Rapid Rail increases mitigation efforts to improve LRT, MRT and Monorail services following disruptions

Rapid Rail, the operator of LRT, MRT and Monorail services in the Klang Valley has released a statement saying it is increasing its mitigation efforts in identifying and rectifying several issues which have plagued its services in recent times.

The rail operator’s statement comes after several instances of service disruptions, including the one at LRT Kelana Jaya which was due to damage to the train connection system at the Taman Bahagia station.

According to Rapid Rail, initial investigations have found that the disruptions did not result from overall system failure, but only involved a number of sub-components.

In addition to improvements in those areas, mitigation efforts by Rapid Rail include increasing the number of technical staff at selected locations which have been identified, as well as the preparation of critical spare parts at stations in order for repairs to be conducted more quickly and thus reduce the length of disruption.

All efforts carried out are to ensure to continuity of quality transportation service for the users of its services, and it is in line with its commitment to ensure that the safety and comfort of its users are maintained, Rapid Rail said in its statement.

Rapid Rail apologises to all users of its services for the inconvenience caused during the disruption, and greatly appreciates the public’s support for public transportation services under its management, it continued.

Recently, some of the disruptions involving Rapid Rail services were at the Kelana Jaya LRT Line, which experienced disruptions on March 22 and 27; the MRT Putrajaya Line which had disruptions on March 23 and 29, and the MRT Kajang Line which sustained disruptions on March 27 and 28.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• RailEuser on Apr 03, 2023 at 3:00 pm

STAR is already over 20 years OLD !!! Even Normal electric cables will give way. How about signal cables ? Transmitters under the hot SUN ? STAR need a comprehensive Upgrade and NOT remedial actions when there is an ISSUE. Inconvience for Users and Difficult for STAR is short term plans for JUST Remedial Action if there is an ISSUE.

• Gomorrah on Apr 03, 2023 at 5:47 pm

“According to Rapid Rail, initial investigations have found that the disruptions did not result from overall system failure, but only involved a number of sub-components.” Woi Rapid ko paham tak apa tu “system failure”? If your system doesn’t include regular maintenance and replacement of wear items then your whole system is a failure. Tunggu barang rosak baru mau bikin. Telan duit, tinggikan tambang asalkan rakyat senyap kan?

• Kea Was on Apr 04, 2023 at 9:11 am

Guess the bosses is still shaking their legs and tells us eh I still get my fat pay cheque and bonus and if problem happens I just get those foreigners professional to solve the problem both using your tax payers money simple job.

• Mesti mau fakap baru la mesia on Apr 03, 2023 at 7:13 pm

Tak kenal maka tak cinta
    Tak fakap kita bukan lagi mesia

• Saifulnizan Bin Mohd Sari on Apr 03, 2023 at 11:56 pm

Do something in order to gain public confident and rely on public transportation system by
    1) Maintenance budget must be approved instantly and cover all aspects of maintenance
    2) Mentality of staffs especially technical have to change . Eg. Act fast and solve fast and think fast to solve problems
    3) interval time to shorten mainly during peak hours weekdays 6 am to 9 am and lunch break 12 to 3 pm and 4 pm to 8 pm to go home
    4) All bus mrt or brt or goKL or others especially feeder bus interval must be follow strictly 15 minute on peak hours and non peak hours
    5) All fares reasonable as now

Then public confident to use public transports to work on weekdays and for leisure with families during weekend

• i know… why not Prasarana come up with another slick video on how you will rectify all these compounding issues and kokups? still have budget to make videos kan kan kan? AL mesti approve wan

• vj sangar on Apr 06, 2023 at 8:53 am

You cannot be apologising all the time, you need to check on your maintenance system. Get the maker to come back and teach your staff. Sometimes we can see your maintenance ppl, talking then doing work. Always in groups. Half your lifts don’t work in most station and escalators. Then blame whom if not yourself. It’s 2023 bug up or move out.