2023 Kia Picanto facelift debuts with bolder exterior styling – 1.0L,1.2L engines; 5MT, 5AMT, 4AT; new kit

The third-generation Kia Picanto (also known as the Morning in South Korea) has received its second facelift which brings a bold new look that follows the carmaker’s ‘Opposites United’ design philosophy.

The refreshed Picanto is easily identified by its face, which appears to draw inspiration from the EV9 electric SUV. New Y-shaped headlamps are an immediate giveaway that gives the A-segment hatchback a more imposing and angular appearance.

Elsewhere, the small tiger nose grille has been revised and now sports a thicker chrome bar, while the front bumper has a more expressive lower intake featuring body-coloured accents and gloss black trim.

At the rear, the reshaped taillights extend into the tailgate via light bars just under the window, and there’s also a new bumper that incorporates the reflectors into the faux vents. You’ll also spot the prominent diffuser-like element and no exposed exhaust outlet.

This aggressive exterior applies to GT-Line models, but if you want something a little more subtle, a baseline version is available as well. As pictured on Kia’s South Korean website, the baseline Picanto has a simpler front bumper design where the lower intake is without gigantic faux vents, while the rear bumper doesn’t have the diffuser. Though not mentioned, the previous SUV-inspired X-Line variant that was offered in Europe appears to have been dropped entirely.

Changes on the inside are less substantial, with the dashboard design remaining familiar as before. There is however a new 8-inch touchscreen infotainment system being one of the notable upgrades. The system supports both Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, while also having connected features and the ability to be improved via over-the-air software updates.

Another revision is the addition of a standard 4.2-inch digital instrument cluster. Automatic air-conditioning, heated front seats, a ventilated driver’s seat and a wide range of advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS) are also offered. On the last item, available systems include Forward Collision-Avoidance Assist (AEB) with junction support, blind spot monitoring, lane keep assist, lead vehicle departure warning, lane follow assist, rear cross traffic alert, driver attention warning and speed limit assist.

Customisation options include wheel sets that range from 14 to 16 inches in size, nine exterior paint finishes (including four that are new: Signal Red, Smoke Blue, Sporty Blue and Adventurous Green) a choice of fabric or synthetic leather upholstery (depending on variant) as well as various interior trimmings.

In terms of powertrains, the Picanto will no longer be offered with a 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder T-GDI engine making 100 PS (99 hp or 74 kW). Instead, there’s just two naturally-aspirated units to choose from, including a 1.0 litre three-cylinder MPI and a 1.2 litre four-cylinder MPI.

Kia didn’t mention output figures, but the smaller-capacity engine made 67 PS (66 hp or 49 kW) previously, while the 1.2 litre is good for 84 PS (83 hp or 62 kW). Drive is sent to the front wheels through either a five-speed manual or a five-speed automated manual gearbox. In South Korea, the Picanto only comes with a 1.0 litre engine and a different four-speed automatic transmission.

No myTukar Certified cars found.

GALLERY: 2023 Kia Picanto GT-Line facelift (European market)

GALLERY: 2023 Kia Picanto facelift (South Korea market)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• can you imagine this car is competing against Axia. It is night & day different. This picanto is soooo next level. If we ignore the tax and imagine both in the same price segment, you’ll know right away which one to choose. Our Axia still has a long long way to go to compete with this picanto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • hazri on Jul 06, 2023 at 3:30 pm

imagine kia picanto with kosong spec like axia rahmah. people will still choose axia because it is perodua, cheap service and spare part. but, if imagine axia with spec like this kia picanto, people still choose axia. why? because it is perodua. cheap service and spare part. so, in the end, why need to compete? just provide what people can afford la. that is why perodua make myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
      • Peppa on Jul 06, 2023 at 5:01 pm

But there will be some people appreciate Picanto existence because it leaps ahead of Axia in term of perceive quality. I really like this car.

• hazri on Jul 10, 2023 at 9:51 pm

ya sure. you can not copy the taste of other. but you can not compare picanto with axia. because perodua make axia to be affordable, not quality. if you want quality, go at least with myvi. or if kia make picanto is affordable like axia, then maybe we can figure out the sale volume.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • stop being delusional bro.. if price and spec are similar, people will definitely choose Picanto. Logically if the price is the same, of course KIA would have sold shit load of it and maintenance & spare parts will be cheaper too. they have a very good reputation globally already!

Of course all brands need to compete otherwise car brand will upgrade so so only. Competition is a MUST! Just admit it, this car is miles better than Axia.

Why want to compare with Myvi? Myvi competitor is Kia Rio which is also sooo much better than Myvi. Even the previous generation of RIO was so nice too.

I saw your comment disliking this Picanto below there but to say axia is better than this.. come on broo.. you have got to be jowkinggg me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • hazri on Jul 10, 2023 at 10:21 pm

oh no, you dont get the gist. or can not comprehend really well. what im trying to say is p2 make axia to be affordable, not quality. proof? all axia rahmah sold out. if you want quality, at least go to myvi or bezza. why myvi? because price of picanto is less or more same like myvi. ya agree rio is better than myvi but pricier. bro, delusional is thinking just because kia has very good reputation globally, so in malaysia. that delusional bro. in malaysia, p2 in a comfort zone. why need to compete and upgrade if sale volume is the highest. stop being delusional and idealistic by comparing picanto with axia. you can never get an axia like picanto. you want axia with picanto quality but with the price of axia, thats pathetic. in the first place why kia put picanto same price as myvi even it A segment? if kia want to compete, they should put picanto price same as axia. thats the deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Curious on Jul 06, 2023 at 12:20 pm

If selling at rm75K to rm85K range, then u won’t b able to see much on the road.

• James on Jul 06, 2023 at 2:36 pm

Why cut cost and stopped 1.0L turbo for Picanto? Getting boring
    How is the Latin NCAP now? Does the low spec still get Zero Star?

• hazri on Jul 06, 2023 at 3:24 pm

look like a robot. over mod. especially the lamp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Haidi on Jul 06, 2023 at 5:33 pm

Bold and cool design. Good job KIA!

• Fariz on Jul 06, 2023 at 8:08 pm

Damn, they gave it steroids

• We need this, please bring it in Bermaz but don’t sell at RM 100k please.

• Masih lagi 4AT?

Proton Saga pun tak mau pakai Hyundai 4AT already

• ERIKO on Jul 07, 2023 at 9:16 am

Picanto is bad rep. Banyak headache and after sales service is very very very bad. They cincai get untrained tepi jalan mechanic and make them regional SSS.