Formula 1 could return to Malaysia in 3-5 years if there are corporate sponsors, says MAM president Mokhzani

There is a possibility of Malaysia hosting a Formula 1 Grand Prix again in the next three to five years if companies are willing to foot the bill, according to Motorsports Association of Malaysia president Mokhzani Mahathir.

“In terms of being the host, it’s not a problem. It is a question of who is going to pay and whether we can afford it or not. I have no idea what is it (the cost) right now, but definitely it is higher than when we stopped in 2017,” Mokhzani said in a report by Bernama.

“F1 is more popular than it used to be, it has a new audience after the Formula 1: Drive to Survive Netflix series while a lot of countries are bidding for the race as a statement for their country,” he added.

The Sepang International Circuit (SIC) first hosted the F1 Malaysian Grand Prix in 1999, but due to the rising cost of hosting the event as well as declining ticket sales, the federal government decided to end it after the final race in 2017. It is estimated to cost over RM200 million annually to host the F1 races.

Even so, Mokhzani said despite not hosting a Grand Prix for six years now, SIC remains popular among F1 enthusiasts and drivers. “We get comments from drivers themselves that Sepang is one of the challenging tracks that they want to see back in the calendar. We always have a good relationship with the organiser, we knew them since 1996 when we started the discussion to host the race, so it is a matter of time,” he explained.

The idea of F1 making a return to Malaysia has been brought up many times, first by Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad. Azhan Shafriman Hanif, CEO of SIC, also did not rule out a comeback, but there haven’t been any concrete plans for now. Would you want Malaysia to host F1 again?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• night race better.. Share cost… tong2 la..

• eeeriz on May 17, 2023 at 2:56 pm

I have to second this, I’ve been to F1 races twice in the past, and the result was always end up with fever and tiredness due to hot weather. Night race will definitely be pleasant to every spectator but SIC needs to upgrade the lighting. Good luck :)

• PlainBS on May 18, 2023 at 8:34 am

Lagi lagi this useless Permaidani gomen want to siphon more rakyat money for useless shiok sendiri projects? Cant wait fr them to be kicked out

• oricon666 on May 18, 2023 at 4:23 pm

Butt hurt? Try la ask Ketupat Hadi or Cowshit Abahai to kick them out lah… Pretty please

• TONTUKTUK on May 17, 2023 at 10:23 am

Ask ur TONTON to sponsor

• Yeahsure on May 17, 2023 at 10:23 am

Ask daddy!

• joseph poovan on May 17, 2023 at 10:36 am

not required, let the SIC track run more grass root track events, motorcycle racing or even formula E racing…F1 may have its cache..but SIC’s management should focus on getting more revenue and increase utilisation of facilities, without burdening gov coffers

• dompet ringan on May 17, 2023 at 10:36 am

The MAM president says that he has no idea of the cost right now & at the same time, he asks for corporate sponsors. He should kira dulu & then only request. I’m sure if someone approaches him or his business entity to ask for sponsorship, he himself would definitely ask for specific numbers.

• Col Josh Albert Goh on May 17, 2023 at 2:14 pm

Dun need corporate sponsors. Just ask Daddy to sponsor. Daddy started F1 and wants F1 to return as his legacy. Why else is he top dog of MAM?

Tell Anwar to display once & for all his “facts” of Tun making money out of Rayat & benefitting his family and cohorts. Tun already taking Anwar suing for $150 M – menang & donate to the Rakyat or bring back F1 as Tun Dr M F1 – permanent legacy.

• dompet ringan on May 17, 2023 at 3:22 pm

If he knows that his ayahanda will win the lawsuit & donate the proceeds to the F1 cause, he wouldn’t have bothered mentioning about sponsors & would instead be thinking about procuring his next exotic super car.

• PLEASE don’t bring F1 back! Enough of this overpriced elitist sham of a sporting event that doesn’t benefit anyone but the T10

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Bernie on May 17, 2023 at 11:45 am

Who cares about F1 anyway? The money is better spend at other occasions.

• FreakingAnnoyed on May 17, 2023 at 12:48 pm

Ask from daddy. And your brothers. You can also chip in. Your family should have enough money to sponsor F1 for 10years while still living extravagant lifestyle.

• HEY small boy on May 17, 2023 at 12:51 pm

NO BEER and NO GIRLS allowed

GO else where kids

• Boy Racer on May 17, 2023 at 2:44 pm

Bring back f1. Government needs to see the bigger picture, it’s not about making back money just from F1 but the increase in overall tourism spending.

• azhar on May 17, 2023 at 4:50 pm

Your father want to sponsor? Atuk97 and Sons Bhd.

• 97 years old and counting.... on May 17, 2023 at 9:00 pm

I don’t know. Maybe if daddy start a Proklamasi F1 it might just happen.

• mayiru on May 18, 2023 at 11:08 am

pee sapede da sunni taleya