Will buying an electric car cause your entire TNB bill to be hit with the RM0.10 per kWh ICPT surcharge?

Yesterday’s big news was the announcement of a revised ICPT tariff for the second half of 2023. For most domestic users, an ICPT rebate of RM0.02 remains. But for users who use more than 1,500 kWh a month, this rebate becomes a surcharge of RM0.10, which is effectively a 12 sen upwards movement. The surcharge will apply to your entire bill, not just kWh consumed above the 1,500 kWh per month limit.

If your monthly bill is consistently below 1,500 kWh, this news should not worry you. But if your bill is between 1,200-1,300 kWh every month, and you’ve been considering getting an electric car which you will plan to charge at home. You might be wondering if the electric car will push your bill above the 1,500 kWh limit.

This is why we’ve created this simple EV energy consumption calculator to help you make a decision. Simply key in how many km you drive a month, your EV’s energy efficiency (we’ve defaulted this to 17), and what your current TNB bill is before adding EV charging to the bill.

The example in the screenshot above shows a user whose current TNB bill is 1,000 kWh. He plans to drive 2,500 km a month with an EV that consumes 17 kWh per 100 km. His final TNB will will be around 1,425 kWh, which is under the 1,500 kWh limit for the surcharge.

But in this second example, the user’s current TNB bill is on average 1,300 kWh. The same EV will push his consumption to 1,725 kWh. This will trigger the surcharge.

Remember, the surcharge applies to the entire bill, not just the kWh amount that’s above 1,500 kWh, which in this case 1,725-1,500=225 kWh. So in this case, the surcharge would automatically increase the bill by RM172.50, not RM22.50

If you consume 1,501 kWh? Too bad. That extra 1 kWh would be the most expensive 1kWh ever, automatically increasing your entire bill by RM150.10.

We foresee that this might dampen the sales potential of more affordable EVs such as Neta V and the upcoming BYD Dolphin, which are just starting to hit the market. Buyers of these more affordable EVs might be more sensitive to movements in electricity costs. Why should they take the risk to adopt EVs when no such tiered subsidy system exists when purchasing petrol?

We hope this helps you understand how adding an EV could impact your TNB bill thanks to the new ICPT tariff that has this “1,500 kWh” switchover point.

Click here to use the EV consumption calculator.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Why the battery car need so much headache.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Amriji on Jun 25, 2023 at 2:19 pm

Because policy and people make it so…
      In terms of energy efficiency, EV is already very efficient especially in traffic jams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • Lolwhut? on Jun 26, 2023 at 10:53 am

So this is Pakatan’s grand plan to encourage people to buy into EV ecosystem? By charging them EXTRA just to charge their EV? Genius!

• stasta on Jun 28, 2023 at 9:53 pm

lokwhut, any household who consume excessively will be hit by surcharge regardless of whether your usage is caused by EV, bitcoin mining, or air con.

genius indeed.

• The Victorian on Jun 25, 2023 at 7:00 pm

Since Mr.Paul Tan has written this article,I guess those who r really not concerned about a TNB surcharge hike,will go ahead with their Ev dream car.
      But to those who r not sure,n in “borderline” surcharge territory..it makes sense to stay with ICE cars at the moment.
      Already ,in USA there is a recall of the Hyundai EVs for deceleration n even stalling issues.
      Dont just join the EV revolution blindly.Do your research.Of course,EV car distributors will highlight how cool,it is to drive Evs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
      • lolpanda on Jun 26, 2023 at 9:41 am

The Hyundai USA case isn’t a recall. 30 reported cases out of 40K units on US roads allegedly had issues, that’s 0.075%.

Mercedes recalled the EQS & EQE in June’23 and BMW recalled the iX, i4, & i7 for similar deceleration issues in Jan’23.

Wow, EV recalls – must be problematic. Guess what? Recalls are evident for all types of vehicles. EVs get more media spotlight because it’s newer tech so people are more critical of it.

Everyone’s favourite Honda recalled countless vehicles for a variety of reasons – CRV for rust, a multitude of 2022-2023 models because a bad connection in the electronic system could prevent the engine from starting, the list goes on – Not EV.

Ford recalled a massive number of vehicles with 1.5 and 1.6 Ecoboost engines across Europe – Also not EV.

Volvo recently recalled a bunch of vehicles because a ECM error may prevent the combustion engine from starting, causing a loss of drive power – Also not EV.

Trusty Toyota recalled millions of vehicles because the pedal would get stuck and millions for defective fuel pumps causing the car to stall unexpectedly – Also not EV.

Are you forgetting the millions of recalls for Takata’s airbags? – Also not EV.

None of those are EVs. So are you to say you’ll never buy any car ever again? Heck even trusty Toyota/Daihatsu just had a recall. Also not EV.

Any recall/investigation into issues means at least matters are being assessed and efforts to resolve it are being made – better than just keeping quiet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • takkatatakata on Jun 26, 2023 at 11:42 am

bro since beginning of time semua kereta pun ada problem la bukan EV jer – malaysian favourite top reliability H & T brand kereta ICE also banyak recall. jangan bias ye.

• Haha..buy petrol car better..no need all these headache

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Susukotak on Jun 25, 2023 at 6:16 pm

Next the madani will squeez petrol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • per maidani on Jun 26, 2023 at 9:39 am

i use subsidized petrol to run generator and charge all my EV. mad?

• stasta on Jun 28, 2023 at 9:58 pm

haha buy petrol car better less head ache, oh wait need to change

engine oil
      gearbox oil,
      timing belt,
      coolant,
      spark plugs,
      filter,

hell of huge maintenance

• all bullshit and smokescreens on Jun 25, 2023 at 7:09 pm

those can buy ev are just toys for em…rich …electricity surcharge..in fact whatever charges they dont give a fark…

for those who are normal or average people … stick with ice… less crap and hassles…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • bigboytoys on Jun 26, 2023 at 11:32 am

perhaps we may get there one day, but for a long time to come EVs are indeed a luxury items.

most ppl stay in condo how to charge? can buy Neta V also no where to plug in – ParkEasy and ChargEV so expensive.

• Bossku on Jun 25, 2023 at 7:22 pm

The increase doesn’t impact this T20 folks whose consumption above 1500 kwh. I think their monthly pumping Ron 97 wouldn’t even bat an eyelid

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 25, 2023 at 9:38 pm

Did you mean T2?

Pretty sure the bottom half of T20 is feeling the pinch too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Bieber Bak Kut Teh on Jun 25, 2023 at 8:17 pm

Haha electric shock the tech monkies catch fire hazard no charging station costly replacement battery and more

• the tariff increase, should care not.
    to save the planet by less carbon emissions, the ev mission is.
    inevitable for high electric users, such cost is.

• piplup on Jun 26, 2023 at 12:14 am

those driving EVs already save alot from regular ICE maintenance anyway. the hike is a small amount to them T20.

• Sohai on Jun 26, 2023 at 10:55 am

True.. Rm500 less a month will not change their lives. Their dining out for 1 meal probably cost as much. Also those having EV most likely have it as second car. They have the option of using their Ice car more.

• Harga naik on Jun 26, 2023 at 7:24 am

Dont forget to add another 6% for service tax

• Ben Yap on Jun 26, 2023 at 8:20 am

malaysians want cheap and convenient. ICE engines will still soldier on for the next 2 decades.

• bizikot on Jun 26, 2023 at 9:03 am

One could request for a 2nd kWh meter just for the EV charger at home, which means there will be a separate bill to stay below the monthly 1500 kWh limit & avoid the surcharge, but the regulations probably don’t allow this.

• Tanabe Kun on Jun 26, 2023 at 9:27 am

even without an EV car, currently the household electricity bills will be badly impacted by the hike. Expecting an increase of 50% at least. so a normal RM200 monthyl, will soon be RM300 after July. I dunno man, I mean the corruption of the previous regime was bad, but the current regime is choking everyday people.

• you dont calculate the SURCHAGE like this. Unless your entire house dont use electricity, except charge the car. Which is nonsense. misleading much, Paul?

• orang bijak on Jun 26, 2023 at 9:39 am

do like me, use subsidized petrol to run generator, charge EV.

• Sohai on Jun 26, 2023 at 10:27 am

As usual, half-baked ideas from our ministers. If you’re gonna increase electricitytariff, please provide alternative like reducing cost of PV/green energy installation. Or if you’re going for targeted fuel subsidy, then make EV cars more affordable. Always no holistic implementation of policies. No wonder we’re a laughing stock

• Sohai ori on Jun 26, 2023 at 1:46 pm

From another angle, it is holistic in the sense that it is all targeting the T20, be it removing fuel subsidy or electric tariff. Not from a mobility perspective thou.

In fact, it is argubly effective. First trap the T20 with “cheap” EV cars, subsequently hit them with expensive electricity. Meantime, get Lok to sell them expensive plates.

Who is laughing?

• Ev vs ice on Jun 26, 2023 at 10:59 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 241
  • up till now the write-ups have been very focused on EV owners being impacted so let me put in my neutral perspective.

my house has 2 aircons running at night and on really hot weekend afternoons, i’ll turn on 1 aircon for maybe 3-4 hours (this happens maybe once or twice a month). My consumption used to average 550kWh.

i switched to an EV this year and my consumption has gone up to around 660kWh and i drive around 750km a month.

roughly use 110kWh to travel 750km. even if i TRIPLE my mileage in a month to 2,250km a month, it’ll be 550kWh + 330kWh = 880kWh a month which is still far from the 1,500kWh tariff.

if an EV tips your TNB bill into the new tariff, it’s probably more so because your existing home appliances consumption is already high to begin with.

This isn’t a T20 or T10 situation – it’s probably T2 or T1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • stop deluding yourself that ev is good…

• jealousmuch on Jun 29, 2023 at 3:12 pm

don’t be bitter person…if and when the accessibility reaches your level suddenly you will buy one too

you’re being bitter cos right now you can’t afford one realistically (not just the price of the car but also having access to your own EVSE in a landed property)

usually ppl are negative / bitter towards something until they themselves have access / can afford it then suddenly their opinions change.

haters of continental cars are also the same bunch who would buy one if money suddenly came their way.