BYD Dolphin EV launched in Singapore; 94 hp/180 Nm, 44.9 kWh battery for 340 km range – RM541k w/ COE

BYD Dolphin at BIMS 2023

The BYD Dolphin has been launched in Singapore at a price of S$159,888 (RM541,065) in the city-state, including COE, reports SG Car Mart. We’ve seen it earlier this year at the 2023 Bangkok International Motor Show, where the compact EV was announced to be priced at an estimated price of 799,999 baht (RM103,926) for Thailand at the time.

Measuring 4,290 mm long, 1,570 mm tall and 1,770 mm wide with a 2,700 mm wheelbase, the BYD Dolphin for the Singaporean market is equipped with a 44.9 kWh battery for a range of 340 km on the WLTP testing cycle. This powers a 94 hp/180 Nm motor that drivers the front wheels, enabling a 0-100 km/h time of 12.3 seconds.

Its battery can be recharged at up to 60 kW DC, which brings a 20-80% state of charge in around 33 minutes, or about 200 km of range in that length of time. Meanwhile, a 7 kW AC charger brings a full recharge to the Dolphin’s battery in 7.5 hours.

BYD Dolphin at BIMS 2023

This is similar to the specification for Thailand, though the Dolphin is also available with a 174 hp/290 Nm motor, as well as a base variant with a smaller 30.7 kWh battery. The Dolphin also supports V2L powering of external electrical devices.

Previewed in Malaysia last December, the BYD Dolphin could duck below the RM100k mark when it is officially launched in Malaysia in the fourth quarter of this year.

It won’t have the sub-RM100k EV market all to itself when it does, however, as the Neta V was launched in Malaysia in May at RM99,800. That is also a hatchback-shaped EV, one with a 38.54 kWh battery with a claimed 380 km of range on the NEDC standard.

GALLERY: BYD Dolphin EV at the 2023 Bangkok International Motor Show

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Car prices in Singapore is really expensive. Half a million Ringgit can get you lots of choices of high end cars in Malaysia.

• Brian on Jul 07, 2023 at 8:40 am

Car prices in Malaysia is very expensive if you compare it dollar to dollar. Dollar to dollar would be a better comparison. Look at what you can get for rm160k

• Brian on Jul 07, 2023 at 9:10 am

Car prices in Malaysia is more unaffordable than most people think. Look at the cars you can get with one year average salary in Malaysia. Compared to a one year average salary in a country like the US.

• Don't_shiok_sendiri on Jul 06, 2023 at 7:57 pm

Please stop posting car prices from Singapore. You’re giving a false impression to our rakyat that we get a bargain.

Why not you post the BYD price in China?

Where is the TAX FREE for EV? Sime Darby is selling 40% more.

Some (iX1, Mini SE, Hyundai) are (sort of) tax free. Many other EVs, not so much.

• Kiasu cant afford on Jul 06, 2023 at 10:29 pm

May be less than 100 sold after 1 year

• Can afford on Jul 07, 2023 at 3:51 pm

As a matter of fact, BYD sold 121 cars in April alone, outselling Tesla to become Singapore’s top EV brand. If your brain is lacking, there is always Google. I suggest using one of them.

• the Perodua Aruz w/COE also selling $SGD150,000 / RM500k+

with this trend of showing Malaysian SGD converted RM price with COE, Proton and Perodua can go launching car at Singapore first.

• ThePolygon on Jul 06, 2023 at 9:29 pm

Well at least they won’t use our Ron.

• At this rate the only hope of sub 100k EV would be wuling thing and byd seagull.. But seems like no media hype on the seagull. Thus won’t think it will be coming here after all.. Sad..

• Ground europe passenger on Jul 07, 2023 at 9:03 am

Singapoor so rich but not enough land, if car same price as Malaysia the whole country will flooded with cars cannot move.

• BYDfanboy on Jul 07, 2023 at 9:10 am

Getting one for sure. Credit card standby liao. Swipe and drive out of the showroom. So excited

• CHERRYfanboy on Jul 07, 2023 at 11:22 pm

So to say, if SG = S$ 159,888; then here shud MY = RM 150,000. I BUY!!! If more than RM 150,000, please go back…BYD, Build Your Dream become Break Your Dream…