2023 Proton X50 and X70 launched in Mozambique

Proton has announced it has entered a new export market in May 2023 in a recent release that also highlighted its sales performance last month. According to the carmaker, Mozambique is its 12th export market, with the X50 and X70 being the first models to be offered through local distributor Entreposto.

In Mozambique, the X50 is offered in four variants, three of which feature a port-injected (PFI) 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine that makes 150 PS and 226 Nm of torque. These are the Standard, Luxury and Executive, while the range-topping Premium gets a direct-injected (TGDi) version of the engine with 177 PS and 255 Nm – all variants are front-wheel drive with a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission.

The X50 line-up closely mirrors what we have in Malaysia, albeit with some changes to the variant names. The Executive and Premium we have here are pushed up a rung in Mozambique and joined by a new Luxury option, but the equipment that comes with each is similar to what’s offered here.

Proton X50 and X70 specs for Mozambique (second row); click to enlarge

As for the X70, Mozambique only gets four variants with the same 1.5 litre TGDi as the X50 Premium, also with a seven-speed dual-clutch gearbox – Malaysia also gets a 1.8 litre TGDi. The line-up includes the Standard 2WD, Executive 2WD, Executive AWD and Premium X 2WD, the last of which was previously used for the X70 here before the 2022 update.

Entreposto revealed last week that the Premium variant of the X50 is being offered at a special launch price of 2.2 million Mozambican metical (MT), which is around RM159k. Meanwhile, the top Premium variant of the X70’s goes for MT2.3 million (around RM167k).

GALLERY: 2023 Proton X50 Mozambique brochure

GALLERY: 2023 Proton X70 Mozambique brochure

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ben Yap on Jun 13, 2023 at 10:53 am

Malaysians already find that in Malaysia the top spec X70 going for RM130K and X50 going for RM113K is not very cheap. Meanwhile Mozambique is one of the world’s poorest countries are made to pay RM167k for X70 and RM159K for X50. With Mozambique having high corruption, most likely the buyers in the country for Proton X70 and X50 are corrupters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • Squid on Jun 13, 2023 at 2:15 pm

The poorest countries have the richest people. Tell me I’m wrong.

• Lelong..lelong Birkin handbags on Jun 13, 2023 at 3:02 pm

I concur with u.
        Probably there r hundreds of maverick merpatis from Kajang there…u know what I mean ?

• Jasonx on Jun 13, 2023 at 4:51 pm

And rich people will bother looking at a Proton? LMAO

• my rich neighbour is the buyer for x70 in the first year. he has a porsche 911 turbo and Nissan GTR, at the same time.

• u2pitt0wat on Jun 13, 2023 at 2:59 pm

Your assumption is that it’s designed for most people to afford, it’s not. Besides, most people at this price point will shop the more established Japanese brands, as they have no favoritism there tax-wise, like here.

• Lelong..lelong Birkin handbags on Jun 13, 2023 at 3:06 pm

Ya..plenty of Imelda Rosy there with returned berlian cincin costing a billion.
      DRB under the Arab ..cant be bothered.He is cashing in.

• Proton only able to sell cars in 3rd world countries lol

• Proton only able to sell cars in 3rd world countries haha

• Teacher on Jun 13, 2023 at 10:58 am

Strangely, the Mozambique brochures are in English? But the national language of Mozambique is Portuguese?

• Thinking out loud on Jun 13, 2023 at 12:31 pm

Bilingual country. Portuguese and English main languages as well as other languages like Afrikaans, Zulu, Xhosa, etc. Also the marketing material is probably managed by CMH South Africa.

• u2pitt0wat on Jun 13, 2023 at 3:02 pm

The national language of Malaysia is Malay, yet all foreign car brands brochures are in English, not even some, literally all, see how ignorant you sound?

• ThePolygon on Jun 13, 2023 at 11:25 am

Next to Zimbabwe.

• This does annoy be a bit. I understand expansion is important blah blah blah, but we have a massive parts shortage here and poor after sales services. Fix that la dulu, why so syok go here and there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Sohai on Jun 13, 2023 at 4:03 pm

Is abit like how AirAsia started…
      Flight kept delaying and still the expansion was aggressive.

To solve whatever problems, you need to achieve critical mass.

• Geely say geely on Jun 13, 2023 at 11:36 am

It is Geely. Not proton.

• John T on Jun 13, 2023 at 11:37 am

Here also can’t get spare parts, wonder how it’s going to be there.

• Banyak spare parts on Jun 14, 2023 at 2:50 pm

I see so many spare parts. Just go on taobao and look for the same model under Geely. So many and soooooooooooooo cheap. brand new

• Testing bukan main hebat, pergi Australia, Iceland … tapi jual kat Pakistan, Kenya and now Mozambique.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • Anti Bodoh on Jun 13, 2023 at 1:20 pm

So kenape eh? Kalau testing kt aussie , iceland semua tu tak boleh ke nak jual kat pakistan kenya dan sebagainya? Apasal benak sangat ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Nak jual kat Mazambique, testlah kat Mozambique. Berkampung kat sana. Ni nak bercuti kat iceland atas alasan testing kereta. Patutlah kena jual China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
        • Anti Bodoh on Jun 13, 2023 at 3:14 pm

Ada proton kata diorang tak test kt sana ke? Mestilah ada buat road test semua tu. Nak bash je kejenya. Tiba2 tuduh bercuti lah ape lah macam dia terpaling tahu segala hal. Nampak sangat hati hitam ni asyik nampak yang negatif je. Jangan tunjuk sangat mentaliti 3rd world tu ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Eyesore on Jun 14, 2023 at 4:22 pm

you sir has no clue what you are talking about…
      you think ppl went to test at iceland bcoz wanting to sell in iceland or europe?

bodoh tu simpan skit…

• Thinking out loud on Jun 13, 2023 at 12:26 pm

Trial by fire, only Japanese cars and pick ups survive Mozambique. I have gone there a few times. Lovely seafood and people, not so lovely roads and infrastructure.

• Why does Proton keep selling to countries poorer than Msia…at a higher price than in Msia…

• u2pitt0wat on Jun 13, 2023 at 3:04 pm

Favorable tax-laws due to national brand protectionism? should be obvious by now, happening for decades, yet a self-proclaim Dr dunno.

• Matiuson Chee Ah Lek on Jun 13, 2023 at 4:24 pm

This is bukti P1 is 3rd world car sold at premium price with guaranteed no spare parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Popsicle on Jun 14, 2023 at 9:54 am

Useless expansion. How many cars they expect to sell in a year? 20? 50? They should target bigger markets closer to home like Thailand and Vietnam.

• Rakyat on Jun 14, 2023 at 10:27 am

Well done Proton. Now going global fast.

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 19, 2023 at 7:35 pm

yea and everyone gonna buy a toyota as usual