Shell Malaysia has announced the results of its Shell FuelSave 95 Challenge 2023, which concluded with the grand finale for the event last weekend. The challenge sought to find the one Malaysian who could clock the best fuel economy with the company’s new and improved FuelSave 95 formulation, which was introduced in February.
Formulated after five years of extensive research and tests conducted by 150 fuel scientists across the globe, the company said its updated Euro 4M RON 95 petrol delivers better performance through deeper cleaning and protection as well as improved fuel economy, delivering up to 15 km more per tank.
After a month-long search across five regions, the grand finale saw five contestants competing to see who could set the best mileage record with the maingrade fuel. The 121 km route chosen for the challenge began at Shell SM Alisha, Shah Alam, taking contestants through Cyberjaya, Bukit Jalil, Cheras, Ampang, Gombak, Sri Hartamas, Kota Damansara and Puncak Alam before returning to the starting point.
Chin Li Qin from Johor emerged as the grand finale champion, breaking his previous record of 25.45 km per litre by registering an impressive 28.23 km per litre to take home the grand prize of RM20,000.
“I’m genuinely excited to win the Shell FuelSave 95 Challenge 2023. It was impressive to see all participants achieving mileage beyond the average benchmark. Some roads were quite challenging, but I tried to keep myself calm and drive like I normally do back in my hometown,” Chin said.
The 26-year-old competed against Jeffrey Tan Teck Seng from Port Dickson, Ahmad Amirul Runass from Kuantan, Muhammad Jazli Mahathir from Ipoh, and Lai Siaw Feng from Kuching, who represented their respective regions.
The company said that the new and improved Shell FuelSave95 had delivered on its promise by allowing motorists to experience longer uninterrupted drives of up to 15 km longer per tank.
“Now, not only are we able to quantify the fuel economy gained by the customers from a full tank of Shell FuelSave 95, we are also able to witness the unbelievable mileage experienced by our customers, which further proves our new and improved Shell FuelSave95 to be truly better by far,” said Seow Lee Ming, general manager of mobility at Shell Malaysia.
LOL all marketing BS.
How did the winner use her car? On what road? Is she driving as he/she normally would?
Many factors come into play here.
By paying 30 grand to garner increase sales of say 50-100 juta RM a month…is a brilliant promotional strategy.
The prize money is an ant compared to an elephant.
If like this,matter of time petronas or Caltex got to close some non performing stations.
Germen perpaduan..time to check if this is a scam.
Using hybrid… kek
yes, and modified to include input with solar panels on roof and door panels. WIN LIKE A BOSS
Wanna know how and why I stopped using Shell petrol more than 15 years ago?
1. The car feels more sluggish immediately after you pump a full tank of Shell petrol when there’s no choice of petrol station nearby after using another brand of petrol.
2. My old kelisa shakes harder at idle when using Shell petrol.
3. Even the range meter shows lower range if pump full tank of Shell petrol.
Yeah, you can say whatever you want.
But I’ve tested and experienced this first hand.
holy cow, i had the same experience with you on 1 and 2.
On my Proton Wira 1.5GLi, whenever i fill up with Shell, my engine would vibrate harshly and noisier. Also no power when accelerating. At the time, my preferred petrol was Mobil. But sadly no more Mobil stations today.
my myvi also shake worse during mornings when the car is started cold, with Shell petrol. Luckily it goes away once it has warmed up.
Shell 95 fuel gives my car (2013 Mazda6 2.5) vibration and discernable groan at low speed. Initially I thought it was my car but I’ve tried many times, since Shell is the most convenient for me, always the case. Caltex fuel does not do that to my car.
We are giving you a tiny bit of extra mileage for every litre of shell petrol in exchange for harsh engine vibration and causing extra wear and tear to your beloved car. Pump shell today!
no, thanks
the winner should go to Abang G from Drive Fast. He said his average is 12km per liter and with Shell Fuel Save, he can do 19km per liter. Way above what shell claim can do 15km on a fuel tank…. that guy review is totally rigged for an influencer.
Your Excellency Ben Yap
I fully agree with u 101 %.
That abang dude..tokok most of the time.
U look at his piranha teeth,n inverted mouth.
Thats how these you tubers cari makan..sensationalise non sensational things…cos there r people who get carried away with SYIOK SYIOK celebrity talk.
Time to do our own research.
gotta stop watching all these influencer BS.
they make money from sponsors, so you can 100% bet their story are all biased and lies.
With EVs entering the market, this form of fossil fuel economy run contest doesn’t seem that important anymore.
cant wait for the time when all these mega-conglomerates of the fossil fuel industry gets choked due to large adoption of EV / hydrogen fuel.
But petronas and malaysia GDP…. GG
Legit shell fuel can save fuel. Can give better mileage. But there are side effects, sluggish, engine knocking. Even on ron97 shell, my car engine knocks when going up slopes. Change to competitors ron95, no such issues.