In the past, Malaysians had limited options for selling their cars: either list it independently through classified ads or trade it in at a dealership when purchasing a new vehicle. Recently, however, e-bidding platforms have transformed the used car market, offering a convenient and competitive alternative.
Two leading e-bidding services in Malaysia are Carsome and Carro. When I decided to sell my Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7, I took the chance to evaluate both platforms to determine which would yield the best offer.
The process is straightforward. You start by filling out an online form with your car’s details. Once submitted, you can schedule an appointment to have your vehicle inspected. For me, the closest inspection centers were the Carsome and Carro outlets in Glenmarie, conveniently located near Q Bistro mamak, with both facilities just steps apart. This made it easy to book back-to-back appointments on the same day.
The inspection process at both Carro and Carsome took approximately one hour. Since the Volkswagen Golf GTI isn’t a high-demand model like the Perodua Myvi, neither platform provided an immediate purchase offer. Instead, my car was listed for e-bidding, where dealers place competitive offers.
You might assume that with Malaysia’s abundance of used car dealers, both platforms would attract similar bidding activity. However, my experience proved otherwise, highlighting the importance of using multiple e-bidding services to maximize your car’s value.
Carsome Bidding Results
On Carsome, my Golf GTI garnered 18 views and attracted bids from two dealers, resulting in a final offer of RM76,200.
Carro Bidding Results
In contrast, Carro’s platform showed significantly more activity, with my car receiving 169 bids from nine dealers, culminating in an offer of RM79,900—a RM3,700 advantage over Carsome.
Conclusion
What accounts for this disparity in bidding engagement? It’s difficult to pinpoint the exact reason. One possibility is that Carsome’s inspection center handles a higher volume of vehicles, potentially overwhelming dealers with options and diluting attention on individual cars. Carro, on the other hand, may process fewer vehicles daily, allowing each listing to stand out and attract more bids. These are just speculations, and results can vary depending on the car and timing.
The key takeaway is clear: relying on a single platform may not yield the best price. By submitting your car to multiple e-bidding services, you can compare offers and select the highest one. In my case, I sold my Volkswagen Golf GTI to Carro for RM79,900, as it provided the most competitive offer.
To get the best deal when selling your car in Malaysia, take advantage of all available e-bidding platforms. The extra effort could make a significant difference in your final payout.