Jan 17, 2023 at 6:01 pm

Vroom vroom

• My dream car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Here we go again on Jan 17, 2023 at 8:00 pm

No ACC? Retired aunty zeer will start bashing again

• Isaac on Jan 18, 2023 at 12:25 pm

And mercedes fanbois will come here once again to talk bad about this again…that’s for sure

• Papermate on Jan 18, 2023 at 2:16 pm

Especially to those sour people will talk comment as awkward sense

• Mountain Dew on Jan 17, 2023 at 8:36 pm

Wow this will be great look beside M3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
  • Haidi on Jan 17, 2023 at 8:58 pm

After so many times seeing its photos, it still hurts my eyes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 16
  • Thanks but no thanks as its rwd only and 340iM is way cheaper, more powderful, x-drive and faster 0-60.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 16
    • Can’t compare between this and M340i as both are different segments

• Mechamat on Jan 17, 2023 at 11:29 pm

Excellent Looking Car overall. Monstrous engine under the hood too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
  • Photo Booth on Jan 18, 2023 at 7:39 am

Plenty of horsepower, flexible, handling and super fun sport car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Can anyone shed the light why these company (BMW and Mercedes Malaysia) cannot offer adaptive cruise control but others such as Volvo Malaysia, even mass market brand from Toyota, Honda even down to our Proton and Peroduo can do? Are BMW and Mercedes Malaysia cars are that technologically backward?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 16
    • Isaac on Jan 18, 2023 at 12:24 pm

Mercedes Malaysia cars also come with too many plastics everywhere, using downgraded materials, which is much worst than BMW, Volvo and any other brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • Minimum features maximum prices on Jan 18, 2023 at 1:05 pm

Uh huh…bimmers and mercs are flintstone cars for the rich. Yang lain lain just stick to mesian and jepunis cars ya

• Ma Cha on Jan 18, 2023 at 10:37 am

Interesting M2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • wow last time BMW fanbois bashed me kaw2 saying that Higher range BMW model got to have ACC because the recently updated 3series also didnt have one.. suddenly now this new M2 model aint got ACC broo. come on man. This is sucking blood too much. a RM643k car didnt have ACC this is a joke of the century. even my grandpa is laughing hard on this.

Oppss.. but BMW fanbois mentioned they dont need to have ACC cuz BMW is supposedly ‘engaging’ to drive. My arse!

PT Team, just wondering did you guys ever ask BMW why ACC still didnt make its way here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 28
    • Ah sudah, dia mai lagi on Jan 18, 2023 at 12:52 pm

Helo gais! I’m back to hentam cars without ACC especially bimmers! It’s me zeer tempang who depends on cruise control to drive myself around. Dua2 kaki dah potong sebab kencing manis.

• You mean Mercedes Benz also don’t come with ACC and worst still that also come with low specs. Mercedes Benz Cars also using low quality materials, no wonder reliability can’t win over other luxurious brands. Overall, worst than BMW and others

• No foreskin don't mean you're lower value on Jan 18, 2023 at 1:13 pm

ACC is like your foreskin. If you don’t need it you cut and throw it away.

• Miss Kaypoh on Jan 18, 2023 at 1:38 pm

Nobody cares how many compartment available in an LV bag. It’s an LV and that’s all that matters

• Before you called us including them as bmw fanbois, please don’t simply called us bmw fanbois, never you to do that. Cause mostly here in this comment section didn’t owned any BMW. For me, I owned Toyota, Honda, Perodua, Nissan and Audi, okay got that. So please think twice before you said anything, got that mercedes fanboy. But we are here in this comment section to against your comments about Why There Are Many Issues About ACC

• Geng, jom buat bodykit boleh buat M2 copy ni on Jan 18, 2023 at 1:01 pm

Proton saga owners club

• Common on Jan 18, 2023 at 1:28 pm

Hidup BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • vitable on Jan 18, 2023 at 2:10 pm

Lovely!

• Papermate on Jan 18, 2023 at 2:14 pm

People who will appreciate this, will buy. Sour people who don’t appreciate this, will comment with awkward sense and never buy

• Who Am I on Jan 19, 2023 at 10:44 am

Haters are admirers. I admire this nice car but I hate it because I can’t afford it. That’s the fact. So, take it easy Bro.

• Haters aren’t admirers as what you are assuming for. People love dream cars but only haters aren’t admirers because they are not interested to see this car. Those readers will also not read hater comments, whatever on what haters and you are saying .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Funny looking car..look it it was made with lego..