Proton X90 SUV open for booking at 3S, 4S centres

Proton has announced on its Instagram page that the order books for the X90 SUV has been opened over the weekend on April 8. Bookings for the upcoming three-row SUV can be made exclusively at Proton 3S and 4S centres, according to the post.

Pricing for the X90 has yet to be revealed, though for now we know that the SUV – available in six- and seven-seater layouts – will be offered in four variants, namely Standard, Executive, Premium and Flagship. The X90 measures 4,835 mm long, 1,900 mm wide and 1,785 mm tall with a wheelbase of 2,815 mm.

The first three from the base variant upwards will be specified with the 2-3-2 seating configuration for a total of seven, incorporating a bench layout for the second row. The top Flagship variant will instead get the 2-2-2 layout, where the middle row bench is swapped for a pair of captain seats.

Inside, the X90 is treated to a black leather interior with beige headlining, and the Flagship gets topped with a near-full length panoramic sunroof that reaches from the front row to behind the second row. Also on for the top variant of the X90 are ventilated seats for the first two rows.

Device charging connectivity in the X90 is supported by two USB-A ports in the front row below the air-conditioning controls, plus another behind the rear-view mirror to power a dashcam; there’s a wireless phone charger in front, too. The middle row gets a USB-A and a USB-C, and a further two more USB-A ports in the third row.

Powertrain for the X90 will be the 1.5 litre turbocharged inline three-cylinder petrol engine that serves in the X50 Flagship as well as the updated versions of the X70, and here in the X90 this unit gets 48-volt electrification as well.

Becoming a mild-hybrid means that the X90 gets outputs of 190 PS and 300 Nm, up from the 177 PS and 255 Nm in the existing Proton SUVs. Transmission continues to be via a seven-speed wet-dual-clutch gearbox.

GALLERY: 2023 Proton X90 official images

GALLERY: 2023 Proton X90, other exterior colours

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• John Gagal on Apr 11, 2023 at 12:33 pm

Proton above RM100K price not worth it anymore and defeat the purpose of having cheap national car.

Better let Geely use own logo sell it as local CKD here and compete fairly like other brands with same car tax rate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 27
    • ComeOn! P1 is P1! on Apr 11, 2023 at 1:41 pm

Agreed on ur view. For a car tht above 100k, which market to m40/t20 group, it shld have a better customer service and service center. Eventhough the spec in the car is high, but it nvr able to compete with establish japanese brand. I rather spend more to buy Serena or latest Innova, or less for Veloz than this. I think geely shld separate marketing strategy for proton-affordability(below rm100k) , geely-premium(above rm100k). Frankly, i like x50 but wont spend more than 100k for it, i get HRV instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 16
      • Toronto on Apr 12, 2023 at 10:16 am

This is not a $T20 car.
        Below average Median $50k new car transaction.

This car cheap cheap only $25k.
        Half of Median.

• Watonk on Apr 12, 2023 at 10:43 am

100k for m40/t20? U must be kidding.

• Very Poor Financial Planning!! on Apr 15, 2023 at 3:38 pm

So u mean b40 can afford rm100k vehicle? Do u know b40 household income mthly below 4.9k? Do u know what household income meant? Jointly income from husband & wife. After deduct incometax(if eligible), epf, socso, insurance, daily expenses, home loan/rental, how much left? Thts y we hv so many bankruptcy. Fail financial planning! Or r u those who take max 9yrs or full loan and ask for ur daddy for everything..!?

• Haha. You are a retard. Innova has the worst ride ever. And super ugly. And is a MPV. Serena is very outdated. And is a MPV. HRV, well another ugly vehicle. And much smaller in size. What in the world are you comparing? By the way, I have the liberty in riding on all three for long distances. Between Innova and Serena then Serena is much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
        • Totally agreed with your points. Got my X70 CBU in 2019. Up until now the best ride ever. Maybe a bit thirsty as it is a heavy car, vut l wouldn’t compare it with the Toyotas or Hondas in terms of quality, spaciousness or drivability. Believe me l am 66. Driven most models in my lifetime. Geely makes class cars.

• ComeOn! P1 is P1! on Apr 14, 2023 at 12:27 am

@john! i meant the latest innova zenix, not current innova! Dont simply curse ppl when urself misunderstood. Do u learn moral? I like to compare watever i want coz it’s my choice & money! im talking abt 7 seater vehicle, i dont care whether it is Suv or Mpv! And yes i plan to buy the ‘ugly’ hrv instead of x50, so what?!

• Memang Gagal on Apr 11, 2023 at 1:43 pm

We don’t call Proton as “cheap national car”, it’s only “National Car”, who tell you is cheap ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
    • Government wants to let you think that Proton is worth. Many owners will tell u, if not because of Proton, X70 that worth rm120k should sell at rm160k, which is more premium than jap SUV.

• We need exora not innova price 7seater. on Apr 11, 2023 at 4:33 pm

Those owner naive & shiok sendiri..those x50/x70 geely equivalent models in china sell cheaper than here. and If not tht well spec, who want it? anyway thanks to geely for offering better spec, competitors also need to up their offering. So we consumer benefited. Frankly, personally felt tht their price is too high for the brand.

• Roti john on Apr 11, 2023 at 1:56 pm

Habislah X90! Nobody wants to spend above RM100K for a Game Over Proton. Better just buy Honda CRV or wait for Toyota Innova Zenix to launch here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 29
    • HisyamTeh Tarik on Apr 11, 2023 at 3:15 pm

Don’t call it national car.It is Xi Xin Ping/LeeShuFu car with tiger logo n infinite grille .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • RyanT on Apr 11, 2023 at 4:02 pm

If price belum rm150k for 7 seaters suv is still expensive, then u buy P2 lo

• vtec200k on Apr 12, 2023 at 6:12 pm

why we cannot have a 100k, 150k or 200k proton ? national car can be affordable and premium on the other hand.

• meladam on Apr 11, 2023 at 12:39 pm

defeat the purpose of having a national car brand. sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • vtec200k on Apr 12, 2023 at 6:12 pm

why we cannot have a 100k, 150k or 200k proton ? national car can be affordable and premium on the other hand.

• meladam on Apr 13, 2023 at 11:56 am

please study more on the car taxes for local, CKD and CBUs car. thank you

• anonymous on Apr 11, 2023 at 1:22 pm

sucks that if you want all the bells and whistles you are going to be stuck with a 6 (more like 4 + 2) seater rather than a 7 (5 + 2) seater. at this point, might as well save cash and get the X70.

• Without the indication price, how to book?

• Ex Proton Fanboi on Apr 11, 2023 at 4:57 pm

Typical Proton mentality.

• Total bookings will reflect the actual price. Just look at X50 price and you’ll understand.

• Benjamin Anthony on Apr 11, 2023 at 2:10 pm

Locally assembled car shouldnt be so expensive. I’d rather buy a more established foreign brand.

• Spiritual successor to Perdana.

• Winnie Fu Ling Yew on Apr 11, 2023 at 2:39 pm

Geli Geli Guli Geely nama pun syok macam beli Volvo

• Good job Geely.

• SuckMyTongue on Apr 11, 2023 at 2:49 pm

How much they wan for this Volvo inspire box ah

• Junkies otr on Apr 11, 2023 at 2:55 pm

So many new cars launches, when going to scrap old cars?

• Kambeng on Apr 11, 2023 at 4:51 pm

If they are dangerous and causing troubles,
      Data are showing to insurance provider,
      Then older cars of that model, will be subjected to higher insurance premium.

Like this can judge accurately, based on risk of each model.
      Different models aged differently,
      Some models 5-7 years old already high risk and problematic.

• Buster Boo on Apr 11, 2023 at 3:09 pm

Price above 100k not worth it at all for national car. It should be fairly less price since it were say as for national car. I quite like x70 but rather grab veloz instead. Imported car much better.

• ya ke on Apr 11, 2023 at 3:26 pm

x70 and veloz completely different segment and type bro.. x70 should compete with honda hrv or toyota corolla cross

• meladam on Apr 11, 2023 at 3:49 pm

but still both made in malaysia. should aim CBU to get peace of mind

• SO You want a Cheap Car? on Apr 11, 2023 at 3:31 pm

Become a communist PRC

PROTON not a charity company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Huang on Apr 11, 2023 at 4:50 pm

Geely haoyue highest model is selling 120k rmb in China, around RM 80k, and it’s 1.8 turbo, my friend have one , he is satisfied with it. Btw I am Chinese citizens live here in KL..

• All these booking-before-price-reveal practices should be outlawed. Even if the booking fee is refundable 100% with no questions asked, consumers should be educated on what they’re actually signing up for. Household debts are at historical high no thanks to credit cards and BNPL too.

• msia driver on Apr 11, 2023 at 6:02 pm

When new CRV launched, u all will get shock for the price and feel this X90 is the most value d segment SUV in Malaysia

• Hanif on Apr 11, 2023 at 7:44 pm

Lol almost Everyone in the comment section start making “Cancel” comments when the real official Price is not out yet …

“Komen dulu baru baca.” What an Embarrasment lol

• Proton now only sell SUV. no more budget friendly MPV like Exora. For Exora like market, only left Perodua Alza.

• It’s going to be the most expensive car launch by proton. This will test the people confident towards proton. Though its definitely the cheapest among all other same specs and range. But if its much more expensive than the same geely in China…then no thanks for me..proton give me back my booking

• Curious on Apr 12, 2023 at 9:41 am

Does this 1.5 engine really had enough power for this big x90?

• Sohai on Apr 15, 2023 at 3:50 pm

No. Thats why is a mild hybrid with a 48v system to push abit more

• Ground europe passenger on Apr 12, 2023 at 12:16 pm

Like the x50 or x70, Designs, interior and driving experience are very nice. But the 3 cylinder timing belt makan minyak engine, atlas os, quality of proton sc…if price above rm130k better get honda or toyota.

• Kerisna Bahadur on Apr 13, 2023 at 10:31 am

Proton 50

• Salah proses jual beli ni.nak tempah kene ada harga asal.mu beri ciri ciri tapi x de harga .ada unsur ketidakpastian di sini

• Tamiya Racer Boy on Apr 28, 2023 at 9:43 pm

Oklah. Siapa mahu beli ALZA atau VELOZ boleh tunggu 8 bulan waiting list. I was targeting VELOZ but salesmen told it’s a hot item, every family of 4 or 5 wants to own a VELOZ /ALZA. I hope X90 already have stock in Tanjung Malim Plant. So buyer don’t need to wait that long to own a new car.