2023 BMW i4 eDrive35 now in Malaysia – 483 km EV range; 286 PS; fr RM258k; RM126k less than eDrive40

BMW Malaysia has expanded the local i4 range to now include the new eDrive35 and eDrive35 M Sport, which join the existing eDrive40 and M50. With this, customers now have more versions of the i4 to choose from to suit their budgets.

On that mention, the i4 eDrive35 retails for RM258,210 on-the-road (OTR) without insurance, while the eDrive35 M Sport goes for RM284,210. These prices are with a standard two-year warranty, but if you opt for the extended warranty (five years) and service (six years) package, the eDrive35 goes up to RM273,800 and the eDrive35 M Sport to RM299,800.

Keep in mind that the OTR prices listed are inclusive of road tax (RM2,644 for both eDrive35 variants), which is currently exempted for electric vehicles (EVs) until the end of 2025. As such, the actual amount payable is lower until after then. As with other fully-imported (CBU) EVs, the i4 also benefits from import duty and excise duty exemption until December 31, 2025.

We should point out that the price gap between the eDrive35 and eDrive40 M Sport is RM126,000, with the difference reduced to RM100,000 when the eDrive35 M Sport replaces the former in the same comparison. The more affordable price points to come with a catch, and that is the powertrain and equipment you’ll get for your money.

Like the eDrive40 M Sport, both eDrive35 variants feature a rear-mounted electric motor. However, the unit is rated at 286 PS (282 hp or 210 kW) and 400 Nm of torque instead of the eDrive40’s 340 PS (335 hp or 250 kW) and 430 Nm. As such, the 0-100 km/h time of the eDrive35 variants is three tenths of a second slower at six seconds instead of 5.7 seconds – the top speed is 190 km/h.

The electric motor also draws power from a lithium-ion battery with a lower gross energy capacity of 70.3 kWh (66 kWh usable), so the WLTP-rated range is up to 483 km. By comparison, the eDrive40’s battery has a gross capacity of 83.9 kWh (81.5 kWh usable) and it provides up to 590 km of range.

An 11-kW onboard AC charger (Type 2) is shared with the eDrive40, which gets the eDrive35’s battery to a full charge in about 8.25 hours with a charger capable of that amount of power. As for DC fast charging (CCS2), the eDrive35 variants can only handle up to 180 kW instead of 200 kW, with a 10-80% state of charge achieved in 32 minutes. These times are not that far off the eDrive40, it should be noted.

In terms of equipment, the eDrive35 is dressed in the Sport package that is paired with 18-inch double-spoke style 853 bicolour light-alloy wheels and Frozen Grey exterior highlights. You’ll also get LED headlamps (eDrive40 gets Laserlight), standard passive suspension (eDrive40 gets adaptive M suspension), oak grain open-pored fine-wood trim, an anthracite M headliner, three-zone climate control, powered front seats with driver’s side memory function, ambient lighting, a wireless charger, a powered tailgate, IconicSounds Electric and Comfort Access.

2023 BMW i4 eDrive35 spec sheet; click to enlarge

The eDrive35 M Sport builds upon the entry-level option by gaining new bumpers with a more aggressive design as well as the M high-gloss Shadowline exterior package. The wheels remain at 18 inches in diameter, but they are M Aerodynamic style 858 M bicolour units instead.

Inside, you’ll get an M leather steering wheel, aluminium ‘Rhombicle’ anthracite M interior trim and the BMW Live Cockpit Professional system, which features a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and a 14.9-inch central touchscreen.

ConnectedDrive services are included along with Connected Package Professional, the latter providing Android Auto and Apple CarPlay. The base eDrive35 also gets the dual-screen setup, but its BMW Live Cockpit Plus system means you won’t get a head-up display.

2023 BMW i4 eDrive35 M Sport spec sheet; click to enlarge

Even so, both variants will come standard with the Driving Assistant package that includes Active Cruise Control with stop & go function, Lane Departure Warning with Lane Return, Lane Change Warning, Front Collision Warning with Brake Intervention (AEB), Rear Crossing Traffic Warning, Rear Collision Prevention and Speed Limit Info. There’s also the Parking Assistant package providing assisted parking, a reverse camera, Active Park Distance Control and the Reversing Assistant.

The i4 eDrive35 is available in Black Sapphire, Mineral White, Sanremo Green, Skyscraper Grey and Aventurine Red, while the eDrive35 M Sport gains two additional options: M Portimao Blue and M Brooklyn Grey. The perforated Sensatec synthetic leather comes in either Black, Cognac or Tacora Red.

Each purchase comes with an eight-year, 160,000-km battery warranty, a public charging cable, a portable home charger, roadside assistance, BMW Service Online and the BMW Group Loyalty+ Mobile App – BMW Privileges Card.

Here’s an overview of the BMW i4 range in Malaysia with OTR pricing:

• BMW i4 eDrive35: RM258,210; RM273,800 with extended warranty and service (BMW Service + Repair Inclusive or BSRI)
  • BMW i4 eDrive35 M Sport: RM284,210; RM299,800 with BSRI
  • BMW i4 eDrive40 M Sport: RM384,210; RM399,800 with BSRI
  • BMW i4 M50: RM430,210; RM445,800 with BSRI

2023 BMW i4 eDrive40 M Sport spec sheet; click to enlarge

2023 BMW i4 M50 spec sheet; click to enlarge

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Got Stock on Aug 01, 2023 at 2:14 pm

why BMW keep launching i4 new model but not deliver to customer? i booked my i4 M50 2022 May, until now no update at all. Now come the new i4 again… haha!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • no stock on Aug 01, 2023 at 2:55 pm

for i7 it is even more funny, deliver to so many VIP customer even before launching, wonder how they choose who gets the stock?

bmw is playing around…

• Leeky on Aug 01, 2023 at 3:09 pm

Same here, booked i4 M50 since 2022 Jun until now. May want to cancel the booking. Now the i4 eDrive 35 RM255k only, compare to RM422k, and many new ev cars now.

• WishDila on Aug 02, 2023 at 12:22 am

Which dealer?

• paulaner on Aug 01, 2023 at 2:21 pm

One word on why this will flop immediately.

TESLA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
    • 4GR-FSE on Aug 01, 2023 at 5:13 pm

Not necessary.. Not everyone is a fan of Tesla.
      Legacy automaker like BMW and Merc are still better in refining the car, built quality and ride quality.
      Tesla is a good software company but still lag behind in hardware finishing.

Some people want the handling of a BMW and still want to drive by themselves, while others who prefer to be driven by software can go for Tesla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
      • Sohai on Aug 03, 2023 at 9:08 am

BMW is refined?? Hahahahaha. Best joke of the day. Clearly you have not owned a BMW. Even new car suffers so many rattling noise and steering rack issues. After few years of ownership, their “refinement” become superunbearable. Plastics starts disintergrating, dashboard starts lighting up like christmas tree and your mechanic will be your best friend. Every week he gets to see you.. Lol. BMW is crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
        • Isaac on Aug 03, 2023 at 11:24 pm

Wait till you own Benz, then you know why Benz have the worst reliability ever than BMW and Tesla, since you complaining so much on BMW. Look at what happened now, why BMW reliabiity is better than Benz. Tesla also improving more than Benz

• lmao sohai on Aug 09, 2023 at 11:31 am

becoz sohai like you crying for CKD so much to get cheaper BBA car.. then now complaining for quality.. LOL..

• anonymous on Aug 01, 2023 at 2:24 pm

three options for the interior yes !! see car manufacturers it isn’t that hard to give us options other than black

• Peppa on Aug 01, 2023 at 2:25 pm

Unpopular opinion but i am much prefer the design of this i4 over the Ioniq 6. And it it LIFTBACK!!

• johhny on Aug 01, 2023 at 2:28 pm

Looks like all EV cars launches are literally committing suicide immediately after launch.

Performance to price is rubbish in all launches.

Tesla Model Y Base – RM 200K – 450km range, is going to absolutely butcher EV sales for other makes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Chris on Aug 01, 2023 at 5:55 pm

Not everyone likes the Model Y design …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • uTri-lah on Aug 01, 2023 at 9:03 pm

Turn a corner at 30km/h in an i4, then do it in a test-lah, then u will see who hasbis-lah.

• hybrid mania on Aug 01, 2023 at 3:16 pm

Very competitive pricing. Good job. We need more competitors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • Smart#3 on Aug 01, 2023 at 9:11 pm

Thank you Tesla…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Although Tesla is good, but reliability is still can’t beat BMW but still better than Benz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Nice

• EV Car Mafia on Aug 01, 2023 at 9:57 pm

Myr 2,600+ road tax.. my eyes almost popped out! thought it was a mistake and then looked it up and it’s true… I am gonna keep my 5yr old 320i for a little longer !!!!!!!!

• Up to your choice. All EV cars are like that. Anyway, at least roadtax for this car is more affordable

• Squid on Aug 02, 2023 at 9:09 am

If Tesla didn’t launch the Y, this car would be priced very differently. Thank you Tesla!

• Wondering on Aug 02, 2023 at 9:29 am

All the other 3 variants having tires front 245 rear 255.

Except i4 eDrive35 M Sport front 245 rear 245.

Why?

• Sentuda on Aug 02, 2023 at 9:48 am

Better than Kia Niro EV. Same price but Kia Niro loses to this car in terms of performance, speed and acceleration

• Mamat Jalanan on Aug 02, 2023 at 11:14 am

kenapa interior dashboard, sebiji macam Ativa?

• Sohai on Aug 02, 2023 at 11:45 am

This makes so much more sense than its little brother Mini.

• cheap chip

• BMW i4 launching is, I think they selling at the wrong price. Very high price even for e40 when newly launch. Before that launching i3x, ix their price are around UK selling price when converted to RM. But this i4 launching price were lot more expensive than UK, seems overprice.
    I booked the M50 after then 2nd day announced M5o for booking last yr but I cancelled the booking early this year duo to 2026 roadtax is RM9k+ as well as the price increase RM15k into the service price up. Well, what EV servicing need RM15k? BMW ppl said Banyak Makan Wang, for me is Banyak Mau Wang.

• Holder on Aug 07, 2023 at 12:11 pm

Same as Mercedes but worst than BMW, waiting period for Mercedes really longer and yet not many buying mercedes with quality for mercedes also not as good as bmw

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 04, 2023 at 10:54 am

bsri nonsense again, is this 2007?

• Johnny chong on Oct 12, 2023 at 9:30 pm

All Bmw owners so free to chat here….no need to work to pay for your overpriced cars ah ?? Pricing is good but dunno how everything will turn out lah. 3-4 years down the road can know oledi. die or still standing. I keep my ativa for now