JPJ’s earnings third-highest amongst gov’t agencies – department aiming to collect above RM5 bil in 2023

Collections by the road transport department (JPJ) make the agency one of the highest revenue earners for the government. According to its director-general Datuk Zailani Hashim, its revenue collection last year placed the department third in income generated by government agencies, as Bernama reports.

“Last year, we collected RM4.92 billion (originally reported as RM4.89 billion). JPJ’s collection is one of the highest in the country after the customs department and the inland revenue board (LHDN). If we go by last year’s statistics, we managed to collect an average of RM11 million a day,” he said.

He said the department was aiming to go past the RM5 billion mark in 2023. “This year, we are confident of being able to collect more than RM5 billion taking into account the digitalisation initiatives and programmes launched by JPJ for the community,” he stated.

He said road tax and driving licence renewals were the main contributors to income, making up more than 60% of the revenue. Other revenue contributors included its JPJeBiD electronic vehicle number plate bidding system and vehicle registration fees.

In 2021, the department collected RM4.004 billion in revenue, while its total collection for 2020 was RM4.1 billion.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Keyboard warrior on May 17, 2023 at 11:14 am

Let me guess, Bribing?

• touch screen warlord on May 17, 2023 at 2:26 pm

fancy number plates bidding free flow of revenue

• Lets See on May 18, 2023 at 8:31 am

Yalah! Nonstop weekly stream of fancy plates release for sale. Lokekor now is MOT fancy plate seller No1 that is his work now, other than going ‘incognito’ with a hoard of cameramen. Taking care of road users? Nah he aint got the time for us folks unless you are buying expensive fancy plates.

• Bilderburg extraordinary member on May 18, 2023 at 3:42 pm

should not forget to compliment jpj director for his hard work on this lucrative fancy plate sales.

• tak kisah lah nak collect 5, 6, 10, 100 billion pon… jangan TIRIS cukup lah. Collection is not the big issue, it’s the leakages/inefficiencies that cost the gomen and people

• Germen Perpaduan on May 17, 2023 at 1:13 pm

That’s why to be an open house operator is every rakyat’s dream.Imagine 20,000 people …berapa profits?Whose money?JPJ collection…No need Merc but spent juta juta on open houses,PM,just doesn’t make sense.

• but my refund from JPJ still pending since 1st Aug 2022. Hmmmm..

• Sohai on May 17, 2023 at 12:08 pm

Is not just about how much you have collected…
    How is the RM5 bil spent? Can we have some details?

• mahafiraun on May 17, 2023 at 12:43 pm

definitely not on road safety lol

• Unimaginable Insanity...germen perpaduan open houses on May 17, 2023 at 4:40 pm

Last week,a friend went to HKL to get appointment to see their psychologist.
        Horror of all horrors.They gave october 31 as earliest date. By the time,even before the appointment date approaches,the poor mental patient already self hurt or committed suicide.
        Instead of having countless open houses,the tax dollars could have been used to construct temporary “khemahs”to ease the horrific congestion at germen hospitals.Some of the car parks could be converted into “field hospitals” to treat the poor rakyat.
        U can collect a billion Rm from JPJ,but overall the rakyat is still paying high car taxes,road tax n private hospital bills.
        So what difference can we see in this germen perpaduan compared to the lockdown germen?

• YB Ajibkor distress on May 17, 2023 at 1:07 pm

Did u count all the non stop open houses since Raya?Siapa punya duit?The crony open house operator is having 7 star hotel celebrations.Pure wastages,when rakyat have to go private hospitals due to overcrowding at germen hospitals.Just pathetic.

• dompet ringan on May 17, 2023 at 3:10 pm

Fuel subsidies?

• Zahid Hamidi on May 17, 2023 at 12:45 pm

Woraah! Anwar menang rakyat senang!

• Holiday Driving on May 17, 2023 at 1:29 pm

“department aiming to collect above RM5 bil in 2023” – Now that sounds like a sales target of a Pvt Ltd !!!!

• mr1031 on May 17, 2023 at 3:01 pm

should’ve been more if not for the saman discount..maybe can grab top spot already..

• Ben Yap on May 17, 2023 at 3:33 pm

with anthony loke’s creativity, JPJ will always hit their target.

• call me by your name on May 17, 2023 at 3:44 pm

oklah no need to do enforcement which is your main role, just keep on making money from the people

• Dominic on May 17, 2023 at 6:13 pm

Easy lah, just keep introduce new plates for bidding, haha….
    If collect from enforcement, then i will salute the agency.

• Meanwhile in salah laku ranking RTD come 2nd afte RMP.

• ROTI CANAI on May 18, 2023 at 10:10 am

no wonder JPJ branch in PJ behave like gangster, cos they literally are

• Levin on May 18, 2023 at 11:41 am

Both Kastam and JPJ are top 3 highest revenue for the country, but try walking into any Kastam or JPJ offices (other than in Putrajaya) and you’ll see how poorly the office is maintained and the equipments are not updated. In some offices, they don’t even have enough staff and staffs are underpaid (no wonder they take bribe). Also dealing with them especially Kastam can be pain as they still prefer old school method such as bank draft or postal order for payments. This is a big joke.

With the collection target set to above RM5Bil for 2023, can only mean one thing which is we can never see “cheaper” cars for sure. No more dreams or hopes of buying cheaper cars in Malaysia.