Denyu Bostandzhiev is the new managing director of PHSAM and VPCM in Malaysia, succeeding Erik Winter

Denyu Bostandzhiev (left), Kurt Leitner (right)

Porsche Holding Salzburg (PHS) has announced the appointment of Denyu Bostandzhiev as the managing director of PHS Automotive Malaysia (PHSAM) and Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM). Beginning July 1, Denyu will lead the sales, aftersales and network development, marketing and IT departments for both companies. He will jointly serve in the position together with Kurt Leitner who will continue to helm the HR and finance departments.

Since 2004, Denyu has assumed several roles across three continents in the automotive and engineering industry, meaning he brings with him almost 20 years of experience. Prior to his latest role, Denyu served as managing director of Porsche Ukraine where he was tasked with restructuring all brand departments as well as introduce a business process management programme to create a cutting-edge long-term brand strategy.

Malaysia is a familiar environment for Denyu as he was previously assigned here in 2016 for two and a half years. During his time here, he was instrumental in securing local assembly operations for the Volkswagen Arteon, Tiguan Allspace and Golf GTI.

“I am enthusiastic about returning to Malaysia to offer a premium experience for customers in which Audi and Volkswagen prides itself in. I believe that both the brand core values of digitalisation, design and sustainability – evident in the strong line-up of progressive premium and affordable premium products, will continue to captivate the local market,” said Denyu.

Denyu succeeds Erik Winter, who has served in his role for nearly seven years and was key in reintroducing the Audi brand in Malaysia last July through PHSAM. For the Volkswagen brand, Erik bolstered aftersales support and helped strengthen the dealer network, while also expanding the local product range. He will be moving on as managing director of PHS in Chile.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Cyn1c on Jun 30, 2023 at 4:36 pm

To these people, Malaysia is just a stepping stone towards bigger jobs in bigger countries, that are higher-paying and higher-prestige, it’s just a revolving door

• SmartConsumer on Jun 30, 2023 at 5:13 pm

new sales boss is a Ukrainian for a German company?? Double blow. Most of us supports Russia mate. Your sales will be crushed. We stand with the good people and we do not support war mongers. Go back to Europe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
  • DirtyModi on Jul 01, 2023 at 5:12 pm

Ukrainian and Germans?? Please go back lah. Most smart people around the world stands with Putin and Russia. We know the truth. Please get lost lah and go back to your collapsing Europe. Slava Russia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Autodriver on Jul 03, 2023 at 8:47 am

I don’t know why VW acts so slow in Malaysia for ICE and EV while their own sub-brand Porsche is doing way better than VW. I am seeing lots of Macan, Cayenne and even Tycan more than newly registered VW vehicle.

VW Malaysia should just give up the ICE car and bring in the ID series will do. BMW, Merc and Volvo are catching up in this EV market to compete with Chinese and Korean brands. Seeing more and more of your existing customer leaving because lack of new product and also acting slow in EV. Hope this newly appointed MD will do something according to the market trend.

Currently VW line up only Tiguan, Golf and soon phase out Arteon.