2024 Hyundai Santa Fe revealed – fifth-gen three-row SUV gets a bold, boxy design; full debut in August

Remember the fourth-generation Hyundai Santa Fe? Well, you can forget everything about it because it looks like the South Korean carmaker sure did when creating this, the fifth-generation Santa Fe. Retaining very little besides the nameplate, the all-new three-row SUV is radically different than its predecessor in many ways.

“For Santa Fe’s first full model change since 2018, Hyundai Motor took an unconventional approach with a lifestyle-based design typology to maximize rear cargo capacity and better accommodate outdoor and urban activities,” the company said in its official release.

Let’s start with the thing that immediately stands out, the design. Where the previous Santa Fe sported some curvy lines, the latest one swaps all of that for a boxy, straight-edged look. Squint hard enough and you might even imagine this to be a blown-up take on the Exter that recently went on sale in India.

According to Hyundai, the new body is a result of the Santa Fe’s increased wheelbase and wider tailgate area. The company isn’t providing figures for now, but the outgoing model had a wheelbase that spanned 2,765 mm and measured 4,770 in overall length.

Styling cues that catch the eye are the flared wheel arches, a rakish windscreen and a gently sloping roof, with the latter of the three terminating at a tailgate that appears to be fully upright. While the general shape appears to be a throwback to old-school SUVs, there are touches to make the Santa Fe appear futuristic.

These include the daytime running lights integrated into the headlamps which form a ‘H’ pattern (like on the Exter), which are accompanied by a light bar running across the main grille. The inserts for the grille and lower intake also feature a triangular motif and the face is a mixture of black and body-coloured trim (this also applies to the sides a la the Land Rover Defender).

At the rear, we find the massive tailgate that looks like it belongs on a van, and just like the front, the taillights have the same ‘H’ light signature as the DRLs. Moving further downwards, we find black trim that completes the all-around black body cladding, along with reflectors, the reverse lights and a single exhaust finisher.

The badging on the tailgate indicates the Santa Fe will be offered with a 2.5 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine and Hyundai’s HTRAC all-wheel drive system. It’s not certain if the Smartstream G2.5 T-GDI unit of the previous model, which was paired with an eight-speed dual-clutch transmission, is carried over – the mill served up 281 PS (277 hp or 207 kW) and 422 Nm of torque.

The interior also gets an overhaul with an upright dashboard that is minimalistic in design. Taking centre stage is the Panoramic Curved Display that connects a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and an infotainment touchscreen. Meanwhile, the angled panel just under the central air vents (note the ‘H’ motif on them) houses controls for media playback, climate system and driving-related functions. No gear selector here, as that’s been relocated to a stalk on the steering column.

Hyundai also touts the many practical features of the Santa Fe’s cabin, including dual wireless phone chargers aft of a panel containing charging ports, deep cupholders on the centre console, a storage area beneath said console and a shelf area above the glovebox.

Given this is a three-row SUV, the carmaker also touted the Santa’s “generous living space for an effortless outdoor lifestyle.” With the rear tailgate open, you can get a terrace-like feel, and the fully foldable second- and third-row seats allow for a camping setup as suggested by the press photos.

With the brightly coloured seats and headliner, there’s also a sense of spaciousness, while the wood-patterned trim and Nappa leather-upholstered seats add some style to the interior. Sustainable materials are also used here, as the suede headliner, car mats, and second- and third-row seatbacks are made from recycled plastic, while the crash pad and door trim covers are made from eco-friendly leatherette.

Hyundai says the all-new Santa Fe will celebrate its full debut in August, with pricing likely to be announced then. What do you think of the Santa Fe? Do you like the way it looks? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• HolyCow! Gorgeous!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
  • who am i on Jul 18, 2023 at 10:06 am

another boxy car, damn i love them so much.
    getting a little spoilt for choice even

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
  • tricycle on Jul 18, 2023 at 10:09 am

Front beautiful. Side beautiful. Back ugly.

Interior very beautiful, simple and elegance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • kereta_lembu on Jul 18, 2023 at 10:23 am

I have to praise Hyundai on their styling as they are taking risks with their vehicle designs. They have come a long way since copying designs from other makes to making cars that look good now. I’m glad they are not following the so called “EV designs” out there that look so similar from make to make.

• 1st photo looks like a land rover/range rover esp the side profile.
    Front face ok alright.
    But the rear is jus wrong…like an afterthought

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Katheryne Wong on Jul 18, 2023 at 10:51 am

Front looks like range rover, back look like toyota hiace. Nice hybrid design, ha3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • anonymous on Jul 18, 2023 at 11:08 am

while i don’t care for the rear as much, kudos to Hyundai’s design team for their efforts of late. their nod to retro styling is delicious.

• seancorr on Jul 18, 2023 at 11:31 am

The rear would look ok if the taillights are positioned a bit higher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • @NotBruceWayne on Jul 18, 2023 at 12:09 pm

I’m a sucker for boxy-range rover-esq design. This design looks great elsewhere but the rear reminds me of bus sekolah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Prime on Jul 18, 2023 at 1:20 pm

Man the exter is better looking. This looks terrible. Maybe form follows too much function. Front looks like range/defender/discovery, that back looks rather odd too. I like the current gen curvy shape and thor daytime lights. Boxy cars I like the new lexus gx. G wagon is fine too. Defender okay. This one very questionable, even with the rumors already did not like it. Right now I don’t know if this is uglier or ioniq 6. Ev9 looks solid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Ridhwan on Jul 18, 2023 at 1:49 pm

Ssangyong Stavic reborn.

Front looks like the India’s hyundai exter rm33k+

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • ThePolygon on Jul 18, 2023 at 1:25 pm

What’s with the complete cut off rear. Oh wait.. that IS the rear…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • Waltiston Yep Soon Tak on Jul 18, 2023 at 1:37 pm

So many negative komen from tofu car lovers here haha too bad la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
  • ROTI CANAI on Jul 18, 2023 at 3:33 pm

that does not feel aerodynamic at all, but those phsyical AC controls are tops

• Azahari on Jul 18, 2023 at 9:33 pm

First saw the photo it turn me on. Until I see the back….I run away.

• Koreans stsrted making cars about same time as proton but look at tghm grow. Now no 3 car manufacturer worldwide. But that rear is disgusting.

• Divided on Jul 19, 2023 at 9:00 pm

The front and rear are designed by 2 different teams? The Santa Fe looking so disjointed as result

• Badass Rear Look on Jul 19, 2023 at 11:09 pm

Wow never thought Hyundai would pay homage to Nissan Vanette pasar malam rear look.

• Love it or hate we are not getting it cos hsdm still fooling around with the 4th Gen.