Toyota Vios DNGA sales suspended in Thailand due to ‘notchgate’ but here’s why it’s still on sale in Malaysia

Toyota today announced that it has stopped the sales of the Toyota Yaris Ativ (known as the Toyota Vios here in Malaysia) in Thailand pending a retest in Japan.

Despite this, the same model will continue to be sold in Malaysia, where 539 cars have already been delivered. Details in a timeline of events released by Toyota reveals why this is the case.

The following is the chronology of events:

• A whistleblower alerted management to an irregularity with the side crash tests necessary for R95 certification. A notch in the door of the tested car was not in the production car. Upon discovering this, shipments to countries where the R95 was required was suspended.
  • Daihatsu (the party in charge of testing) consulted inspection and certification authorities.
  • A first retest was conducted internally. The car passed the test. It was decided that no recall to replace production car parts was necessary since the car passed the test without the notch.
  • A second retest was conducted on April 28 in the presence of the Belgian testing agency Vincotte. The car passed the test again, and this was verified with the testing agency.
  • A third retest has to be done specifically for the Thailand market to satisfy a specific witness testing requirement in that country, but has yet to be executed.

So from what we understand, currently Toyota and Daihatsu are pending the third retest under certain conditions to fulfil a particular legal requirement in Thailand, which is why Thai sales are suspended.

Sales in Malaysia can proceed because our country does not have this particular requirement and the affected car has already passed a retest twice, including with the testing agency present.

Toyota and Daihatsu are still investigating how this happened. There’s no firm conclusion yet, but Toyota’s CEO for the Asia region Masahiko Maeda told Reuters the problem may have occurred due to the vehicle’s relatively large size, which may have put pressure on the development team.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• davenport on May 08, 2023 at 5:17 pm

It’s true then.

Paultan.org is UMWT’s unofficial PR fixer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 26
    • Dah Menang Semua on May 08, 2023 at 5:29 pm

Just 500+ souls. Ready stock anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • GengM on May 08, 2023 at 5:56 pm

UMW claim thousand had been sold??? ANOTHER BIG LIE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
        • YB Kinte Kunta on May 08, 2023 at 8:27 pm

Shall thee rakyat put a MORATORIUM on buying the affected Toyota n Perodua models until Mr.Akio Toyoda personally give the greenlight?
          Seems cucu is not taking the grandpa’s advice seriouly.
          Dont let this thing become another Takata airbag scandal.

• Sohai on May 09, 2023 at 7:46 am

GM of both P-two & Toyo should resigned, no follow SOP , no follow rules and regulation, purposely ignore public safety … but where Malaysia relavent agency to take action and press-conference the development of this issues , now all authority diam-diam no result …

• Sohai on May 09, 2023 at 7:52 am

Same car , bolehland test apa pun passed, but the same car send outside of bolehland test the result is different others way out..??? What is happening , MACC got check?

• Sohai on May 09, 2023 at 7:59 am

If bolehland not follow and align to international standard to lossen the spec in bolehland in order to get passed and better result…?
            … —> it already defeat the original purpose of crash test, so better no need test , all car come to the test center the authority agency just stamp passed result in test paper will do.

• Retired Akio on May 09, 2023 at 1:43 pm

me already retired go find mai new replacement to settle your issues

• Louis on May 08, 2023 at 5:47 pm

I like Paultan. It is still better than other influencer blog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • GengM on May 08, 2023 at 5:27 pm

How can safe when Toyota say NOT GOOD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Not a surprise move … faulty oil filter also can continue to sell. No dignity, no integrity.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
    • lithium on May 08, 2023 at 5:51 pm

All this surface due to whistle blower. Wont be surprise if there are other lots of dodgy stuff kept hidden until someone leak it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • At least there are people that willing to be whistleblower knowing that he is doing the right thing. In motherland, one would be in lockup now for causing unrest and threatening peace & harmony. That

• YB Kinte Kunta on May 08, 2023 at 8:17 pm

I volunteer to be Akio Toyoda’s whistleblower in UMW.
      With proof,I will present to PMX to give UMW,PNB a lashing.

• Yeah, Malaysia will be continously being the dump-yard for third world Toyotas. Only Malaysian is proud to be the owner of Fortuner (for example) whereas in the first world, there is no 1 sold there. They have Highlander that we can only dream. Vios, Yaris are other cases due to “dirt-cheap” these cars are. And they have to beat other “third-world” model such as Honda City. Yeah, my first point still stands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • Doornotch on May 08, 2023 at 7:08 pm

As Thailand is much more advanced in term of technology/road safety, Toyota’s move is understandable.

• Keyboard warrior on May 08, 2023 at 9:19 pm

This is a bitter truth. We are not getting the better Toyotas such as the upcoming Grand Highlander, Yaris Cross and also the Land Cruiser. Much worst our market Toyotas does not have the current Toyota in-house infotainment software. Even the brand new Vios does not get it. I would blame the law that is protecting local distributors. UMW, Sime Darby, Bermaz are all complicit

• Bossku on May 09, 2023 at 5:12 pm

When did Toyota have “first” vs “third” world Toyotas? From the very begining, Toyota was made cheap and cheerful to entice Americans. By the way, Toyota is still cheap and cheerful compared to most European cars! So, only people are from “first” or “third” world countries. Not the cars. Of course, in Malaysia, you see B40 and M40 worship Toyotas like gold! In first world countries, not so much..they are the Potong and Perutdua of Malaysia!

• QC Inspector on May 10, 2023 at 11:23 am

Vios is not sold in the US, UK, AUS, NZ, EU and not even in Japan.

• Akio Toyoda is in Thailand today, this is the press release, no mentioned of third retest here. They have got the extension of the UN-R95 cert on 2 May 2023.

https://www.toyota.co.th/news/230508

• Paul Tan on May 08, 2023 at 6:06 pm

It was mentioned here

https://www.toyota.co.th/en/news/230429

• Ben Yap on May 08, 2023 at 5:40 pm

this shows that malaysia’s crash standard is very low.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Boy Racer on May 08, 2023 at 6:03 pm

“Our country does not have this particular requirement”

What is this “particular requirement”? A loophole in our law or Malaysian lives not important?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Curious on May 08, 2023 at 6:04 pm

Bcos Msia boleh, life is cheap over hear. Just wait for one unlucky fatal accident n one of the factor is due to door problem than only umw wil take action.

• Zaini0606 on May 08, 2023 at 6:11 pm

We just wait and see when and after anak yb anak menteri anak Dato’ gets involved in accidents then only actions will be taken

• “Masahiko Maeda told Reuters the problem may have occurred due to the vehicle’s relatively large size,”
    Conclusion: Be careful if you see a Hino (Toyota) lori on the road and for safety reasons never take a Hino bus.

• Yeahsure on May 08, 2023 at 6:19 pm

We have no consumer laws… Even this recent chinese junk EVs coming to our shores with xero regulations

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Safety first or money first on May 08, 2023 at 6:20 pm

An honest Daihatsu worker: flash whistleblower to Toyota’s Compliance (usually Japanese big companies have a specific hotline or website)
    Perodua/UMW: we do not receive complain or claim
    MOT: mute without any direction
    What we can learn from above is, we are still not progressive enough to safeguard consumers safety. We do not have clear policy on lemon products or products that pose safety issue that
    must be recalled

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Unimaginable Insanity....UMW..A clear n Pesent Danger on May 08, 2023 at 8:22 pm

MOT Ahlokekor should go undercover n see first hand about the “rigged” test.
      Ahlokekor,your auntie or granduncle may be driving one of these rigged Vios.By the time they arrive at Nirvana,its too late.

• MIROS tak guna on May 09, 2023 at 10:54 am

MIROS tak guna. Makan gaji buta, same as 90% of government agencies out there. All created (most you never heard of before) for abang adik makan gaji buta.

• Carolyn Khaw on May 08, 2023 at 6:26 pm

Safe to drive, but not safe to crash. They’re not afraid of our weak law with peanuts penalities

• Pitoto on May 08, 2023 at 6:35 pm

So is it okay to buy? Dad wanna get one for our yongest bro after he got his license. Or should we opt for city or almera? But we already got 3 city in the house.. Gm6 & new city both sedan & hb

• dellen on May 08, 2023 at 6:37 pm

The car passed the test without the missing notch twice. So the notch wasn’t necessary to pass the test. It’s up to you what you want to make do with this fact.

• maruchan on May 08, 2023 at 8:23 pm

lol 3 city already still getting another city? get an almera instead

• Pitoto on May 09, 2023 at 7:37 pm

Dad bought each one for us so tak berebut haha. Gm6 for me the eldest, new city sedan for my younger sister, city hb for other lil bro. Yea i told my dad to go for almera too! Haha

• Add one more city and you can probably call your house garage a state.

• anonymous on May 08, 2023 at 9:52 pm

honestly i took a look at the vios in the flesh and while i thought it looked good in pictures, it’s a little awkward in real life. maybe it’s the body kit maybe it isn’t but it seems a tad disproportionate. that being said, looks aside, i would test drive all options you listed here and purchase the car your brother is most comfortable with. personally this vios’ seats aren’t the most supportive. the current gen city to me has more thigh support and the seating position is slightly better than the vios.

• VW also fudged their data la… greed knows no bounds and boundaries.. semua buat tak kira negara mana

• Matti on May 08, 2023 at 9:32 pm

In VW case, it was VW at fault 100%. They fudged data, got caught, denied allegations, and then got caught again. In this case, Toyota Japan actually outed themselves when they got word from whistleblower. Re-test done with third-party (Belgians) present. After that phase, it’s our local standards that the blame (if any found in future) will fall on.

• retest on May 09, 2023 at 10:55 am

Re-Test with Belgians? Why they didn’t retest with Ugandians or Kenians? They are as famous in the automobile industry as Belgians?

• Truth on May 08, 2023 at 6:57 pm

Personally I will stay away from daihatsu based toyota models such as the Rush, Veloz and this new Vios….Toyota based platforms are fine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Keyboard warrior on May 08, 2023 at 9:20 pm

The Rush/Aruz is not based on any Daihatsu, Mr Smarty

• Truth on May 10, 2023 at 4:33 pm

Rush and aruz is daihatsu based models, go and do some research and than talk, real keyboard warrior indeed

• Komen alternatif on May 08, 2023 at 7:36 pm

Cammon honda. U can sell more cars. Give more discount

• Besi Busuk on May 08, 2023 at 7:58 pm

If Toyota is that safe and can pass the test, then why cheat in the first place?

• tailinngong on May 08, 2023 at 9:28 pm

aiya …law in this type of country where want to protect normal people …all talk cock and bullshit only…..law only want to protect the rich and powerful….fark up ceebai

• Sohai on May 08, 2023 at 10:39 pm

So it is safe according to Malaysia punya standard lah (or lack of it)
    Thai punya standard is not effective here.. we must maintain our sovereignty.

• And they don’t ever matter to fasten the seatbelt and using signal stalk.

• masteng on May 09, 2023 at 12:28 am

Among those who are concerned about crash test ratings, include those with poor attitude towards safe defensive driving.

• Tan Chin Sown on May 09, 2023 at 12:47 am

This is very concerning in Malaysia as we are producer of car Proton and yet we have No Government Certification Bodies to ensure that the cars sold in Malaysia are safe to use in our country. Thailand at least have their governing bodies to make sure Daihatsu and Toyota fulfilled their requirements. It is a shame to Malaysia…. APA PUN BOLiH!!!!

• MIROS makan gaji buta.

• Batman on May 09, 2023 at 8:01 am

Sales in Malaysia can proceed because our country does not have this particular requirement and the affected car has already passed a retest twice, including with the testing agency present.

So I can mod and tambah sayap and after burner like batman’s car la…since no regulations..

• Ben Yap on May 09, 2023 at 4:27 pm

maybe toyota and perodua use a kapchai as the crash cart for the side impact crash test. hence, it easily pass the test twice.

• eniltoh on May 09, 2023 at 8:35 am

No matter how thorough the tests are, when you have to go, you have to go

• And ppl in the country diedie must choose Toyota. So many other brands. Every corner Toyota. Lalamui models like chr, vios. AhPek models like Camry, vellfarts, Innova. Aunty models like cross and Corolla.

As long add ugly bumpers and grills, wah, ppl here like. Later on add TRD Sportivo stickers, can feel more ‘torque’. Wth Sportivo? It is an Italian term, not japanese. Syiok sendiri. All these ugly cosmetic add ons in the expense of safety? No wonder the models look out of proportion.

• Aeroheads on May 09, 2023 at 8:43 am

It shows that Malaysia has very lax law regarding vehicle safety compared to Thailand. Wake up Anthony Loke? Or there is conflict of interest UMNO being a shareholder in Toyota Malaysia?

• albag on May 09, 2023 at 9:22 am

You all bising-bising for what? People who choose to buy this car they don’t even bother on this shit lah, all they need is the badge.. the badge is more than enough for everything, safety is nothing!

• MarkX on May 09, 2023 at 10:14 am

It is ok lah..
    Despite all the bashing on Toyota and even Perodua, their sales volume still on top of the list and people still buy them..

• toyota cheats on May 09, 2023 at 10:23 am

lets face it, TOYOTA isnt that same honest company from 20 years ago. They are facing stiff competition in the automotive industry and are taking shortcuts now.

• fallguy on May 09, 2023 at 10:24 am

Daihatsu, because they are the smaller sub-sister of Toyota, takes the blame. Poor Daihatsu.

• Here we make our own best standard in this world and we can them as Substandard.
    Also we work direct with OEM and decide how many car makers and modals per year to be imported. We call it as AP. We strongly support you who scratch our Back

• Here we make our own best standard in this world and we can them as Substandard.
    Also we work direct with OEM and decide how many car makers and modals per year to be imported. We call it as AP & Kuota. Once we give you AP for 100 units than you can bring in 100garbage. We strongly support you who scratch our Back

• Aeroheads on May 12, 2023 at 9:50 am

Toyota is going downhill. Get a Ioniq 6. Damn sexy.

• Azroy on May 13, 2023 at 11:24 am

Like: Honda City
    Dislike: Daihatsu Vios

• Allan on May 13, 2023 at 5:49 pm

Lost confidence in Toyota quality together with Perodua Myvi on going OF leakage issues. has to look else where.

• Howard on May 13, 2023 at 7:53 pm

If all vehicles are subjected to similar tests, no EVs would be able to pass the test. This is because once the battery of EVs are broken during collision, it will burst into flames and burning everything down into ashes. EVs should be the first to be banned permanently. Our government is going to electrify all vehicles without really understanding the danger of EVs. For those who intend to buy one, think twice and do your own research. Find out why battery will catch fire once broken. The same goes for Tesla or BYD. Stay away from EVs if you want to live longer.

• Tan Chin Soon on May 22, 2023 at 1:35 pm

Malaysia apa pun bolih!