2023 Mercedes-AMG SL43 in Malaysia – RM999,888; 2.0L four-cylinder with electric turbo; 381 PS, 480 Nm

Following its preview back in June this year, we now have official pricing for the Mercedes-AMG SL in Malaysia. The roadster is being offered in a sole SL43 variant that retails for RM999,888 on-the-road without insurance, and you can own one from RM9,088 monthly through the Step Up Agility+ financing programme.

This variant of the SL was revealed globally last April, joining the SL55 4Matic+ and SL63 4Matic+ that were part of the initial range back when the roadster first debuted in November 2021. For the asking price, you’ll get a M139 2.0 litre inline-four engine with an electric turbocharger as well as a 48-volt mild hybrid system, the latter featuring a belt-driven starter-generator (RSG) that can provide a temporary boost of 14 PS (13 hp or 10 kW).

Meanwhile the electric turbocharger is derived from Formula 1 technology, with an electric motor measuring around four-cm thin integrated directly on the turbocharger shaft between the turbine wheel on the exhaust side and the compressor wheel on the intake side.

The electric motor serves to spin the shaft at low engine speeds before the exhaust gases take over, resulting in improved immediate response from idle speed and across the entire engine speed range. If the engine code sounds familiar, that’s because it is the same unit used in the ‘45’ versions of the A-Class, CLA, GLA, albeit with the electric turbocharger and mounted longitudinally.

Altogether, the mill serves up 381 PS (375 hp or 280 kW) at 6,750 rpm and 480 Nm of torque from 3,250 to 5,000 rpm, with an AMG Speedshift MCT 9G nine-speed automatic gearbox sending drive to the rear wheels. The SL43 will accelerate from 0-100 km/h in 4.9 seconds on its way to a top speed of 275 km/h. It also takes 15 seconds for the SL’s black folding soft-top to open or close, operable at speeds of up to 60 km/h.

In terms of kit, the SL43 comes with the AMG high-performance compound brake system, sports suspension, AMG Real Performance Sound, Magic Vision Control wipers, AMG exterior chrome package, 21-inch AMG 10-twin-spoke forged wheels, AMG light display puddle lamps, Digital Light headlamps with Adaptive Highbeam Assist Plus and silver-painted brake calipers.

Other items that come standard include black Nappa leather upholstery, climatised front seats with Airscarf, ambient lighting, AMG aluminium or black piano-lacquer-look trim, AMG Performance steering wheel in Nappa leather, Keyless-Go, Hands-Free Access, a wireless phone charging pad, illuminated AMG door sill plates, dual-zone Thermotronic climate control, a Burmester surround sound system, a head-up display, Driving Assistant Package, Parking Package, 360-degree camera and Active Parking Assist.

The infotainment system is the Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) and is made up of a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and a 11.9-inch portrait touchscreen. The touchscreen can be tilted electrically from 12 to 32 degrees to prevent sunlight glare when the fabric soft top is brought down.

The SL43 is available in six colours, namely Sun Yellow, Selenite Grey, Hyper Blue, Obsidian Black, Spectral Blue and High-tech Silver.

GALLERY: 2023 Mercedes-AMG SL43

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 1 million ringgit for a 2 litre 4 cylinder engine – crazy times we live in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Dah Menang Semua on Aug 09, 2023 at 11:19 am

Rich-man toy that slower than a Golf-R

• European Inflation on Aug 09, 2023 at 11:51 am

Cost of manufacturing is too much in Europe. No choice ma. Mercedes and BMW are losing a lot of sales since the Russian-Ukrain war started. Now they are moving their factory mostly to China and a small portion to Unite states. Until those factories start operating, no one will be buying European cars anytime soon except for those low intelligent consumers

• Sarcasm on Aug 10, 2023 at 3:09 am

“Chillax, we purposely sell at exorbitant price tag because it is Three Pointed Star, take it or leave it.”

• Bieight8 on Aug 09, 2023 at 10:50 am

GG lah 911…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • 4GR-FSE on Aug 09, 2023 at 11:00 am

RM1mil for a 2L 4-pot…
    Merc is laughable..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • yusrykru on Aug 09, 2023 at 11:08 am

and here i am thinking fk8 fake vents asking price was nonsense

• If you buy this for 1 million you deserve to sleep in the kandang lembu

• 1mil car but default at boring black seats and black roof.

• Peppa on Aug 09, 2023 at 2:20 pm

F you Mercedes ☺️

• paul meroz on Aug 09, 2023 at 2:31 pm

when you realize the power output is similar to your EV family SUV

• 4 pot SL43, meh
    Formula 1 narrative, its a joke, marketing crap.
    Even the management realised the big f’up, reverting to V6 or V8 soon.

• Elongated Musketeer on Aug 09, 2023 at 3:56 pm

*yawn*
    No thanks, Tesla is better.

• seancorr on Aug 09, 2023 at 6:27 pm

Wait for it, Mercedes is considering to bring back the V8 for the 63 series of cars due to backlash from their AMG customers so maybe we may see the V6 coming back for the 43 series.

• C43 and m340i look like bargains now with this crazy pricing .

• Winner Ong on Aug 09, 2023 at 9:09 pm

To my fans of winner many prosper to you. If you no money no need to make your rubbish Komen here preten to buy ok. Go home resting and buy rubbish tanjung malim car ok. Gomen is not pay you buy politik control car be like me a winner and buy Conti. Be happy rest of life you be prosper but don’t say hi to me if see me drop my standert if drive rubbish car.

• rendition 9 on Aug 10, 2023 at 9:02 am

all these fossil fuel burning prehistoric dinosaurs should be banned. noisy as F and smelly.

• Hong Yee Hong on Aug 10, 2023 at 3:28 pm

Nearly a million with 378HP… I’m not sure…

• Merc is this a joke, 2L-4P for 1mil ?