KL cops issued 26k saman in nine days of Op Hormat Undang-Undang Jalan Raya, 19k for traffic obstruction

KL cops issued 26k <em>saman</em> in nine days of Op Hormat Undang-Undang Jalan Raya, 19k for traffic obstruction

Klang Valley folks, beware. KL cops have issued 26,000 saman in the first nine days of Op Hormat Undang-Undang Jalan Raya, which started on July 1.

According to KL police chief Datuk Mohd Shuhaily Mohd Zain, of the 26,000 summonses issued as of July 9, 18,931 of those were for traffic obstruction. That term encompasses illegal parking, which is rampant in the Klang Valley.

Shuhaily added that summonses aside, 86 individuals have been detained for various criminal and traffic offences and 99 vehicles were confiscated in the period. Foreigners using the roads without licenses is also a major concern for the force, Bernama reported.

“My concern is about foreigners who are riding motorcycles without a licence. Although they possess relevant documents, they do not have (driving) licence,” the city’s top cop said, adding that many of them rent vehicles from local citizens or receive them from their employers.

Op Hormat Undang-Undang Jalan Raya is conducted by KL police in collaboration with other enforcement agencies such as JPJ, DBKL and the Department of Environment (DOE). PDRM’s KL Narcotics Criminal Investigation Department will also be involved to act on drug-related cases throughout the mega ops, which involves around 1,000 officers.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Please come and focus on Mont Kiara. Many migrant workers driving cars and bikes like laws don’t exist terrorising the expat and local community here. I don’t get how they can be so audacious!

• yawnz on Jul 12, 2023 at 5:54 pm

Makes no diff when Anwar later gives 70% discount. If he loses this election, gerenti he will give 80-90% discount.

• Alfred on Jul 12, 2023 at 4:17 pm

Please focus on the rempit pests.

• Helenesssssssssssssssss on Jul 12, 2023 at 4:21 pm

My XV got hit behind by a car with no road tax and insurance. I have to pay RM2k for the rear end damages from my own pocket. Ask polis how, they only issue the fella 2x saman. And then the fella is a bangla, indon or india from india who will continue driving around cari mangsa. Maybe i should get an old tank like Isuzu DMAX 3.0 and drive around without insurance and road tax

• komarad on Jul 13, 2023 at 9:07 am

vehicle that was driven without insurance/license/roadtax should be impounded so it will not endanger other road user

• You may get deported to Chittagong

• Ben Yap on Jul 12, 2023 at 4:40 pm

hormat undang-undang jalan raya is something that most malaysians cannot do even though malaysia boleh but that one tak boleh.

• you can issue 1 JUTA saman it’s no use because Malaysian drivers/riders just don’t give a s*** when it comes to traffic laws… TARIK LESEN more effective but polis and politicians don’t have the balls to do it

• There are many driving around without valid documents including driving license. 3 Rotans for each offence may help.

• Almondus on Jul 12, 2023 at 5:44 pm

WTA: If I don’t stick road tax but have it in the MyJPJ app still ok or not? I know our transport minister said can, but will local polis cari pasal or not?

• Dhillon on Jul 13, 2023 at 11:28 am

If your a private vehicle they ask if you have the the sticker or not if you don’t have just show your ic n license if your just stop for checking no problem,if they stop you than problem. Also careful they already implementing bodycams. Drive safe guys

• If JPJ still on Jul 13, 2023 at 2:32 pm

issues/print out road tax stickers, might as well stick it behind the windscreen as usual. Having to wait to the officers to check your IC & license to electronically verify your road tax, is extra time spent, as compared to them just having a quick look at the sticker on the windscreen.

• With scammers and fakers around, the authority’s scanning is needed. They may need to improve on the scanning technology and speed.

• If you can remember, on Jul 14, 2023 at 11:10 am

a genuine JPJ road tax stickers has a holographic security label. If suspected fake, this security label can be checked on the spot. But if all road users have a lot of time on their hands, by all means the enforcement officers can spend extra time requesting & waiting for ICs & licenses to be handed over, to be checked with their HQ database via their devices.

• P K Karan on Jul 12, 2023 at 9:01 pm

Very good
    Long overdue action