Neta V – cheapest EV in Malaysia at RM99,800, plus RM10k cash voucher; 380 km range, 120 km/h max

Chinese electric vehicle (EV) manufacturer Neta has officially made its debut in Malaysia, and the first model being offered here is the Neta V. Distribution of Neta cars is handled by Intro Synergy, a wholly-owned subsidiary of GoAuto Group which signed a deal with Hozon New Energy Auto.

Priced at RM99,800 on-the-road without insurance, the Neta V Deluxe is now the cheapest EV in our market. As part of a special promotion, the first 100 customers who make a booking online will receive a cash voucher worth RM10,000 to further reduce the price down to RM89,800! According to Intro Synergy, deliveries will begin in the third quarter of this year. If you want one, you can book it online now for RM1,000.

For the money, you’re getting a CATL-sourced ternary lithium battery with an energy capacity of 38.54 kWh that is good for a range of 380 km following the NEDC standard. The Neta V supports AC charging (Type 2) at a max of 6.6 kW, with a full charge taking eight hours.

It can also do DC fast charging (CCS2) at 100 kW to get the battery from a 30-80% state of charge in just 30 minutes. Users can also use the crossover to power accessories and electronic devices via the vehicle-to-load (V2L) system capable of delivering as much as 3.3 kW.

For propulsion, the Neta V sports a front-mounted electric motor rated at 95 PS (94 hp or 70 kW) and 150 Nm of torque. The carmaker quotes a 0-50 km/h time of 3.9 seconds and a top speed of 120 km/h with these modest outputs.

In terms of dimensions, the Neta V measures 4,070 mm long, 1,690 mm wide, 1,540 mm tall and has a wheelbase spanning 2,420 mm. For context, the Perodua Myvi is 3,895 mm long, 1,735 mm wide, 1,515 mm tall and its wheelbase is 2,500 mm. The protruding rear end of the Neta V also means you get 335 litres of boot space.

The Neta V is only offered in one variant that comes standard with 16-inch alloys (with 185/55 profile tyres), automatic halogen projector headlamps, LED DRLs, LED taillights, keyless entry and start, leatherette seat upholstery, a 12-inch digital instrument panel, automatic air-conditioning with a HEPA N95 air filter, an electronic parking brake and a reverse camera.

Infotainment is accessed via a 14.6-inch central touchscreen, with audio playback handled by a six-speaker sound system. Users will also be able to project their phone screen to the large, portrait-format screen should they wish. For added convenience, there’s a dedicated USB port at the bottom of the rear-view mirror to power a dashcam.

Safety-wise, the Neta V only comes with two airbags and the usual array of passive systems such as ABS, EBD, brake assist, traction control and ESC. You don’t get active driver assistance systems such autonomous emergency braking and lane keep assist, but you do get hill start assist, a tyre pressure monitor and passive cruise control.

Five colours are offered, namely Sakura Pink, White Storm, Sky Blue, Cyan and Midnight Gray. Each purchase is accompanied by a 10-year body warranty as well as a five-year, 150,000-km general parts warranty. As for the electric powertrain, it is covered by an eight-year, 180,000-km warranty. Remember, if you want the RM10,000 discount you have to be the first 100 to book it. You can book it online now for RM1,000.

So, what do you think of the Neta V? Given the low price point, would you consider the EV as a city runabout? Let us know what you think in the comments below.

GALLERY: 2023 Neta V Malaysian brochure and spec sheet

Learn more: ,

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• newme on May 03, 2023 at 5:01 pm

when will this begin orders. I want one.
    cheap and decent range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
    • lolpanda on May 03, 2023 at 7:23 pm

decent range? remember these are outdated NEDC numbers that chinese manufacturers like to mislead people with.

based on WLTP standard it will probably be around 300km or less.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 24
      • Jasonx on May 04, 2023 at 2:13 pm

Not an issue as a daily city car. Just going to and fro work and shopping centers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Mike Tee on May 15, 2023 at 12:39 pm

Bjorn Nyland tests every EV until it hits 0% in Norway on YouTube, on highway driving (worst for EV range). Nearly all the cars will be able to hit ~90% of WLTP range even under the worst (winter+highway, other than climbing hills) of conditions.

Interestingly, Chinese EVs under claim their battery capacity so a 60kWh rated battery will produce 65kWh (BYD Atto 3 e.g)

• Leafable on May 04, 2023 at 4:11 pm

Don’t believe the claim range. The best you can get fro this small battery pack with the no so aero shape 250km fully charged.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Neta V scammer on Jun 16, 2023 at 6:25 pm

This car being throw away in china and you want to buy it?

• digidigi on May 03, 2023 at 5:05 pm

This Is the EV that will be smoke by myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
  • Didn’t this brand catch fire in China last month and another one Feb?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • King of the road : The Myvi on May 03, 2023 at 5:31 pm

This brand should come with a warranty claim of a brand new car incase of ‘terbakar’ like ikan bakar,without claiming insurance,affecting our NCD.If not,I rather use the 100K to buy 1.5 myvi and spare to buy a used 1.3 Myvi.
      Folks,dont rush n buy half blind.Do your research.
      Our 1.5 Myvi…king of the road ,can easily outrun this EV,no sweat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
  • Autodriver on May 03, 2023 at 5:09 pm

Everything is good on this car except the max speed capped at 101km/h which make it hard to travel in highway. It is reasonble if the max speed capped at 120km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • newme on May 03, 2023 at 5:23 pm

oh that speed cap is no good. pass…. even on town highways 100kmh is too slow. come on.

• Ajibkor (adjusting to Madani lifestyle) on May 03, 2023 at 5:35 pm

This laptop vehicle is to bring u go pasar,sekolah n kedai runcit nearby.
      It is not meant to give your mistress a spin ride.
      U want proper EV..get the kona or Tesla or BYD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • It’s way too expensive (Even with 10000 voucher) considering I can buy it at 539,000THB in Thailand!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Belayu Tiffany Society on May 04, 2023 at 11:30 am

we preferred lux premium masuda mx-30 in thailand

• The range is decent but 101 km/h? And only basic safety feature (i.e. no AEB, only 2 airbags), could be a deal breaker here.

• Bieight8 on May 03, 2023 at 5:25 pm

Basically this car have more speakers than airbags

• Vincent on May 03, 2023 at 5:50 pm

This ugly Neta only Cost THB550K in Thailand, about MYR70K!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Ground europe passenger on May 03, 2023 at 5:54 pm

It’s like a 1.0cc turbo car without lag. it will win myvi 1.5 instead in a drag race. Summore it got zero idle vs myvi eco idle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • evuserTTT on May 03, 2023 at 5:56 pm

NETA shot itself with a “CRAZY” pricing stragety. BYD Dolphin is a MUCH bigger and Better EV and should be about Rm100K. Maybe slightly higher. Looking at BYD Dolphin instead of the NETA V .

• Chong Or Pei on May 03, 2023 at 6:43 pm

Scared la

https://carnewschina.com/2023/04/04/neta-electric-vehicle-caught-on-fire-while-driving-not-the-first-time-in-china/

• Raja Kamarul on May 03, 2023 at 6:46 pm

7 battery electric cars a day catch fire in China: the most involved brands.

In the first quarter of 2022, 680 electric car fires were recorded in China – here’s how and why they occur.

The numbers on electric car fires are inevitably linked to Sales and therefore to the fleet in circulation : we anticipated this in our survey . With the wider spread of electric cars, even at low cost, the numbers of electric cars that catch fire in China are growing.

batteries news advertise
    Manufacturer BYD, the leading electric vehicle manufacturer, is involved in the largest number of episodes, but many other players are no stranger to statistics on electric car fires in China in 2022 . Here’s who it is and why fires occur according to the Beijing Institute of Technology.

ELECTRIC CAR FIRES GROW EXPONENTIALLY IN CHINA

The Tesla fires in China have certainly caused discussion, but the ranking of the most involved brands follows the number of electric car sales.

It must also be said that Tesla and other manufacturers have begun to use lithium iron phosphate batteries, considered among the safest in tests compared to other more popular lithium batteries .

CAR BRANDS MOST INVOLVED IN ELECTRIC CAR FIRES REPORTED BY THE MEDIA

The leading electric vehicle manufacturer in China also produces lithium batteries: BYD is in fourth place with about 9% of the world market share in the production of lithium batteries .

The fires reported by the media in the last two years (but they are certainly partial data considering the data we are talking about above ) have occurred the greatest number of times with the electric cars of the 4 best-selling brands :

BYD , 11 fires between 2020 and 2022. The last episode in October 2021 with a BYD Han that caught fire while traveling along the Shenzhen Shuiguan highway. Car sales in February 2022: 88283;

Li Cars , 5 fires involving the same model, Li ONE. Car sales in February 2022: 8414;

XPeng , 4 fire accidents (3 with G3 and one with P7). Car sales in February 2022: 6225;

NIO , only 1 fire. Car sales in February 2022: 6131;

The most recent report by the International Energy Agency (IEA) estimates that electric cars circulating in China in 2021 are over 6 million , over a third (36%) of the world’s electrified fleet (BEV + PHEV).

So with very young (and cheap) cars, the fire curve is likely to continue to grow over the years. In the graph below there is instead the ranking of fires by Brand that occurred between 2020 and 2022 , released by the Chinese media and shows that not all electric car fires that actually occur receive the same attention .

WHY ELECTRIC CARS ARE ON FIRE IN CHINA

According to the Beijing Institute of Technology (BIT), electric cars can catch fire in both summer and winter, but for different causes. The largest number of fires (66%) reported in China occurred from May to September . The 86 fires of electric cars disclosed by the media, occurred in various contexts:

when charging the battery, 27.5%;
    while parking , 38.5%;
    while driving ;
    after a collision ;
    unidentified causes, in 7 episodes.

The BIT attributes a greater likelihood of fire to difficulties in preheating the battery in winter and therefore to overheating when charging electric cars. While in summer the overheating is mainly due to the higher ambient temperature.

According to the researchers, the widespread use of low-cost electric vehicles , on which the manufacturers have built the largest circulating fleet of electric cars in the world, is also a factor that should not be underestimated among the causes of the increase in electric car fires in China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • shopping mall mgmt syndicate on May 04, 2023 at 11:33 am

Do anticipate bev barbecues inside shopping mall’s parking lot charging station soon

• ipong on May 23, 2023 at 3:38 pm

iphone and samsungs also caught fire, exploded.
      still market leaders. still in your pocket, beside your genitalias. so whats the point of your post?

• Flat bottom steering wheel with a red stripe in the top middle part for such slow and ugly looking crossover, syok sendiri much?

• Autodriver on May 03, 2023 at 7:00 pm

Article just changed, now max speed is 120km/h. It is damn freaking value of money to buy below RM 100k. For City drive 380km can easily last 3 days before it need recharge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • lolpanda on May 03, 2023 at 7:29 pm

you won’t get 380km – NEDC standard is incredibly outdated and inaccurate; it’s a joke that there’s no regulation to mandate Chinese manufacturers to use WLTP test cycle for a fair comparison.

you’ll be lucky if you even get 280km in the real world. (assuming WLTP range will be about 300km)

• Autodriver on May 03, 2023 at 10:54 pm

Below RM 100k even if the WLTP is less than 300km still great. Imagine Mazda MX-30 is selling double price of this Neta V but only capable for 199km.

• realrangerover on May 03, 2023 at 7:19 pm

what is the WLTP range for a true comparison?

• yahoo Ra masuda on May 04, 2023 at 11:37 am

there WLTP range is less than our best premium lux EV masuda mx-30

• Its at 120km/hr bro..

• 120km/hour

• Junkies otr on May 03, 2023 at 7:28 pm

EV cars r for glamour only

• your family ancestors on May 04, 2023 at 11:35 am

we are humbled we travel by foot or rides donkey camel

• interesting, still i feel we are not ready for electric yet. Perhaps only for certain group of pple in certain cities.

• Company too greedy for profit…. Rm70k should be ok. Like sime darby so greedy price creta at rm150k.

• solanhai on May 03, 2023 at 10:38 pm

this type of ev car with this price is not meant for mass market average joe…..this kind of ev is just a toy for the rich to play with spare cash and cars at home….if you are rich buy to play and then throw also ok la….

• How come cheapest EV still twice the price of not the cheapest EV in china.

• Kensington Kong Ting Ern on May 04, 2023 at 12:28 am

Toy car so expansive
    Suxerz will buy some say one is born every minute

• This is a good choice for people on the road a lot, like Grab car. The saving in fuel is great and the comfort is unmatch by petrol driven one.

• The carmaker quotes a 0-50 km/h time of 3.9 seconds

I nvr see a carmaker quote 0-50 km/h b4. This is first time. If my memory good, I might think of another one was Ora cat.

• Sharin bin Lugman Hashim on May 04, 2023 at 6:25 pm

The ICE cars are definately under a threat, especially the Japanes car makers. Local car makers like Perodua which unveil their electrification plan will likely be left behind unless they are able to move faster.
    The progress the Chinese car makers have made may spell the downfall of the traditional car makers.
    Electric vehicles with their less complex architecture may prove to be easier to be made reliable and are more confortable to drive.
    We are likely to see EV taking over sooner than we think.

• Autodriver on May 05, 2023 at 11:19 am

EV is future whether we likely it or not. Only Japanese car like Toyota put the fate on fuel cell which run on hydrogen instead of petroluem. Problem of fuel cell is the process is similar to traditional ICE which still have many componenets on engine, tranmission, belts, water pumps etc whereby all these components are disappear in EV. It means less maintenance on EV which will save cost for long run.

When people said EV charger infra still lack behind in Msia. Yes it is for now but in future there gonna be more EV charging station than petrol station. Setting up EV charger is much easier than petrol station which need more space and also storage of fuel. And even if fuel stored underground it will still have evaporation which mean loss of fuel whereby EV chargers have no loss of power for operator.

There are bashers blaming EV drive range short and long charging time. It is true but there are good thing of EV where we spent much cheaper on every KM travel, low maintenance cost and more environment friendly. Most important thing is basically we can charge the car at home (for landed houses) which is quite convinent.

• donno on May 05, 2023 at 10:19 am

Most important thing for malaysian

How much battery use and range if want to have aircon cold like in north pole when stuck in long traffic jam?

We malaysians need aircon!

• Rakyat on Jun 09, 2023 at 9:03 am

EV cars use DC compressors. it is very cold and the best part it uses very little electricity. Won’t affect range much

• nice… buy this car get a free oversized tablet hahaha

• hopefully BYD brings the Seagull…

• It’s too mahal lah, even for someone who’s keen on getting an EV like me, this Neta is just not worth it. Better go and spend that 100k on established players on the road and atleast be cocooned in airbags and ADAS. Wait for a career improvement after finishing that 7 year loan and then only purchase a better EV in the RM140k price range. Lack of ADAS and only 2 airbags in 2023 is just scary. It’s a ‘town’ car and in town you’ll benefit from ADAS the most especially now with motorcycles cutting in and out between your blind spots and people changing lanes left and right especially when you’re only limited to 120km/h on federal hwy or KESAS yikes.

• Full of stereotype personality. If the name and origin come from Europe or Japan, the same group will sing in sync praising the price and practicality of the car despite no change at all to the car. This group will also bashed anything that come under Proton name…but most also drive budget car

• ALice on May 17, 2023 at 6:20 pm

good post

• myr99800..? i rather buy 1 old model axia style and a brand new myvi king. either way, climate change cant be solve only by switching to ev.both petroleum and rare earth are mined definitely.to save earth,all mining activities need to stop & start replanting tree asap.

• Myvi equivalent but not the price. Bloated price to cover the 8-year warranty, I guess

• Cheng yu hsiang on Sep 25, 2023 at 11:38 pm

Well certainly was a great deal ahead

• Outalingam Crap on Oct 16, 2023 at 12:17 pm

NYET NYET to Neta…..YAY to the BYD Dolphin extended range instead (Better to splurge extra MYR26k instead)