Mitsubishi Minicab-MiEV to be produced in Indonesia in 2024 – EV kei van with 133 km range, 41 PS, 196 Nm

Mitsubishi has announced that it will begin producing the Minicab-MiEV in Indonesia next year, which would mark the first time the one-box kei car is produced outside of Japan. The Minicab-MiEV is essentially an all-electric version of the Minicab that was introduced in 2011, and the vehicle was put on display at this year’s Indonesia International Motor Show.

Production of the EV will be handled by PT Mitsubishi Motors Krama Yudha Indonesia (MMKI) at its plant in West Java. Said facility began operations in April 2017 and currently makes the Pajero Sport, Xpander and Xpander Cross, with a capacity of 220,000 units yearly.

Detailed specifications weren’t provided, but the Indonesian-spec Minicab-MiEV will likely mirror what’s offered in Japan. In its home country, the tiny light commercial vehicle (LCV) features a 16-kWh lithium-ion battery – good for a WLTC range of 133 km- that powers a single electric motor rated at 41 PS (40 hp or 30 kW) and 196 Nm of torque.

The electric powertrain is derived from the i-MiEV, with Mitsubishi pointing out that the placement of the traction battery under the vehicle floor does not compromise cargo space. The carmaker also pointed out that it had once decided to end production of the Minicab-MiEV at one point but decided to resume sales in November 2022 due to growing demand for such commercial EVs, particularly from logistics companies and local governments.

In Japan, the Minicab-MiEV is priced at 2.431 million yen (RM80,208) for the two-seat variant, while the four-seater goes for 2.453 million yen (RM80,934). “In order to meet the growing demand for EVs in the ASEAN region, we have made the decision to produce this vehicle locally outside of Japan for the first time. As well as continuing to support the development of Indonesia’s automotive industry, we hope to contribute to the country’s environmental initiatives,” said Takao Kato, president and CEO of Mitsubishi Motors.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Raja Celup on Feb 20, 2023 at 12:10 pm

Looks way better with original Mitsubishi logo unlike some protected species logo.

• Fun trivia. This generation of Minicab has some similarities with the Mitsubishi Town Box which to Malaysians is best known as the Proton Juara.

• Ex Anwar Supporter on Feb 20, 2023 at 12:58 pm

There are no EV manufacturers willing to set up factories in Malaysia due to our incapable and weak government.

• EV Manufacturer on Feb 20, 2023 at 1:41 pm

Because Malaysians kept asking to increase minimum wage. So Malaysia is no longer attracting investors to setup factories here. Neighbours like Thailand and Indonesia provides cheaper workforce, doing the same amount of work same quality as malaysians. Simple math.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
      • Ex Rafizi supporter on Feb 20, 2023 at 3:03 pm

Really? What happened to the Tesla Gigafactory in Berlin? Did the Germans want to work for lower wages like in Indonesia and Thailand?

• As if the car and semi conductor factory has workers with salary less than RM2,000 to begin?

Or you plan to invest @ previous lowest Malaysia Salary <RM1200, for your workers?

• Iagree on Feb 22, 2023 at 11:13 am

I agre with you. Minimum wage is a stupid idea for weak and short sighted goverments/ministers. People who work hard will always end up getting more pay. People with low pay will mostly work harder to climb out of their poverty. The most important thing is opportunities. If semua company tutup and move to low wages country, there will not be oportunities to climb any ladder. Only can climb pokok hutan only.

Like china, everyone is taught from small to work hard and study hard and don’t focus on small gaji. Money will come if you have more value than your colleagues. Baru boleh maju like that. If you are boss and your good staff want to leave to a bigger company for higher pay, you sure will counter offer ma. otherwise your company will rugi. That is how a healthy policies should be. Lu rajin dan bagus, gaji mesti mari punya. No free money