Gentari ends promotional per kWh charging rates – EV charging at hubs to now cost up to RM1.70/kWh

Gentari Petronas 350 kW DC fast charger X Park Sunway Serene

The promotional period for Gentari’s chargers that are priced per kWh has now ended, and pricing has been revised. This applies to Gentari’s four EV charging hubs located at Sunway Serene X Park, Bangi Golf Resort, Petronas Bandar Baru Ayer Hitam (Johor) and Petronas Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah (Ipoh).

The new per kWh rates are as follows:

• AC 7kW, 11kW, 22kW – RM0.90/kWh
  • DC up to 30kW – RM1.30/kWh
  • DC 50kW-180kW – RM1.50/kWh
  • DC 350 kW – RM1.70/kWh

The kW categories above are based on how powerful the charger is, not how fast your car is able to receive the electricity, so if you charge at the most powerful 350 kW charger when your car is only able to receive 100 kW, you’ll still pay the highest RM1.70 price. Read more about EV charging curves to understand this.

Previously, the promotional price was set at RM1.20 per kWh for the 350 kW DC charger and RM1 per kWh for all the other DC chargers. The promotional rate for AC was RM0.55/kWh.

There are no price changes to time-based Gentari chargers for now.

Gentari chargers are available on either Setel or JomCharge. If you haven’t downloaded Setel yet, we would appreciate it if you could use our referral code “5h9f3”

LINK: Download Setel

If you haven’t downloaded JomCharge yet, get it from Apple App Store or Google Play Store.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Bieight8 on Apr 25, 2023 at 11:33 am

Daylight robbery

• Amriji on Apr 25, 2023 at 11:19 pm

Apahal daylight robbery pulak? Charge kat rumah RM0.57 sen/kWh. Using existing 3 pin plug or RM 6K AC wall box charger.

This one is RM 1.70/kWh DCFC 350kW charger costing RM 500K. The service provider still have to pay for the power that U use on top of the cost of the charger.

Ingat boleh makan free ke?

• I thought promotion only for poor…haaa

• that’s why pump petrol better

• Winnie Chen on Oct 05, 2023 at 4:58 pm

I’m interested to outright purchase or JV Partner, can Sales person to contact me ?